We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“60th celebration”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“60th celebration”
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

I recently visited with family to celebrate a birthday. The hotel was buzzing with visitors from home and abroad. . Dinner was excellent and great value ..the cake they baked for the occasion was superb..its location is excellent close to all Kilkenny has to offer. I certainly be returning. .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cra238, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear MariahDublin,

Thank you for your lovely review of our Hotel, I'm delighted that you had a lovely time and enjoyed a milestone family celebration.

Kind Regards,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,646 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    793
    502
    222
    87
    42
See reviews for
409
606
29
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Had a 2 night stay in a room that was very comfortable & luckily very quiet. We found the whole hotel extremely friendly & welcoming. Breakfast staff were very helpful with swift service. Great stopover if your visiting Kilkenny. Downside, make sure you take your toiletries not much on offer in the bathroom...

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cra238, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear sandra H,

Thank you for your kind review about our Hotel. I'm really glad that you enjoyed your stay, in general, although I do note your comment about the toiletries. I hope that it did not take too much from your stay and rest assured we can always replace or deliver more if required.

Kind Regards,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wexford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

stayed here recently , loved the location , the room , the food , the leisure centre and a reasonable price . Good service in all departments . the location is fantastic near all city centre and kilkenny castle , which was great for a walk around the woods on the ground. will def return in the future

thanks ormonde

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maria1973wexford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cra238, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear maria1973wexford,

I'm delighted that you and your family had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for the review and I hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We have stayed in this hotel since 2000. I have never had to complain about anything at all,staff are excellent from the moment you stay until you leave. Rooms are spotless and cleaning staff are very thorough. I would not dream of staying anywhere else but the Kilkenny Ormonde. It is very central to all shops and amenities in the town. Food is great too.

Linda Mulraney, Dublin

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lingblob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cra238, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Lingblob,

Thank you fro posting your review of the Ormonde. We are always delighted to welcome you here and hope to see you again soon.

Yours in Service,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago,Illinois
Level Contributor
229 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed here 10 days ago, hotel needs a review of their policies regarding guest comfort. Rooms could use an updating but the main reason that our stay was ruined was due to the fact that a banquet for 17 and 18 year olds turned rowdy. Fire alarms were set off by them at 11:45 pm with only one reveler being ejected from the hotel in a very loud manner. Then alarms were set off twice more allowing us no sleep until after 2:30 am when the entire party was ejected from the hotel. These revelers were allowed to get into their cars in the garage and drive off into the night in their drunken state.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wombat999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cra238, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear Wombat999,

Thank you for posting your review of our Hotel on TripAdvisor.com.

I am always delighted to receive comments from our customers, complimentary or otherwise, as it is only by our guests letting us know their views, that we can maintain our high standards.
I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay, in general, although I do note your comments about the disruption from the function and I apologise if it took from your stay in any way.

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Ormonde in the future and I have listed my contact details below should you wish to discuss your experiences in person with me. I would be delighted to speak with you.

Yours in Service,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
e: colin@kilkennyormonde.com
t: 00353 567750200
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Stayed here for mid week mini holiday with my hubby, 7 and 2 year old, we had a family room which was adequate however I do agree with another guest that the family could do with a mini fridge for even milk or yogurts for the kids. The room was clean as was the bathroom, there wasn't any noise at night either even with the debs ball that was on in one of the function rooms. There was no air conditioning so at times it was very warm especially with 4 of us in room. One of the lifts stunk of vomit all the time we were there with a hint of febreeze over it, even my 2 year old commented on it. A lot of the carpets were quite stained and looked like they needed replacing or a deep clean, the swimming pool area was quite dirty looking and there was a musty smell in the pool area, the corridor to the leisure area also smelled damp and musty, a deep clean and makeover defo needed. The staff were friendly tho, we had dinner in o,reillys bar which was nice but portions were quite small but barman did bring crayons for the kids which kept them entertained, breakfast was also nice and the waiting staff were very friendly and helpful. It was nice and I would stay again but more for a social setting rather than a family holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shellybeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cra238, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear Shelleybeard,

Thank you for posting your review of our Hotel on TripAdvisor.com.

I am always delighted to receive comments from our customers, complimentary or otherwise, as it is only by our guests letting us know their views, that we can maintain our high standards.
I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay, in general, although I do note your comments about the carpets and the leisure club and I apologise if it took from your stay in any way.

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Ormonde in the future and I have listed my contact details below should you wish to discuss your experiences in person with me.

Yours in Service,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
e: colin@kilkennyormonde.com
t: 00353 567750200
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

we went to the Ormonde hotel for 3 nights, in mid Aug 2013. We stayed in kilkenny last year and decided to try out this hotel. the next visit. we booked 4 rooms all on the 3rd floor. The rooms were spotless and very well layed out, it could not be faulted. The bar was nice but we sit out side as the weather was great. In the morning the breakfast was one off the best we have had in any hotel. There was so many staff and they could not do enough for you. we did eat dinner in the hotel on the tuesday night and again it was a great meal. 10 out of 10 All in all the hotel and the staff were great. We did all agree we will be back I hope sooner than later.

peter

Belfast

Room Tip: rooms 311 312 are super we set and looked at the kilkenny castle having morning coffee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peterraff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cra238, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear peterraff,

Thank you for taking the time to post your very kind review of our Hotel. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Yours in Service,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.1 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,715 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,894 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,860 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#9 of 18 in Kilkenny
739 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Property: Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Address: Ormonde Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In heart of Kilkenny; stands proudly in the shadows of Kilkenny Castle; beautiful rooms designed/decorated to the highest standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing