We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“night away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Anyone who reads my reviews will know, I love this hotel for it's great location, wonderful staff who find nothing too much trouble and always there to help. The room we stayed in was absolutely amazing,with a view of the city and terrific balcony to watch the sun set.

Room Tip: room 401 is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kim12l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cra238, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Dear Kim12I,

Thank you for your most recent review of our Hotel. I'm really glad that you enjoyed your stay and the view from room 401.

Kind Regards,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,752)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,024 - 1,030 of 1,753 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed here in July. Great hotel all the staff very friendly and helpful. Location fab great for shopping restaurants, sight seeing. Kilkenny castle and grounds are beautiful. We stayed for 3 nights, nice selection for breakfast to suit everybody. We had dinner one evening vegetarian option very bland, and the fillet chicken was too dry. steak was good. Overall we really enjoyed our stay the kids loved the pool and will return again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kattopclass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cra238, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Dear kattopclass,

I'm delighted that you and your family enjoyed your recent stay with us and thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

Kind Regards,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We stayed here just for 1 night in July as we were only away for a night. The hotel is in a fantastic location just a few minutes walk from the night life and great choice of shops. The staff are very friendly and go out of their way to be helpful. We were very lucky and were offered an upgrade to a suite, beautiful room and balcony. Much appreciated in the hot weather. So its worth asking for an upgrade. Had breakfast and dinner in the hotel, lovely food, good value. The bar and out door terrace are a great place to relax.

Room Tip: Ask if there is a chance of an upgrade,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carmel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cra238, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Dear Carmel M,

I'm really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us in July and the great weather that came with it. Thank you for your very kind review.

Kind Regards,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a weekend at beginning of July. Hotel was fab, really, really nice. In an excellent location too, only a few mins walk to shops, pubs. Facilities were excellent and the staff were really friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrsld1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cra238, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Dear dublinbride2b,

Thank you for your lovely review of our Hotel and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

we stayed here for too nights midweek and it was great the staff were so friendly and kind we arrived one day late and they sorted us out not a problem roisien was really helpful at reception with her lovely smile and easy manner, we will stay there again hopefully soon. The car parking is so handy just across from the main entrance the lobby is bi and comfy chairs to sit around on and the bar staff very friendly.

Room Tip: we had a junior suit loads of room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anne k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cra238, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear anne k,

Thank you for your lovely review of the Ormonde and our services. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I hope to get the chance to welcome you back soon.

Yours in Service,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We stayed here for a weekend in July 2013. On the plus side, the hotel is very conveniently located in the middle of the city. The breakfast was nice and the lobby, rooms, bar were clean etc. We also found the staff to be friendly and accomodating.

On the negative side, the hotel is totally unequipped to deal with hot/warm weather. We had a south facing room on the fourth floor of the hotel. There was no air conditioning in our room or in the halls. We found the room to be very small and claustrophobic but by far the biggest problem was the heat in the room. It was ridiculous and led to us spending most of our time out of the hotel. I appreciate that the weather was extraordinarliy good at the time but I would have thought that a 4 star hotel would be able to cope with something like this.

Room Tip: Ask for a north facing room in warm weather!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dec82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cra238, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Dear Dec82,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel on Tripadvisor. Whilst i'm glad you enjoyed your stay in general, I do note your comment about the warmth of the guestroom and I apologise profusely if it took from your stay in any way. I assure you that your experience here was not the norm and the weather was to an extreme at the time of your visit.

Yours in Service,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

A good hotel to stay in while visiting Kilkenny as the location in right in the city centre, close to all the shops and restaurants. Bright spacious clean bedrooms, good parking opposite the hotel in a secure Carpark at reduced rate for hotel guests. Dining room a bit cramped, food fairly basic.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ANNENIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cra238, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear ANNENIreland,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel on Tripadvisor.com. I'm really glad that you enjoyed your stay and especially enjoyed our unique City Centre location.

Yours in Service,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.1 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,831 reviews
1 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,033 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,042 reviews
2 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#5 of 19 in Kilkenny
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Address: Ormonde Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Price Range: £64 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In heart of Kilkenny; stands proudly in the shadows of Kilkenny Castle; beautiful rooms designed/decorated to the highest standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing