We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happy Anniversary!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Kilkenny
1 review
“Happy Anniversary!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

My husband and I celebrated our wedding anniversary in the Ormonde Hotel. From the beginning they made our stay special with loads of personal touches in our suite from Andrew, Duty Manager. They did everything possible, including a late checkout, to make our anniversary memorable. All of that combined with the ideal location of the hotel in the city centre and their lovely spa was the icing on the cake. Thank you to you all and we'll see you same time next year!!! Susan and Patrick.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KilkennySusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear KilkennySusan,

Congratulations and thank you for choosing the Ormonde. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much and I will pass on your kind words to Andrew.

I look forward to meeting you personally next year.

Kind Regards,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,585 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    775
    487
    203
    80
    40
See reviews for
392
580
29
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

All good for the price. A little disappointed when checking out at 5.00am that the night porter had no change and could not correct my bill. Staff good. Rooms large. Breakfast good. Didn't eat but it look tempting enough. Discount on car park which is good.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jamessmith66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Jamessmith66,

Whilst I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay, in general, I do note your comment about the billing and I apologise if it took from your stay in anyway. I assure you that we have taken your comments on board and it has been addressed.

Kind Regards,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Only stayed 1 night at the Ormonde. Very nice entrance but the room was average and not 4star. Although clean, room was dated. Night table had old cigarette burn and certainly gives a bad impression.
Bar staff was terrible, not sure they knew what they were doing...maybe regular bartender didn't show. Four of us waited 15 minutes to get served, only 2 others in the room, and had to ask for service. Drinks came, asked for ice and again waited 5 minutes, had to go to bar to get the ice.
Management needs to be more attentive.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OrlandoCork146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear OrlandoCork146,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our Hotel on Tripadvisor.

I appreciate your feedback and have taken everything you say on board. I apologise if our shortcomings took from your visit to Kilkenny in any way and I hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

2 couples staying for 2 nights including evening meal and couldnt fault the hotel. Very Good Overall, Location is brilliant but yet very quiet. Food in the Hotel was very good and Bars and Restaurants around were also very good. Its a fantastic City and if you havent visited yet, you should. Thats hard to say about Kilkenny when i am a Wexford man ha

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ILNAGY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear ILNAGY,

It takes alot for a Wexford man to compliment Kilkenny! Thank you for your very kind words and I'm delighted that you all had a great time with us.

Kind Regards,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We booked recently to see Damien Dempsey and Jack L in the Set Theatre in Kilkenny and were very fortunate to book a most magnificient hotel in Kilkenny for the two nights of the gigs. The Kilkenny Ormonde is one of the best hotels I was ever in. From the moment you step into the foyer which is totally immaculate, you are greeted by the lovely staff on reception and take in the atmosphere , you know you are on a winner! Everything about this hotel is top class. Our room was stylish, comfortable and well maintained. Our breakfasts were second to none and again the staff were so friendly , professional and efficient. The icing on the cake for me was the way in which the staff prepared for a wedding party on that day. The red carpet was laid out and heart shaped candle holders lined the entrance to the hotel. Again inside , was a beautiful display of candles for the couple. Check it out anyone thinking of Kilkenny for their big day!! It was clear from the staff member who was constantly checking the carpet , the level of care the wedding party could expect in the hotel.
We went back on Saturday night after the gig in the Set , as Kilkenny itself was buzzing on that night. The Hotel had live music in the bar and was a great finish to our evening. !! I would also recommend the Hotel Spa and leisure facilities. The Spa has offers on if you feel like treating yourself. Again check it out on the hotel website. I must mention also the central location you enjoy while staying in the Ormonde. You are right in the heart of Kilkenny city , a stones throw from the castle.!!
Looking forward to staying again in the Kilkenny Ormonde and hope this review is helpful.
Deirdre

Room Tip: I have stayed in this hotel twice and both times our room was lovely.Bathrooms too are gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dobsie186605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear dobbsie186605,

Thank you for your very kind words and I'm delighted that you had an enjoyable two nights in our great City. We really appreciate the recommendation.

Yours in Service,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundalk, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

The location makes this an excellent place to stay and explore the city. Parking is just across the road. it has an excellent leisure centre on the premises as well.
The staff, as in nearly all Irish hotels, were great.And the bar food was good and of value.
The only downside was the noise from the band at wedding on both night of our stay. it made it difficult to get to sleep

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fuseen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Fuseen,

I'm really glad that you enjoyed your stay, in general, although I do note your comment about the music and I'm sorry if it took from your stay in any way.

Yours in Service,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Stayed there over a weekend. Staff were very friendly and the hotel couldn't possibly be in a better location. Food in the hotel was excellent and in general the hotel was very clean. Rooms are reasonably priced. Would strongly recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Ben M,

Thank you for your recommendation and I'm delighted to read that you had an enjoyable weekend. I hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,803 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,778 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Property: Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Address: Ormonde Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In heart of Kilkenny; stands proudly in the shadows of Kilkenny Castle; beautiful rooms designed/decorated to the highest standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing