We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 nite break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“1 nite break”
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Great hotel , upgraded to a 4th floor suite which was super. Great buffet breakfast too. Will certainly return.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chriseire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2011
Dear chriseire,

I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and breakfast in particular, the most important meal of the day!

I hope to welcome you back when your next in Kilkenny.

Yours in Service,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,620 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    785
    494
    215
    84
    42
See reviews for
405
593
29
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

Stayed here last weekend and really enjoyed it. Thought the staff were super friendly and really helpful. Asked for recommendations for local pubs and restaurants and they were more than forthcoming in recommending their personal favourites, off the beaten track.... which was great. Nice to see Kilkenny from a locals point of view. Ate in the restaurant on the saturday night and thought that the food was really excellent!! We hadnt really expected much as we thought it would be just typical "hotel food" but it was really great.

Our rooms were very clean and tidy and refreshed each day - no complaints there.

Breakfast was everthing you'd expect in a hotel breakfast - plus some! Staff were very friendly and when we asked for something that wasnt on the menu - they did their best to accomodate us.

Had a drink in the bar before dinner on Saturday night.... very friendly barman, made us feel very welcome but not OTT.

Overall, we were really happy with our stay here and would definitely recommend it to friends, other couples....

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JunoBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2011
Dear JunoBell,

I'm really glad that you had a good time with us and got to use most of our facilities. It's also great to read that you enjoyed your evening meal and found the best pubs in Kilkenny!

We hope to welcome you back to the Ormonde soon.

Yours in Service,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2011

Stayed here for a romantic get-a-away and had a really enjoyable time. Staff very welcoming and pleasant. Really gorgeous food and atmosphere in the dining room and location second to none in Kilkenny, Highly recommend

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erikaIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cra238, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear erikaireland,

Thank you for your lovely review of our Hotel and I hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Colin Ahern
General manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

I would highly recommend this hotel, great location, very clean & modern. Very friendly staff (could not do enough to help) The breakfast was amazing & the spa is very good as. I don't have a bad comment to say about Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone that is going to Kilkenny to stay. I was there with girl friends but it seemed very family oriented too..I would not hesitate to return there with my family.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2011
Dear Yvette M,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.com. I'm delighted that you would recommend us to your friends and I hope to welcome you back soon.

Yours in Service,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

Had a lovely break at the Ormonde. Pool facilities great for kids, baby sitting facilities etc. Dinner was included on one night of our stay and was only OK, tastless and we felt rushed!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MayoBridie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2011
Dear MayoBridie,

Thank you for posting your review of our Hotel. I'm really glad that you and all the family enjoyed your stay with us.

I'm disappointed that you did'nt enjoy dinner, however, I hope that it did not take from your overall impression of us.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours in Service,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

On arrival we were met at reception by a very friendly receptionist. Foyer looked nice and inviting. Drinks machine on the floor beside lifts, which is a great facility to have.

Went to our standard room to find it dull and old fashioned. Then we noticed that some of our towels were stained, one even had something brown and sticky on it. We phoned for replacements and received them very quickly, but we never had a full set of towels after that, there was always something missing. The bed throws also had stains on them which was a bit off putting. Toiletries were very limited. Given very little toilet paper, ran out on last day!

Very noisy corridors. Woken up continuously with banging doors. In the morning the cleaning staff themselves were contributing significantly to this! Kept awake all night due to wedding the second night.

Breakfast was very poor. No porridge, no soya milk, pastries were limited, stodgy and tastless. Marmalade was homemade and had no jelly, it was all rind, and the homemade jam was so runny I had to pour it onto my toast, but it subsequently slid off. Ended up eating a fry which I didn't want. We had trouble getting served for our tea/coffee/toast, staff and manager kept ignoring us, had to stand in middle of floor trying to get someone's attention. We went out for breakfast after that even though we had paid for B&B.

The pool and leisure centre was very nice and enjoyable. We had no problems here, except having to buy a swim hat, rather than borrow one.

The problem is that we were expecting a 4 star hotel, with 4 star standards. Its all about expectations.

Room Tip: Don't go for a standard room, from our experience they aren't nice. Dull, dark, very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara1_Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2011
Dear isetDublin,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your review of our Hotel on Tripadvisor.com.

I have to say that I was really disappointed to read your review and I have taken some time recently to speak with all of my team about your experience.

The standard of service you received is simply unaccepatble and in your shoes I would have been equally unhappy. Please accept my sincere apologies for the way you treated. As you will see from our reveiws, we don't always get it right, but we do most of the time. I'm certainly going to use your commenst as a wake up call and I will ensure that no future guest leaves in any doubt that this is a four star hotel.

Yours in Service,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meath
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

I stayed there recently for my friends Wedding. The room seemed nice and clean, however on closer inspection there was a big cigarette burn and stain on the bed throw - this should have been in the bin and was so obvious that the staff who dressed the bed could no way have missed it. WIFI was on the ground floor but not in the guest rooms as standard which in this day and age is unacceptable.
We got a good rate on the room the night of the wedding as part of the wedding guest package. However as we travelled some distance we wanted to stay the night before. We called them the day before the wedding asking for a room for that night to add to our next night stay. We asked if they would do us a deal as they had admitted on the phone they had several rooms available. The only price they could offer was over €100 each for myself and my partner and considering this was a last minute and midweek day I wasnt prepared to accept, in fact it was the same amount they offered on the main website so no offer or deal was made - they seem to prefer to leave rooms empty rather than give a small discount. We found an alternative hotel nearby, also 4 star, and only had to pay €35pp B&B and that hotel was far superior to the Ormonde.
They also didnt have a smoking area off the street so I thought it looked awful when we arrived to see several people smoking in the vicinity of the front door, it made the hotel look shabby before you entered. They really should have a decent smoking area for smokers away from the front door!
The breakfast the next morning wasnt great. We had to wait some time to be seated, the hot food was chewy and old. We had to grab the attention of the minimal staff to orfer tea/coffee/toast however we had finished eating before they even came to take our order. The staff seemed panicked and made us feel like we had to rush so they could turn around the tables for the next guests. Both myself and my partner felt unwell for the rest of the day after we ate so I would definately not eat here again.
The room the wedding reception in was outstanding. The food was delicious and there were fantastic staff who looked after each guest fantastically. The only downside was that the staff were trying to give the impression of silver service waitressing, however they set food down and took plates away from any side of the guests. Also one waiter decided to poke me in the back twice with his finger to grab my attention to offer me wine without trying to speak to me first (I had noticed his arrival at the table). It would be fantastic if the Ormonde either trained their staff in basic silver service waitressing or stopped making them out to be this type of waitor.
Overall, dispite everything mentioned, we had a fantastic time, we slept like babies and the staff in general were lovely to deal with. However I wouldnt recommend this hotel to a friend, nor would I go out of my way to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nonie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2011
Dear NonieLove,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. I'm disappointed that you did not get to stay the second night and I'm apologise profusely for the fact that your bedroom was not maintained to an acceptable standard. I am, however, a little confused about your comments on the smoking area, as we have purpose built decking at the side of the hotel.

I appreciate that you enjoyed the wedding and I have taken the time to pass on your comments to all of my team here, in the hope that we can use them to improve what we do in the future.

Finally, NonieLove, I regret that you have now formed a poor impression of our Hotel, however, I am confident that your experiences do not represent our normal high standards. It is certainly not in my interest, especially in the current economic climate, to have dissatisfied customers and that is why I am so appreciative of you bringing your experiences to my attention. I do hope that you could see fit to visit the Ormonde Hotel again so that I may have the opportunity to restore your confidence in us. Please contact me personally so that I may extend you every courtesy.

Yours in Service,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,864 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,698 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,838 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#8 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Property: Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Address: Ormonde Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In heart of Kilkenny; stands proudly in the shadows of Kilkenny Castle; beautiful rooms designed/decorated to the highest standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing