We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Weekend” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights this weekend and we were very happy with the hotel! The location is great, the rooms were lovely and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was gorgeous and the pool was nice. The room was a little on the cold side but nothing too bad.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank August1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColinRAhern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear August1988,

I'm really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us in Kilkenny, although I do note your comment about the temperature in the guestroom and I hope it didn't take too much from your stay with us.

Kind Regards,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,585 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    775
    487
    203
    80
    40
See reviews for
392
580
29
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athlone, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

I stayed with my boyfriend and we really enjoyed our stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the rooms were comfortable with large bathroom and were very clean. On the last morning the room was quite cold, I rang reception and a housekeeper was up to the room with a heater within 5 minutes. We had a meal in the restaurant which was very reasonable and everything was very tasty with efficient, friendly waiters. It was lovely to witness how involved the general manager is within the hotel and he was present for the weekend of our stay. I will definitely return to this hotel as it's location is perfect and it is suited to all age groups, located very near some great night spots. Thank you to all the staff, keep up the good work!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrice050979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColinRAhern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Patrice050979,

Thank you for your very kind review and I'm delighted to hear that you both enjoyed your recent stay with us and I hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

This is a very good hotel with friendly staff and clean rooms. The breakfast at the hotel is also very nice. The only reason i have marked this hotel as very good and not excellent is because the pillows on the bed are extremely flat and hard. I was not the only one who thought this because i heard a lady ask for softer pillows. Also a window handle was broken in room 131 so the window doesn't close properly, the handle was left on the window ledge.

Other than this we had a great stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wesleywez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColinRAhern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Wesleywez,

I'm really glad that you enjoyed your recent stay, although i do note your comment about the pillows in your room. I hope that it didn't take too much from your stay.

Kind Regards,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights in january 2014. Room was a little cold upon entry and took a while for it to heat up. Had breakfast both mornings in the hotel which was delicious. The waiter on breakfast both mornings was more than helpful. Hotel was lovely,and the lobby area was so relaxing for a few late night drinks. Took a swim in the swimming pool which we had full use of for free. Will definatly be back to the ormonde

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Grawny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColinRAhern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Grawny,

Thank you for your lovely review and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Stayed in the ormond hotel Kilkenny from 3-5 January 2014 for our wedding anniversary. Beautiful city, lots to do, hotel was in the perfect location. Room was lovely and comfortable, very clean. Staff were very helpfull. Overall we had a great stay and will most definitely be going back. Thank you.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clairesbeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColinRAhern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear Clairesbeauty,

Thank you for your lovely review and we're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Yours in Service,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Family get-together post Christmas.
Stayed in Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel 3rd Jan 2014 and would like to compliment the staff for their attention to detail, attentiveness and friendly approachable manner. We had an absolute great w time, found time for some downtime in the spa and we all thoroughly enjoyed that experience. The food was great, location perfect especially for people who like to shop!. Bedrooms lovely size, no road noise water hot! All in all a great time definitely will be back
Lor H

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorraine h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColinRAhern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear lorraine h,

I'm delighted to read that your and your family and an enjoyable break with us in Kilkenny and I hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mullingar, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

We decided to take a short break pre Christmas, there was mself my wife and our 2 kids aged 7 and 9.
I found the Ormonde hotel in Kilkenny a real treat. The staff were excellent, the rooms were big and very comfortable. The food was excellent, and the hotel is in a great centeral location.
All in all a very enjoyable stay, and one I will repeat.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColinRAhern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Andy H,

Thank you for your very kind review and I'm really glad that you and your family enjoyed your recent stay with us. I hope that we all get the opportunity to welcome you all back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,803 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,778 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Property: Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Address: Ormonde Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In heart of Kilkenny; stands proudly in the shadows of Kilkenny Castle; beautiful rooms designed/decorated to the highest standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing