We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor breakfast buffet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2013

A hotel in the centre of Kilkenny close to many shops, bars and restaurants. The location is very good. The staff reception and bar staff are efficient and friendly. The room was clean and the staff attending to the rooms do a good job. The wi fi is excellent.

However, the breakfast buffet was poor. The bacon was tough overcooked and almost impossible to chew, the sausages are tastless, the scrambled egg was soggy and the potato bread was like eating doagh. There is a limited alternative cheese/ham/bread choice.

The rooms have no air conditioning and no room safe. The room was very warm in the evening and the bed only has one heavy cover with no separate sheets.

Also, the hotel charge for the car park opposite. If you are staying in this hotel the car park should be free for the duration of the stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ALreporting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cra238, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2013

Dear ALreporting,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.com. Whilst I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay, in general, I do note your comment about breakfast. May I take this opportunity to apologise for any inconvenience and assure you that it is certainly not the normal comment we get, as you will see from our previous reviews.

I hope that you get an opportunity to return so that I can meet with you personally and show you very courtesy.

Yours in Service,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,751)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,065 - 1,071 of 1,751 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2013

Attended a wedding which was very good, food was lovely as was the service. Was disappointed in our room, as I knew we would not be in the room for long due to wedding celebrations I did not go to reception re room. so my advice to you if staying in this hotel is check out your room first. Our room was small and looked out onto all pipes and air conduction system. Did go into my friends room which was bright and spacious.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank livelife29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cra238, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2013

Dear livelife29,

Whilst I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay and the wedding, i'm disappointed that you didn't enjoy your guestroom. I appreciate the review and should you return to Kilkenny don't hesitate ti contact me personally as I would be delighted to show you every courtesy.

Kind Regards,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Ormonde hotel is overrated. First, the positive. Our first room had a constant hum from vents and staff were very accommodating in getting us another room, 213. What we didn't know is that facing the street on a Saturday night means loud music and voices blaring from bars and the windows have zero sound-proofing. Avoid any room on that wing of the hotel. Also, place needs a facelift. Dirty carpets and stained pillows.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Perlo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cra238, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2013

Dear Perlo3,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to give us your feedback. I am always delighted to receive comments from our customers, complimentary or otherwise, as it is only by our guests letting us know their views, that we can maintain our high standards.

It is very important to me that our guests have a good experience throughout the entire hotel and I cannot offer any excuses to you if we failed, in any way, at what I believe we do best. The least you should expect from a hotel such as ours is to have a good nights sleep and I am sorry that this was not the case. May I take this opportunity to apologise for any upset or inconvenience we may have caused you and I assure you that it is certainly not the norm here. I have spoken in length with my team here and although, it may be of little comfort to you now, I am certain that no future guest will have to experience such disruption.

I hope to welcome you back to our Hotel in the near future and look forward to welcoming you personally so that I can extend you every courtesy.

Assuring you of my personal service at all times,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We booked in for 2 days for a wedding last weekend. The wedding was in another location and we chose the Ormonde becuase it's in the middle of town but off the main street. The room was very large and very comfortable. The bed was especially comfortable and I was very impressed with the breakfast. All in all, I would highly recommend it and will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aoife a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cra238, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2013

Dear aoife a,

Thank you for taking the opportunity to review your stay with us on Tripadvisor.com. I appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Yours in Service,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Myself and my husband booked at last minute as we needed a break away and the Ormonde was just fantastic. Stayed in a Suite on Floor 4 and room was really lovely. Only thing was it was a little cool temperature wise but it suited us as we dont like very warm rooms.
Bar food was tasty and staff in bar and reception were really friendly.
Locationwise it could not have been better. In the middle of town but without the noise of traffic which is a bonus.

Room Tip: The Suite is def worth the bit extra especially for a treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clodagh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cra238, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2013

Dear Clodagh F,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our Hotel. I'm delighted that you and your husband enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Yours in Service,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Right in the middle of everything, the Ormonde location is great. Parking is easy right across the street. Very nice accommodations in every way. We did not eat at the hotel, but the bar and restaurant had several patrons. Our only complaint was the firmness of the bed. We like affirm mattress, but these were very uncomfortable to both of us. Still a nice hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beachdeac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cra238, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2013

Dear Beachdeac,

Whilst I'm really glad that you enjoyed your stay, in general, i do note your comment about the bed. May I take this opportunity to apologise for any inconvenience caused and I hope that it would not deter you from another visit.

Yours in Service,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

really enjoy our stay here.... staff was soo helpful and very friendly.... the room was lovely and very spacious as was the bathroom which was a plus as there was 4 girls in one room so no fighting over the mirror!!!..wifi was widely available and the food was delicious... Roisin at reception was nice to us too one of our friends was checking in on her own so she made sure that her room was close to our room which was nice and she recommended us places to go to that night..... would def come back to this hotel again:):)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hellie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cra238, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2013

Dear Hellie83,

Thank you for your very kind review of our Hotel on Tripadvisor. I'm delighted tat you enjoyed yourselves and I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Yours in Service,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.1 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,831 reviews
1 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,031 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,039 reviews
2 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#6 of 19 in Kilkenny
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Address: Ormonde Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Price Range: £62 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In heart of Kilkenny; stands proudly in the shadows of Kilkenny Castle; beautiful rooms designed/decorated to the highest standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing