We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab fab fab - "We'll be back"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2011

10 of us stayed in this hotel for the cat laughs comedy festival - I couldn't reommend anywhere more highly, before we arrived the staff were incredibly helpful and patient with all my phone queries, upon arrival the service couldn't have been more professional, warm and genuinely enthusiastic, the decor, the food and the location were also fabulous. All in all the people and the place contributed to what was undoubtedly one of the highlights of our social calendar, thank you ormonde hotel :-0

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susieleitrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2011

Dear susieleitrim,

Dear n-a101,

Thank you for posting your review of our hotel on Tripadvisor.com.

Its great to get some feedback from the Cat Laughs festival as it is such a crazy weekend in Kilkenny. I'm delighted that you all enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours in Service,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,711)
There are newer reviews for Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,467 - 1,473 of 1,711 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2011

We have just returned from our trip, and had the pleasure to spend a night here. From the moment you walk in, the atmosphere is welcoming, and the staff is so friendly. We arrived a bit early, and our room was not quite ready, but the receptionist was very helpful in giving us directions to the castle, and offered to store our luggage for us. Upon our return, she had everything waiting for us, and there was no delay getting into our rooms. The rooms are very well set-up, clean, and comfortable. The location was excellent, off the main street, so it's a bit quieter, and just a short walk to anything that you could need. Parking is available at a discount in the ramp directly across the street, and it was not a huge issue to drag our luggage across to the hotel. All in all, it was a great stay, and I only wished that we had more time to stay there!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate2263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2011

Dear Kate2263,

Thank you for posting your review of our hotel on Tripadvisor.com.

I'm delighted that you enjoyed all our location and found our team and the atmosphere welcoming. I hope to welcome you back in the not to distant future.

Yours in Service,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2011

I have to much to say about this hotel. The staff where brillant, the food was brilliant and the service and detail was second to none.
The staff there are a great asset to this the hotel and could show some of the dublin hotel how it is done. Very child friendly also. Hats off

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank humbug15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2011

Dear humbug15,

Thank you for posting your review of our hotel on Tripadvisor.com.

I'm delighted that you had a "brilliant" time and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours in Service,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2011

I stayed here with friends. The service was excellent, friendly and efficient. The rooms are very comfortable and spacious. The place has a great buzz and the location is right in the middle of Kilkenny, everything is no more than 5 mins walk.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noelrosek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2011

Dear noelrosek,

Thank you for posting your review of our hotel on Tripadvisor.com.

There certainly is a great buzz around Kilkenny at the moment and we really have the best location in the City. I'm delighted that you had a great time and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours in Service,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2011

We have just arrived back from our one night stay in this hotel and it was great. Now i must explain, I havent been away overnight in two years, due to 2 under 3 and a shortage of babysitters and a break was just what we needed. I picked this hotel as traveltime from Dublin is 1.20mins and it looked good on the net. I wanted a no-hassel, quiet, and relaxing stay for our wedding anniversary and that is exactly what we got.
The location is across the road, up a lane, from Kilkenny Castle and a more central, yet quiet location I couldnt have asked for. It has a lesure centre and spa but i didnt see it due to not having the time but the picks look good :). Parking is across from the Hotel in a local Q-Park and is charged at €5.00 per night. Downside being charged for parking and lugging baggage across the tiny street.
When we arrived at 1:00pm we were greeted by a lovely frendly receptionist and we were able to check in immediately although check in is not untill 4pm. The room was quite large containing a double and single bed, flat screen tv and modern appliances. The room was very clean and airy and bed clothes and carpet were spotless. The bathroom was roomy+clean and all towels and toiletories included. On the negitive the bath/shower grout needs a tiny bit of a touch up.
The restaurant was beside the bar and the food was served to us in the lounge of the bar as we requested it at our table, (didnt want to miss the Eurovision!(sad!!)) The food was lovely and well presented. Downside a bit pricey in comparrison to what you get in Dublin. The bar staff were very frendly and seemed to be local lads who entertained each other and customers their quick wit and banter. Also a lovely pint!
For sleepytime, the blackout curtains in the room worked a treat and the hotel was very quiet.
For breakfast which is only served till 10.30am when we arrived in the restrant it was packed and afterwards notices were being put up in the lift that there would be a 20min delay due to busyness. The food was nice but some of the items on the bufet had run out so we couldnt avail of the full Irish breki. We had to wait on our tea and toast to be brought to our table and had most of our breki ate before it arrived. So not too good there need more staff in morning. Check out was simple and had no wait.

So overall; great stay,fab modern hotel with frendly smiley staff and great location.
Downside; Very very pricey just for one night and on the price it shoud include free parking. Pricing is cheaper but not by much if you book over the net and of course stay more than one night with special deals and dinners, but for parents wanting a one night stay it is pricey and that would be the only thing preventing me from a return visit.

Room Tip: As for an upgrade.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allison1707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2011

Dear Allison1707,

Thank you for posting your detailed review of our hotel on Tripadvisor.com.

I'm delighted that your overall experience was positive and that you enjoyed our food and that our team were attentive to your needs. On busy weekends, in particular, Kilkenny can be more expensive that usual, however, there are great package and midweek deals available all the time, to fit all budgets.

I really look forward to welcoming you back soon and please conatct me personally so that I may extend you every courtesy..

Yours in Service,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2011

We just spent 2 days in this hotel for a family wedding. A great location in the heart of the city, with excellent service, very helpful staff, and wonderful food.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hego161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2011

Dear hego161,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our Hotel.

I'm glad you enjoyed the family wedding and our location which is second to none in Kilkenny.

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Kilkenny.

Yours in Service,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

We recently held a function including Hollywood Actress Maureen O Hara. The hotel did everything to such a high standard the event was an over whelming sucess.
The staff from chefs, managers, and all associated with the organisation of accomodation and function made everything so easy.
It was more than we could have expected. Every detail and aspect of the planning and delivery was professional and executive with pleasure and cooperation and excellent advice and support.
Amazing.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Musicmedley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2011

Dear Musicmedley,

Thank you for posting your review of our Hotel on Tripadvisor.com.

I agree that Maureen O'Hara's visit was a huge success and at her good years she really is a fantasic woman and a pleasure to deal with.

I'm happy that the event was successful for you and I look forward to welcoming you and Ms. O'Hara back again.

Yours in Service,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.1 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,783 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#5 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,949 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#8 of 19 in Kilkenny
781 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Address: Ormonde Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Price Range: £78 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In heart of Kilkenny; stands proudly in the shadows of Kilkenny Castle; beautiful rooms designed/decorated to the highest standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing