We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My review” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Launard House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Launard House
Ranked #51 of 77 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My review”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

My wife and I recently enjoyed a most delightful stay at the Launard House in Kilkenny. We were greeted warmly by Graham, the co-owner. He was very helpful in suggesting pubs for us to visit in order to enjoy some traditional Irish music. He also served one fantastic traditional Irish breakfast, including the best porridge on the planet. He told us it was his grandmother's recipe, but he wouldn't share the recipe! We'd definitely return!

Room Tip: Get specific directions from the downtown area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    24
    15
    5
    3
See reviews for
17
32
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

Not only did I manage to mess up the dates we were supposed to stay here and the owner had to book us in on the day we arrived we also turned up very late having driven halfway across Ireland. None of this fazed our host however, who could not have been more helpful. Sharon took time to recommend a place to have dinner in Kilkenny but also bars and pubs and other places of note. She could not have been more helpful.
We had a car so I can't comment as others have done on the distance into the town but it really is a short car journey and not too long a walk if you are used to walking. We parked our car out on the street as there was no room outside but this was no issue to us. The rooms were a good size and very clean. Breakfast was good also with plenty of cereal, toast and coffee as well as a cooked breakfast. The place was quiet and you will definitely get a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank delthejack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gervais, OR
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

In July of 2012 I stayed in this B&B. Graham greeted us and was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were nice and the shower pressure was good. I know several other people have said it was too far to walk into town but we walked into town both days we stayed there and were just fine. Would definitely stay here again if I found myself in Kilkenny.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theroadphotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

After staying in a hotel in Dublin for the first night this was our first B&B experience. Sharon met us at the door and immediately made us feel like part of the family. We arrived earlier than we had originally said we would and there was no problem. We took our time and as we brought in our luggage she was ready with tea, coffee, biscuits, and breads. The walk into town actually wasn't that bad and Sharon gave us some great recommendations for pubs and dinner. She mapped out an itinerary for us for our evening on the town. We did choose to walk in and got caught in a little rain but still worth the experience. Kilkenny was great and we stayed out a bit later and took a taxi back. Breakfast was delicious - Graham's porridge was excellent. When we go back, Launard House will be on our list to revisit and stay. If we had it to do over again we would have stayed more than one night.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JRandShawna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

Lovely people. Beautiful home. 2nd stay here. Brill murder mystery weekend. Never laughed so much. My cheeks are still aching. Graham is a character. Sharon a fab cook

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1gem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, CA
Level Contributor
119 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

Very nice and comfortable B & B. Graham was an excellent host and breakfast was very good. Only problem is that it is really too far to walk into town, however the drive is only 5 minutes and it's easy to park in the central parking lot.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harleysville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

When we arrived at 4pm, the hosts acted frazzled-rushing us to our rooms and asking to choose our breakfast before we even put our luggage down or had a chance to look at the menu. The room was comfortable and clean. However, the location is far from town requiring us to drive and pay to park. No tea was offered to us, and the room had strict instructions to avoid any drinks in there. The room had a book of instructions for the house, rather than the hosts talking with us. They were not available for recommendations, and we only saw them after breakfast (when we were leaving). The breakfast was served immediately and was delicious.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nataliesue13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.4 mi away
O'Malley's Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
The Laurels B & B Kilkenny
The Laurels B & B Kilkenny
#22 of 77 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
11.2 mi away
Brandon View House B&B
Brandon View House B&B
#3 of 3 in Graiguenamanagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Breagagh View
Breagagh View
#46 of 77 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
9.9 mi away
Abbey House B&B
Abbey House B&B
#1 of 4 in Thomastown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fanad House
Fanad House
#11 of 77 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Launard House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Launard House

Property: Launard House
Address: 2 Maiden Hill, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Launard House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Launard House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing