We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Loved this hotel! Fantastic location, right in the heart of the town, within walking distance to pretty much everything!
My room was clean and looked new. Staff is extra friendly and they have great food too!

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank c c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear c c,

I'm delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and thank you for the lovely review.

Yours in service,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    785
    495
    216
    84
    42
See reviews for
405
595
29
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This hotel is by far the best hotel I have ever stayed in such friendly people, beautiful fresh coloured modern rooms. The food was exceptional the waitress and waiter were more than helpful we're falling over us literally, breakfast buffet was terrific all you could possibly eat. Great location close to the nightlife but yet far enough away so you are away from the noise. Overall great spot!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernadette0203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Bernadette0203,

Thank you for your lovely review of our Hotel. I'm delighted that you had such a great time with us and I hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Yours in Service,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is perfectly located for the centre and its attraction. The hotel is generally well maintained although some elements look a little dated. This is especially true of the leisure facilities attached, although the pool is plenty large enough to be able to swim laps.

The quality of the food available at dinner is high and the buffet breakfast is also good. The room size is generous. My stays were mostly issue free.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear John B,

Whilst I'm glad that you enjoyed your recent visits, in general, I do note your comments and I apologise if it took from you stay in any way. I appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback.

Kind Regards,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Carlow, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I would highly recommend this hotel for all ages, the rooms are fab and the staff are very polite and friendly. It's right tin the centre and your 2 min walk from the high street . This was my second time to stay at this hotel and would definitely go back again !!!. Price is very reasonable.
Night life is great , great for shopping and eating out over all great break away for Hen weekend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geraldine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Geraldine P,

Thank you for your kind words and for your custom once again. I'm really glad that you enjoy spending time in our great City and I hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Yours in Service,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My husband and I celebrated our wedding anniversary in the Ormonde Hotel. From the beginning they made our stay special with loads of personal touches in our suite from Andrew, Duty Manager. They did everything possible, including a late checkout, to make our anniversary memorable. All of that combined with the ideal location of the hotel in the city centre and their lovely spa was the icing on the cake. Thank you to you all and we'll see you same time next year!!! Susan and Patrick.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KilkennySusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear KilkennySusan,

Congratulations and thank you for choosing the Ormonde. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much and I will pass on your kind words to Andrew.

I look forward to meeting you personally next year.

Kind Regards,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

All good for the price. A little disappointed when checking out at 5.00am that the night porter had no change and could not correct my bill. Staff good. Rooms large. Breakfast good. Didn't eat but it look tempting enough. Discount on car park which is good.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jamessmith66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Jamessmith66,

Whilst I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay, in general, I do note your comment about the billing and I apologise if it took from your stay in anyway. I assure you that we have taken your comments on board and it has been addressed.

Kind Regards,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Only stayed 1 night at the Ormonde. Very nice entrance but the room was average and not 4star. Although clean, room was dated. Night table had old cigarette burn and certainly gives a bad impression.
Bar staff was terrible, not sure they knew what they were doing...maybe regular bartender didn't show. Four of us waited 15 minutes to get served, only 2 others in the room, and had to ask for service. Drinks came, asked for ice and again waited 5 minutes, had to go to bar to get the ice.
Management needs to be more attentive.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OrlandoCork146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear OrlandoCork146,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our Hotel on Tripadvisor.

I appreciate your feedback and have taken everything you say on board. I apologise if our shortcomings took from your visit to Kilkenny in any way and I hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,866 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,698 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,838 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#9 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Property: Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Address: Ormonde Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In heart of Kilkenny; stands proudly in the shadows of Kilkenny Castle; beautiful rooms designed/decorated to the highest standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing