We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
dublin
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful relaxing stay”
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We booked in for 2 days for a wedding last weekend. The wedding was in another location and we chose the Ormonde becuase it's in the middle of town but off the main street. The room was very large and very comfortable. The bed was especially comfortable and I was very impressed with the breakfast. All in all, I would highly recommend it and will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aoife a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cra238, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2013
Dear aoife a,

Thank you for taking the opportunity to review your stay with us on Tripadvisor.com. I appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Yours in Service,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    815
    512
    228
    90
    42
See reviews for
423
621
30
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Waterford, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Myself and my husband booked at last minute as we needed a break away and the Ormonde was just fantastic. Stayed in a Suite on Floor 4 and room was really lovely. Only thing was it was a little cool temperature wise but it suited us as we dont like very warm rooms.
Bar food was tasty and staff in bar and reception were really friendly.
Locationwise it could not have been better. In the middle of town but without the noise of traffic which is a bonus.

Room Tip: The Suite is def worth the bit extra especially for a treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clodagh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cra238, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2013
Dear Clodagh F,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our Hotel. I'm delighted that you and your husband enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Yours in Service,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Right in the middle of everything, the Ormonde location is great. Parking is easy right across the street. Very nice accommodations in every way. We did not eat at the hotel, but the bar and restaurant had several patrons. Our only complaint was the firmness of the bed. We like affirm mattress, but these were very uncomfortable to both of us. Still a nice hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachdeac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cra238, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2013
Dear Beachdeac,

Whilst I'm really glad that you enjoyed your stay, in general, i do note your comment about the bed. May I take this opportunity to apologise for any inconvenience caused and I hope that it would not deter you from another visit.

Yours in Service,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

really enjoy our stay here.... staff was soo helpful and very friendly.... the room was lovely and very spacious as was the bathroom which was a plus as there was 4 girls in one room so no fighting over the mirror!!!..wifi was widely available and the food was delicious... Roisin at reception was nice to us too one of our friends was checking in on her own so she made sure that her room was close to our room which was nice and she recommended us places to go to that night..... would def come back to this hotel again:):)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hellie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cra238, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2013
Dear Hellie83,

Thank you for your very kind review of our Hotel on Tripadvisor. I'm delighted tat you enjoyed yourselves and I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Yours in Service,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Very impressed with this hotel, accommodations are fantastic... great spa to relax after a day of touring...Meals are wonderful. A must see while in Kilkenny is the Kyteler's Inn... One of Ireland oldest pubs..Lots of great shops, all within walking distance of the hotel... Very safe area..

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cra238, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2013
Dear Linda H,

I'm really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your review. Our location in perfect for visiting the great attractions in Kilkenny, including Kyteler's Inn.

Yours in Service,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

I recently stayed in the Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel with my friends for my birthday. I thought the staff were so friendly when we were having dinner. My friends got me a cake & we had it in the room. When one of the girls went down to get a knife to cut the cake, she said the staff couldn't have been nicer. They gave her plates, napkins & forks aswell. Plus the hotel is right in the centre of Kilkenny. Great spot. Will definately be going back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaitrionaOL2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cra238, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2013
Dear CaitrionaOL2013,

Thank you for your very kind review of our Hotel. I'm delighted that you and your friends enjoyed yourselves and I hope that you can return soon.

Yours in Service,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Loved Kilkenny and loved this hotel. It's great location made it easy to walk around and see all the local sights. Only one block away from the wonderful Kilkenny Castle. The room was comfortable and clean. Dinner was good as was breakfast, though more selection at the buffet would be nice. My only complaint here is the ironing board in the room, it kept collapsing while I was ironing. I checked the underside to find out what was wrong with it and it is simply its design. Nothing you can do to fix it, they just need new ones that are engineered better.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cunningtim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cra238, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2013
Dear cunningtim,

I'm delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us and I appreciate your feedback about the Ironing Board. I hope that it did not take too much from you stay and that you will get an opportunity to visit us again.

Yours in Service,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.1 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,759 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#5 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,921 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#8 of 19 in Kilkenny
765 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Property: Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Address: Ormonde Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In heart of Kilkenny; stands proudly in the shadows of Kilkenny Castle; beautiful rooms designed/decorated to the highest standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing