We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab family offer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Fab family offer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012 via mobile

Advertised in the Irish Times for family break for two days, booked on line that evening, next morning call from hotel enquiring whether we needed a cot or camp bed (nice touch) the kids club was well run and the kids staff we're genuinely helpful and the kids loved it. Breakfasts were excellent and all tastes catered for and of course there couldn't be a more Central hotel. we all had a great time and it won't be long before we do it again.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Liam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2012
Dear Liam T,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Ormonde on Tripadvisor. I'm really glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay and I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Yours in Service,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    780
    487
    209
    83
    40
See reviews for
400
581
29
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

.good service good staff good location,centre of things,will return,plenty of music in nearby pubs.easy walk from the hotel to all visitor areas .kilkenny castle and dunmore caves well worth the visit

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 60sh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2012
Dear 60sh,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Ormonde on Tripadvisor. I'm really glad that you enjoyed your stay and our location.

Yours in Service,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armagh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

Stayed here with our 2 children- a 3yr old & 1 yr old end July. We found the hotel an ideal location, centrally located with easy carparking (multi-storey just across the road) - if it weren't for the rain we wouldnt have needed the car at all over the few days ! Hotel is right in the centre of the shopping district, with plenty of pubs/cafes close by.

This hotel excelled in all aspects of what a family with young children need -
Food
Well priced bar food, plenty of room for kids to play while dining in the bar/foyer area.

Leisure Centre
Swimming pool had small kids pool, change facilities with family changing rooms in both male/female areas- which come with travel cots, changing table, hairdryer & are warmer than the general change area.

Kids Club
Brilliant ! The well spaced room included a bouncy castle, a great selection of toys from blocks and paints to small trikes ! We couldnt get the kids out of it ! There is a movie night each night with refreshments provided for the older kids.

Rooms
Although we didnt get an inter-connecting room, the room had a double, single bed with travel cot which was adequate for 2 nights. The room did however come with a fan and as we were staying on level 1 windows could be opened that bit more - anyone travelling with families in the one room will understand how stuffy they can get !

Baby Facilities
There was a room complete with microwave, nursing chair, fridge and baby chaning table which was quietly located on the bottom floor - ideal for getting small babies to sleep or preparing your own food/bottles for them.

Overall a great central location, ideal for families but right in the centre of all the night life ! I have recommended this hotel to all my friends/family & hope to return again !

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2012
Dear Denise M,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Ormonde on Tripadvisor. I'm delighted that you all enjoyed your stay with us and I hope to welcome you back soon.

Yours in Service,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

The hotel was very clean and had a great breakfast, however it was very noisy even on a weekday night. The location was great, easy to walk to shops, restaurants and Kilkenny Castle. The shower was difficult, temperature and strength-wise, however the rest of the room was great.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kayellpee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2012
Dear kayellpee,

Thank you for your kind review of our Hotel on Tripadvisor. Whilst I really glad that you enjoyed your stay, in general, I do apologise about the noise and the shower in your bedroom.

I hope that you can come back to stay with us again soon.

Yours in Service,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

Stayed here with my boyfriend Monday until Thursday,nice hotel great location.night staff were very friendly greeting us as we returned to the hotel.The only thing that was a let down was hearing slaming of doors each morning,other than that it was a plesent stay, and we sure will be back again!.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ddunnexx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2012
Dear Ddunnexx,

Thank you for your kind review of our Hotel and I'm delighted that you and your boyfriend had an enjoyable stay. I do, however, apologise for any inconvenience caused by the doors banging during the night and I assure you that I will certainly investigate what happened.

I hope that you can see fit to return again.

Yours in Service,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
co kerry
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

just bac from a mid week break and we had a fab time the hotel was lovely the staff were so nice and would do anythink 4 u the bedrooms were spotless clean very hot as there is no air con but they had a fan on the desk witch we left on over nite and it was fine out,we had a meal in the hotel witch was fab 5 star,pool was lovely 2, the hotel is in a great place a 60 seconds walk and ur in the middle of the buzzing city we had a fab time thanx very much to u all that work there will be coming bac soon i hope :):):)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbie27CoKerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2012
Dear debbie27CoKerry,

Thank you and it's great to read that you really enjoyed our Bedrooms, food and location during your stay. We hope that you will return again soon.

Yours in Service,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

Older hotel in the middle of Kilkenny. It seems to cater mostly to tour groups. We had a triple room - it was huge and very comfortble. The TV did not work, but did not called it in as we were spending only only night here. The hotel has an arrangement with the parking garage across the street - 5 euro/night. Breakfast was OK, but the breads felt somewhat stale.

The hotel and room were very clean and the staff were pleasant. The best thing about the hotel is the location which is near the KIlkenny castle. It is a good choice for a couple of days if you can get a promo rate.

Room Tip: Away from the elevators is best - noisy door to get into elevator foyer in every floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Troy86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2012
Dear Troy86,

Whilst I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay, in general, I'm disappointed that your stay appears to have been average in some aspects.

That you for your constructive comments and I assure you we will work on them.

Kind Regards,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,827 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,668 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,814 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Property: Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Address: Ormonde Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In heart of Kilkenny; stands proudly in the shadows of Kilkenny Castle; beautiful rooms designed/decorated to the highest standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing