We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fab hotel with a central location and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2013

I am just home from a two night girlie break away in the Kilkenny Ormonde hotel. We stayed two nights and had a fantastic stay. The hotel had a great buzz in it. The staff were friendly and so accommodating. It was a special occasion and we had a few special requests which the staff had no problem looking after. The rooms were big and spotlessly clean.
On the second day, our gang had afternoon tea with prosecco outside on the balcony. The food was delicious and the scones and jam were yummy :)
That evening we needed the use of a private room with internet access and a big screen. Anna, the lady looking after our group had no problem organising this. We ate in the hotel and the menu had a good choice on it. We couldn't fault the food.
The breakfast had a good selection of fruit, breads, croissants, and hot breakfast. The staff in the dining room checked on numerous occasions if we wanted more toast and tea. You wouldn't go hungry staying here!
All in all we had a great stay in Kilkenny. The central location of the hotel means that that it is a short walk (2 mins) to shops, restaurants and bars. I would definitely recommend the Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel in Kilkenny.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cra238, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Dear Orla H,

I'm delighted that you and your friends had a good time in Kilkenny and staying in our Hotel. Thank you for the very kind review.

Kind Regards,

Colin Ahern
General manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,765)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,059 - 1,065 of 1,765 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2013

Beautiful rooms were spotless, beds comfortable, food excellent and staff eager to please. There were plenty of amenities and all the conveniences one could expect. A fine hotel in a lovely town.

In my opinion this establishment exceeds its 4 star rating.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacksmack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cra238, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Dear Jacksmack,

Thanks for the very kind review and I hope to get the opportunity to welcome you here again soon.

Kind Regards,

Colin Ahern
General manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Stayed for two nights week of June 4. The hotel is superbly located in the centre of Kilkenny. Large size family room with lovely large ensuing. Excellent value for money mid week. Only complaint is that there was no air conditioning in the room and we needed it this week!! Bedroom doors all slam loudly and this was quite annoying late at night & early morning with our baby.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Farrellfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cra238, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Dear Farrellfamily,

I'm really glad that you enjoyed your stay, in general, although I do note your comment about the air conditioning and the banging and i apologise if it took from your stay in any way.

I hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Colin Ahern
General manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We were going to a wedding on the 7th June 2013, and this hotel was recommended to stay as the rooms where the wedding reception were booked. I must say, that we have good comments from start to finish.

I e-mailed the hotel before we traveled. We were travelling from Cork on the day of the wedding and wanted to change before we headed to the church. This was no problem and when we checked in, our rooms were ready so we could get ready. They were even able to explain how to get to the church which was in Foulkstown.

After the mass, we returned back to the hotel for a little bit of lunch and then went up to the room to relax. The rooms were so comfortable. The wedding reception was in Langtons, which was a close walk to the hotel.

We returned back to the hotel about 12 pm and the hotel was lovely and quiet, so we were able to have a good nights' sleep. The breakfast the next morning was buffet style. It was lovely. We came down at 09.30 am and it was quite busy, but we were seated prompty. The staff from housekeeping (who were so friendly and chatty) to reception were lovely.

Parking was very handy in a multi-storey car park across the road (Q Park) and it was only 5 euro for our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anniebannie1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cra238, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Dear Anniebannie1981,

I'm really glad that you enjoyed your recent stay and the wedding you attended here. Thank you for the lovely review.

Kind Regards,

Colin Ahern
General manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We arrived in Kilkenny to glorious sunshine and it stayed that way for our entire stay. The hotel was easy to find and parking was across the road in a multi story car park that has an offer with the hotel. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we were greeted with warmth, friendliness and courtesy. Our room was bright, clean and airy. The lounge area, the dining area and the bar when it opened were lovely.
I would recommend this hotel wholeheartedly. We have stayed a few times in Kilkenny before and when we go back it will certainty be to the Ormonde.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wasp019620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cra238, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Dear wasp019620,

Thank you for your very kind review of our Hotel and I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

Kind Regards,

Colin Ahern
General manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Just back from our stay in the ormonde and all I can say is amazing! The staff were so nice. From the minute we arrived the girl at reception was lovely, the two girls in the spa were so nice, the gentlemen in the restaurant were outstanding and on check out again the receptionist was fab. The location was brilliant. All in all one of the best stays we've had in an irish hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cra238, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Dear Fiona M,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our Hotel. I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Colin Ahern
General manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013 via mobile

I visit Kilkenny around twice a month and this hotel tops it all for location and facilities! The hotel is large and modern and the rooms are so comfortable!! Everything is within walking distance with this hotel
The leisure centre is perfect for the hangover
The staff are friendly and very helpful!!
I would recommend the bar for dinner as there is something to suit everyone and definately try to get up for breakfast!!
The only bad thing is the hair dryer in the room can be a little temperamental so I would suggest packing a travel one!!
This hotel is must certainly paying the little big extra for!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VickiFitzsimons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cra238, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Dear VickiFitzsimons,

Thank you, once again for your lovely review of our Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Colin Ahern
General manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.1 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,844 reviews
1 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,044 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#5 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,058 reviews
2 mi away
Lyrath Estate
Lyrath Estate
#6 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,552 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#4 of 19 in Kilkenny
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Address: Ormonde Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Price Range: £60 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In heart of Kilkenny; stands proudly in the shadows of Kilkenny Castle; beautiful rooms designed/decorated to the highest standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing