We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed overnight with friends on a shopping trip - this hotel is perfectly located - less than a minute and you are in the middle of lovely shops / restaurants etc - a little more than a minute and you reach the beautiful castle . The hotel itself is lovely .. Nice communal sitting areas to relax and there is a nice calm quiet atmosphere in this area - perfect for chilling out with a glass of wine or cup of tea. The main bar was livelier and does decent bar food - there's a nice outdoor seating area . The rooms are spacious and comfortable with good linen and spotlessly clean. We ate in savour restaurant - the food was excellent and the service from one lady in particular was very good . At checkout the receptionist was particularly helpful when we asked about family packages which they offer with kids clubs in holiday time etc. we didn't use the leisure centre but intend to next time we stay. Overall I thoroughly recommend this hotel for couples, friends, business and families alike .

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Waterford55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColinRAhern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Waterford55,

Thank you so much for the very kind review and recommendation. I hope you enjoyed shopping in this great City and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Ormonde Hotel again some day soon.

Kind Regards,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,601 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    780
    487
    210
    84
    40
See reviews for
401
582
29
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

Just returned from perfect break in this first class hotel Food service and accommodation was excellent We were upgraded to the bridal suite despite being married for nearly 40 years Would certainly return to stay in this hotel

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColinRAhern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear david i,

I'm really glad that you enjoyed your recent celebratory stay with us and thank you for the very kind review.

Yours in Service,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hummels Wharf, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
99 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

On our 9 day tour of Ireland the Ormonde Hotel in Kilkenny was our second hotel. It is such a beautiful hotel in the heart of Kilkenny. We had dinner in their resturant that evening. The food was great and the atmosphere was wonderful. The view from our room was looking out over the main street which was wonderful. Would highly recommend this hotel if you are in Kilkenny.
Kathy Young
Hummels Wharf, PA

Room Tip: Front rooms have a wonderful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColinRAhern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Kathy Y,

I'm delighted that you enjoyed your recent holiday in Ireland and that you were able to take in our wonderful City of Kilkenny. Thank you for the very kind review and recommendation.

Kind Regards,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Hotel is very well situated, it was great being able to walk (with a 5 year old) with ease to Kilkenny Castle and town.
Restaurant was disappointing, and over priced
Our little one loved the leisure centre
Staff were helpful and accommodating, rooms comfortable
Only complaint is that on Pancake Tuesday pancakes were only available as extra t breakfast much to the surprise of our 5 yr old who was excited over going down to breakfast expecting pancakes. She did delight in the special menu ordered pancakes (at extra cost)

Room Tip: Careful of light coming through dormer windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duck_1861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColinRAhern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Duck_1861,

I’m really glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay, in general, although I do note your comments about the restaurant and pancakes. May I take this opportunity to apologise for any inconvenience caused and I hope that it did not take too much from the rest of your stay.

I hope to welcome you back to our Hotel in the future and look forward to meeting you personally so that I can extend you every courtesy.

Assuring you of my personal service at all times,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Stayed here with our family. The foyer is fantastic as you can come down and relax with the children but not have to sit in a bar setting. It is at the end of the shopping streets of Kilkenny and a short walk from Kilkenny Castle. You would not need a car really - we parked and walked everywhere. The room was very comfortable and breakfast good. Overall a very pleasant experience and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PiranhaIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColinRAhern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear PiranhaIreland,

Thank you for your review and recommendation. I hope to get the opportunity to welcome you to Kilkenny again soon.

Yours in Service,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Recently we had one night to kill in Ireland so we were put up in the Ormonde Hotel in Kilkenny
The room was comfortable but could do with a little updating in the bathroom area, however comfortable.
We had a meal in the hotel that evening, it didn't go to well as the fish I ordered was well over cooked. However the staff were brilliant at sorting out the problem.
take a walk in Kilkenny at night it is buzzing take a trip to the Hole in the Wall pub ( and I do mean hole in the wall) for a brilliant night of music and fun

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank photoman5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColinRAhern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear photoman5,

I’m really glad that you enjoyed your stay, in general, although I do note your comment about your meal. May I take this opportunity to apologise for any inconvenience caused and I hope that it did not take too much from the rest of your stay.

The Hole in the Wall Pub is certainly worth a visit and is only around the corner from the hotel which is a plus!

I hope to welcome you back to our Hotel in the future and look forward to meeting you personally so that I can extend you every courtesy.

Assuring you of my personal service at all times,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Had a fab two-night, girly break! Great location for strolling around the city and so close to all the nightlife. Hotel lobby is gorgeous and staff very friendly. Breakfast was good but not great, not great choice of hot food for a vegetarians. The room was comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColinRAhern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Mary T,

I’m really glad that you enjoyed your stay, in general, although I do note your comment about breakfast. May I take this opportunity to apologise for any inconvenience caused and I hope that it did not take too much from the rest of your stay.

I hope to welcome you back to our Hotel in the future and look forward to meeting you personally so that I can extend you every courtesy.

Assuring you of my personal service at all times,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,829 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,672 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,816 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#8 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Property: Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Address: Ormonde Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In heart of Kilkenny; stands proudly in the shadows of Kilkenny Castle; beautiful rooms designed/decorated to the highest standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing