We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent City Center Option” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
162 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Excellent City Center Option”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

I would give this a 4 1/2 star overall rating. We spent three very pleasant nights here recently. Very conveniently located one block off the main streets of Kilkenny close to the castle, but away from sounds of the activity both day and night. Easy walk to all the main sights of the city. Rooms are very clean with modern styling, and very comfortable beds. Good Irish breakfast. Very friendly and helpful staff including housekeeping. Bar on premises (more modern design and lighting), with a second bar in the lobby reception area (with a comfortable Irish atmosphere). Access to a workout facility and pool across the street accessed via an underground corridor. Well priced and a good value.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the street face are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeanderingMike1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cra238, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear FamilyTravelsChicago,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our Hotel on TripAdvisor. I'm really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate the recommendation.

Yours in Service,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,587 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    775
    487
    204
    81
    40
See reviews for
394
580
29
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portlaoise, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

Stayed at this hotel recently for a family celebration with 25 in party including adults and kids . We had booked a variety of room types with breakfast and evening meal on the Saturday night. Every aspect of our stay was fantastic. The hotel is located in the city centre very close to the castle and shopping. Car parking is across the street in a multi story park. The rooms were spacious and hotel reception and bar area are extremely welcoming. The food both during the evening meal and breakfast was perfect, with live music in the bar on the Saturday night. The staff are helpful and friendly and the overall experience was most enjoyable. I strongly recommend this hotel and will stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peamcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cra238, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Carmel M,

Thank you for posting your lovely review of the Ormonde Hotel. I'm delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay and dinner and I hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Yours in Service,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

We had our wedding in The Ormonde Hotel in Sept, from the day we went in to view the function room, we both agreed that this would be our venue for our wedding reception. Deirdre our events manager goes over & above to help you with the organisation of your wedding day. Louise also joined the staff in the weeks leading up to our wedding and is also a great asset. The function room itself is fabulous. The Hotel is very central with the fabulous Kilkenny castle just around the corner. There is a multi storey car park directly across from the hotel which is complimentary to all guests staying in the Ormonde. The Bridal Suite is fantastic & definitely one of the best in Kilkenny.
The Restaurant staff and manager Sinead offer top class service & food. We could not recommend this hotel enough.
Mags & Stephen

Room Tip: Bridal Suite is fantastic so for a special occasion why not splash out for this extra luxury!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mags365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cra238, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Mags365,

I'm delighted to read that you, your family and friends had a great day in the Ormonde. I will pass on your kind comments to all of our team here and we wish you every health and happiness in the future.

Yours in Service,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

food excellent staff could not do enough each and everyone of them. We spent the weekend there
for our wedding anniversary in September and was upgraded to bridal suite which was out of this world for comfort my wife is a coeliac and there was no problem with food hope to return soon

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eddiecurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cra238, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear eddiecurley,

I'm really glad you enjoyed your recent visit and delighted that you celebrated your anniversary in style with us. Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the Ormonde.

Kind Regards,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newry
Level Contributor
83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

This is a busy hotel, catering for both foreign and domestic guests. As a family of four with two young children we found it an excellent location for external and internal entertainment. First of all the kids club was in full swing offering evening as well as daily activity. The pool and leisure club provided endless hours of swimming and fun. Secondly, the hotel is centrally located close to all the city attractions, including Kilkenny castle, the design centre, the sight seeing trains etc.
Breakfast is special at The Ormande, one of the best I have encountered in a long time. Little touches like providing jars of honey, various jams, fresh and dried berries, nuts, seeds, fruit and yogurt as well as local cheeses, ham and homemade breads provided an alternative to the cooked breakfast.
I would recommend this hotel too for it's rooms which are large, comfortable and noise free.
The staff are extremely helpful and courteous, that goes for front desk, waiting staff and leisure attendants.
A very pleasant place to stay while exploring this exciting medieval city. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patreflex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cra238, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear patreflex,

I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay in our great City and got to experience much of what we have to offer. Thank you for recommending us and we hope that you get an opportunity to visit us again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Perfect location in the centre of the city.The pool and gym were excellent, the room was very spacious and the breakfast in the mornings was lovely. For anyone Coeliac I would strongly recommend the Ormonde as it is one of the few hotels that we have visited that have catered for Coeliac guests.

Room Tip: Higher floor, less noise from bar downstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMul8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cra238, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear DMul8,

I'm really glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and thank you for recommending us. We are happy to cater for all dietary requirements and all of our soups and sauces are gluten free, as standard.

I hope to welcome you back to our Hotel soon.

Kind Regards,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOUSTON
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

The Kilkenny Ormonde is a fantastic property, situated at the heart of this gorgeous Medieval city. Just a few blocks from the city centre and Kilkenny Castle, you can visit everything while leaving your car parked in the garage across from the hotel.

Our room was huge, with a double and two single beds, plus a massive bathroom. For our first real night in Ireland, I couldn't have picked a better place to stay. Each bed was cozy and comfortable, allowing me to sleep in peace. Which isn't something that happens as my back is not in the best of conditions.

The staff we interacted with was incredible. Everyone went out of their way to make sure we were having a good time and to cater to our needs. Unfortunately I didn't get the names of the ladies who helped us at the front desk, but I would love for them to know that their service does not go unnoticed. They were exceedingly helpful and made sure we had everything we needed.

I hope to be back in Ireland next year and will go out of my way to stay here again. Thank you Kilkenny Ormonde for helping to make my stay in the Emerald Isle a fantastic one!

Room Tip: Our room was situated at the back of the hotel, room 103. It was cozy and incredibly large. I woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MATTHEW H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cra238, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear MATTHEW H,

Thank you for posting your great review of our Hotel. I'm really glad that you enjoyed your stay in Kilkenny and we look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Kind Regards,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,805 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,781 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#9 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
0.3 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Property: Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Address: Ormonde Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In heart of Kilkenny; stands proudly in the shadows of Kilkenny Castle; beautiful rooms designed/decorated to the highest standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing