We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice pre Christmas break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Mullingar, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really nice pre Christmas break”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We decided to take a short break pre Christmas, there was mself my wife and our 2 kids aged 7 and 9.
I found the Ormonde hotel in Kilkenny a real treat. The staff were excellent, the rooms were big and very comfortable. The food was excellent, and the hotel is in a great centeral location.
All in all a very enjoyable stay, and one I will repeat.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColinRAhern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Andy H,

Thank you for your very kind review and I'm really glad that you and your family enjoyed your recent stay with us. I hope that we all get the opportunity to welcome you all back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,650 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    795
    503
    223
    87
    42
See reviews for
411
606
30
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed in the Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel on 30th and 31st Dec. It was actually our 3rd trip to the hotel so that speaks for itself. Staff very friendly especially in Reception. Breakfast very good. Plenty of food and lovely dining room. Our room was very comfortable and also very quiet. No street noise. We did not have time to use the pool, but plan to on our next visit. Brilliant location. Multi storey parking for 2 nights for €10, which is very reasonable and it is located just across the street. Could not find a single fault with this hotel.
Betty O Sullivan.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 105. Very near reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bettytripad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColinRAhern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Bettytripad,

Thank you for your very kind review of our Hotel on Tripadvisor. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay over New Years Eve with us and that you have come back again and again.

I hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Yours in Service,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

A big thank you to all the staff who made our post New Years stay so comfortable. We had just attended a family wedding the previous day in another Kilkenny hotel and decided to extend our trip by booking into the Ormonde. Fellow wedding guests decided to join us,which created an impromptu dinner of 25 guests which the restaurant staff catered for with ease!
I was also impressed with the service at breakfast the next day. The staff were so helpful. We will definitely keep the Ormonde in mind, on our next visit to Kilkenny .

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColinRAhern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Steve W,

Thank you for your lovely review of our Hotel. I'm delighted that you and your family enjoyed your post New Years stay with us and we hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel with our children, we had great stay. Rooms a good size and very clean and well maintained. Kids enjoyed the free kids club and swimming pool, again well run and great staff. Interconnecting rooms great for a family and the location is excellent for the castle and the city. We definitely will be back!!!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Limklady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColinRAhern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Limklady,

I'm really glad that you and your family enjoyed your recent stay with us and took advantage of our great location and interconnecting rooms.

I hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Stayed here for €89 for two nights b&b incl 1 dinner and 1 lunch. The staff: Excellent. The food: Pretty good. The pool: Pretty good. Location: Excellent. Pillows: a tad hard. Gripes: The inclusive dinner: We were first in the restaurant with a 6:00pm booking. Both the starter and the main course we ordered were unavailable.... so why hadn't the menu been changed? Still the alternative choices were excellent. All in all, a very positive experience. The staff are a credit to this hotel. We would return.

Room Tip: room 230 at end of the hall so little traffic, no view though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deedwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColinRAhern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear deedwa,

I'm really glad that you enjoyed your stay in general, although I am sorry if some items were unavailable on the menu.

I hope that it didn't take from your stay too much and i hope to welcome you back again soon.

Yours in Service,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dkublin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I stayed in the ormonde on December 14th for a girls Christmas night out , it was brilliant from start to finish , we got a great deal only 109euro for one night bed and breakfast and evening meal , including a treatment and afternoon tea . we had a fantastic time . They gave us a beautiful room . fantastic food and the treatment was wonderful . The staff were the best I have ever come across . Couldn't fault this hotel in any way , we will be back

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colette O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColinRAhern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear Collette O,

Many thanks for the great review and i'm really glad that you enjoyed your Christmas night out.

Yours in Service,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed at the Ormonde for 2 nights while attending a Wedding in December. The Wedding was hosted in the hotel.
The hotel seemed reasonable, but nothing spectacular. The room on the 2nd floor was clean, spacious and reasonably comfortable. The TV and hair dryer functioned as required and there were no problems with the water temperature and pressure in the shower.
Breakfast in the mornings was perfectly acceptable but nothing to get excited about.
The large lobby with ample seating seemed quite nice and as we were at a wedding it served as a useful space for Wedding guests to catch up and exchange stories the morning after. The staff even accepted food orders as breakfast had already completed and the breakfast room was no longer available.
It has now been 3 weeks since our stay at the Ormonde and when I think back on our visit, my abiding memories are none of the above but rather:
1. The clogged sink in our bathroom. Even while brushing your teeth the sink filled and generally took about an hour to drain. In fairness we should have reported it to the hotel staff, but as our stay was short and we were rushing from event to event we never got around to it. However our room was serviced during our stay and we were surprised that the cleaning staff did not pick up on this. The sink certainly appeared to have been cleaned.
2. The front door that was almost impossible to close. I don't think our room was the exception as I heard other guests slamming their doors several times too.
3. Nearly checking out without having to pay. Upon handing back my room card to the receptionist, I was advized that no further action was required as the room had already been paid for. This did not sound correct, so I asked her to check again. She then confirmed that I did in fact need to pay, although only for one night, as the other was free. I appreciate the free night (although I am not clear why it was free, it may have been a special discount for the Wedding guests), but what would have happened if I had left without paying? Would my card have been charged retroactively without me knowing it?
Overall it was not a bad experience. The wedding was very pleasant and the bride and groom seemed very happy. I understand that they had planned the reception quite closely with the hotel staff, so they are far better placed to review this hotel, but I think the hotel staff deserve some credit for generally making the guests feel comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Expatriate_in_India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColinRAhern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Expatriate_in_India,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our Hotel on Tripadvisor.

Whilst I'm glad that you enjoyed the wedding you attended, in general, I'm disappointed to read of the problems that occurred and I apologise profusely if they took from your stay in any way.

Kind Regards,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.1 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,718 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#5 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,865 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#8 of 18 in Kilkenny
741 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Property: Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Address: Ormonde Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In heart of Kilkenny; stands proudly in the shadows of Kilkenny Castle; beautiful rooms designed/decorated to the highest standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing