We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fab place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
co kerry
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“fab place”
Reviewed 29 July 2012

just bac from a mid week break and we had a fab time the hotel was lovely the staff were so nice and would do anythink 4 u the bedrooms were spotless clean very hot as there is no air con but they had a fan on the desk witch we left on over nite and it was fine out,we had a meal in the hotel witch was fab 5 star,pool was lovely 2, the hotel is in a great place a 60 seconds walk and ur in the middle of the buzzing city we had a fab time thanx very much to u all that work there will be coming bac soon i hope :):):)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbie27CoKerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2012
Dear debbie27CoKerry,

Thank you and it's great to read that you really enjoyed our Bedrooms, food and location during your stay. We hope that you will return again soon.

Yours in Service,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,673 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    804
    509
    228
    89
    43
See reviews for
416
617
30
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Older hotel in the middle of Kilkenny. It seems to cater mostly to tour groups. We had a triple room - it was huge and very comfortble. The TV did not work, but did not called it in as we were spending only only night here. The hotel has an arrangement with the parking garage across the street - 5 euro/night. Breakfast was OK, but the breads felt somewhat stale.

The hotel and room were very clean and the staff were pleasant. The best thing about the hotel is the location which is near the KIlkenny castle. It is a good choice for a couple of days if you can get a promo rate.

Room Tip: Away from the elevators is best - noisy door to get into elevator foyer in every floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Troy86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2012
Dear Troy86,

Whilst I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay, in general, I'm disappointed that your stay appears to have been average in some aspects.

That you for your constructive comments and I assure you we will work on them.

Kind Regards,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We stayed just one night at this hotel. The staff were very friendly and accomodating. We had parking right across the street in a public ramp. The hotel had an agreement with them to charge 5 Euro per 24 hours. Room was a bit dated and worn, but otherwise very clean.
The castle is an easy 5 minute walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLSLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2012
Dear JLSLC,

I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you took full advantage of our fantastic location.

I hope that you get a chance to revisit us some day.

Yours in Service,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford West Gwillimbury, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We spent two nights recently at the Ormonde Hotel. The rooms were clean, spacious and quiet. The service was professional. Food was very good with generous portions. Best of all the location of this hotel is brilliant. You are right in the centre of Kilkenny. Free WIFI in the lobby. No real issues with our stay here. I only wish the coffee that was offered free in the lobby did not disappear in the early morning which is when jet lagged foreigners need it most. I would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Kilkenny.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goldlevel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2012
Dear Goldlevel,

Thank you for your very kind review of the Ormonde.

I'm really glad that you enjoyed your stay and I'm delighted that you would recommend us to your friends.

Yours in Service,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We enjoyed our two-night stay here. I would have given it five stars except our luggage was not secured behind the front desk when we were waiting for our room check-in. I could easily have walked off with another guests luggage that was also parked casually there....but everything else was first class : )

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank etlaif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2012
Dear etlaif,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our Hotel. Whilst I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay , in general, I note your comment about the luggage. our front desk is manned at all times and I assure you that there is no opportunity for anyone to take anything that is not theirs.

I hope to welcome you back again.

Yours in Service,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magherafelt, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2012

I had a fantastic time staying at the Ormonde Hotel in Kilkenny. The staff where always very helpful and the food was excellent. The hotel is central to the local shops, castle and other amenities. I would certainly recommend the hotel to anyone and go back to stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: Please advise staff of any of your requirements
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2012
Dear Denise D,

Thank you for posting your review of our hotel. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay and its great to read that you would recommend us in the future.

Yours in Service,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

I stayed here last weekend with my boyfriend. We both had a brilliant time! Cannot say enough about the staff, so helpful and friendly. The room was clean, modern and comfortable, the bed was very very hard to leave in the mornings! Sooo comfy. We had breakfast both mornings which was tasty and fresh, there was a wedding on the Saturday so it was very busy in the breakfast room on the Sunday morning but we weren't waiting at all. The staff really do go above and beyond for you. Can't recommend this Hotel enough. I've a wedding to go to in Langtons in October but I'll definitely be staying in The Ormonde.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank serena1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2012
Dear serena1982,

Thank you for posting your review of our Hotel on TripAdvisor.com

I'm really glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in October.

Yours in Service,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.1 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,735 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,881 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#8 of 18 in Kilkenny
752 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Property: Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Address: Ormonde Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In heart of Kilkenny; stands proudly in the shadows of Kilkenny Castle; beautiful rooms designed/decorated to the highest standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing