We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A visit to remember”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Cork
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A visit to remember”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

Wonderful stay in the Kilkenny Ormonde. From start to finish a lovely weekend. Service excellent and so friendly. Food was delicious.Hotel is convenient to everywhere. Music was great in the bar. Comfortable area outside the bar where you can relax and enjoy the music. Wish our stay was longer. Will definitely return again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cra238, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Dear Marian H,

I'm really glad that you enjoyed your stay and make sure that your next one is for a little longer! Thank you for the lovely review.

Kind Regards,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    780
    487
    209
    83
    40
See reviews for
400
581
29
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

stayed in this hotel recently and had a lovely time. From the moment we walked in we were made feel very welcome . The receptionist was very pleasant and helpful and as it was a special wedding anniversary for myself and my husband we were upgraded to a lovely room . All of the staff seemed to enjoy their job and always had a smile .The breakfast was lovely and the staff were also very pleasant. It was in a very good location and only few minutes to shops and castle.There was a singer there on the Saturday night and he was very enjoyable.We would have no hesitation in returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caroline k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cra238, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Dear caroline k,

Thank you for your very kind review of our Hotel. I'm delighted that you and your family had a lovely time and I look forward to your return.

Kind Regards,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

Our first trip to Kilkenny city..and one we wont forget. Location of the hotel, easy access plus car parking made this hotel a must for a return visit. From the moment we arrived into the hotel, the very attentive staff made the experience just right in every since.Dinner perfect, breakfast excellent. The hotel location is only five minutes from shops and Kilkenny castle.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CorkEileen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cra238, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Dear CorkEileen,

I'm really delighted that you enjoyed your first visit to Kilkenny. I hope its the first of many and I look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel.

Kind Regards,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this Hotel in april with some work friends and it was fabulous. From the moment we walked in the receptionist was Lovely we were parked outside and she explained Where to park and Could not have Been nicer we had lunch and dinner in the Hotel and the service and food were excellent on both occasions i would recommend this Hotel to anyone without hesitation!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cra238, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Dear Louise T,

Thank you for taking the time to post your very kind review of the Ormonde Hotel. I'm really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013 via mobile

Great experience. It's near central Kilkenny and all is within walking distance. The bars are close and can be heard a bit but not enough to ruin a night of sleep. Great breakfast buffet. We went to the hurling match as a tourist and another great experience.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cra238, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Dear Ruff226,

I'm delighted that you had a great experience staying with us and got to see the a Hurling match. Thank you for your very kind review.

Kind Regards,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

Great location right in the city centre. Friendly and attentive staff. Good choice for breakfast. Dined out so could not comment on bar/restaurant food.. Ordered room service pizza and it was delicious..Overall had an enjoyable two night mid week break in this well run hotel. I most definitely will be returning. E M Power

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank i-love-hollidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cra238, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Dear i-love-hollidays,

Thank you for your lovely review. I'm really glad that you enjoyed your stay and I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare Ireland
Level Contributor
184 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

Had a fairly big room Double and 2 singles It was clear this was used as a family room. Furniture scraped and chipped and writing on the wallpaper. Seal around bath and shower needs to be replaced, was cracked and dirty. Bed linen clean and beds comfy. Staff lovely, Breakfast very nice. Everything hot and fresh

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pahef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cra238, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Dear Pahef,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to give us your feedback.

I’m really glad that you enjoyed your stay, in general, although I do note your comment about the bedroom. May I take this opportunity to apologise for any inconvenience caused and I hope that it did not take too much from your stay.

I hope to welcome you back to our Hotel in the future and look forward to meeting you personally so that I can extend you every courtesy.

Assuring you of my personal service at all times,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,827 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,668 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,814 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Property: Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Address: Ormonde Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In heart of Kilkenny; stands proudly in the shadows of Kilkenny Castle; beautiful rooms designed/decorated to the highest standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing