We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great hotel to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Ormond hotel is a great hotel to stay. It's so central to everything. The staff are very friendly,
and food is great. For a busy hotel . You will enjoy the but around reception.
We really enjoyed our stay. Will differently go back

Room Tip: Lovely hotel. Food great. Within the heart of Kilkenny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank eaegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear eaegan,

Thank you for the very kind review and recommendation. I hope to welcome you back again to the Ormonde Hotel soon.

Yours in Service,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,778)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

818 - 824 of 1,779 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

Great location, right in the centre of everything , you can park the car and walk to shops, bars and restaurants, I found the staff very friendly and and there was a lovely atmosphere about the hotel. The hotel itself was comfortable and modern and the food was very good . Will definatly go back.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deirdre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Deirdre B,

It was great to read that you enjoyed your stay in Kilkenny and that you would return to us in the Ormonde Hotel. Thank you for the very kind review.

Kind Regards,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Good location in the centre of Kilkenny, everything within walking distance. The only negative my husband & I have about the Ormonde hotel is the breakfast is not a tranquil experience. Its like Piccadilly circus. The breakfast room is too small for the volume of people. 10am is too early to close the breakfast service down. A couple next to us went up to get their breakfast & came back to the staff after clearing there table! It was manic.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Siamsa2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Siamsa2014,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor.com. Whilst I'm really glad that you enjoyed your stay in general, I do note your comments about breakfast and I apologise if it took from your stay here in any way.

I hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future, so that I may have the opportunity to restore your confidence in us.

Yours in Service,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Great hotel for a family or quiet get away, right in the centre of the town! Easily to get to if you get the train or drive! Q car park is across the road and it's €5!
The Leisure Club is also a great addition to the facilities when you book! The breakie is fine to and serves up till 10am

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Lee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Lee C,

Thank you for your very kind review and recommendation. I'm really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Brilliant location right in the centre of Kilkenny near to the Castle .You can drive to the front of the hotel and drop your cases off and directly opposite the hotel there is a multi storey secure car park where you can park your car at a reduced rate if you are a guest at the hotel.The hotel was lovely and modern and clean. The room was nice and modern . The staff were friendly . The Irish breakfast was lovely and it was no trouble when we asked for fried eggs instead of scrambled. The waiting staff were efficient and worked really hard to make sure everyone was looked after.There was a health suite which was great to go and relax after a day of sight seeing.The health suite was a bit tired but it was still ok. We Would definitely stay at this hotel again if we visited this area as it was good value for the money we paid.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Loobylou1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Loobylou1963,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel on TripAdvisor. I'm really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Yours in Service,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We just returned from a family break in the Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel. The hotel is in a super location with everything on your doorstep so there is no need for a car. The castle is a very short walk away with a great playground. The kids club was fabulous, they kept the kids entertained throughout our stay. The staff were very friendly and made every attempt to make our stay as enjoyable as possible, nothing was too much trouble. The restaurant / bar menu was very suited for kids, and drawing / activity packs were provided to keep them entertained.
We stayed in one of the executive rooms which was fabulous and had loads of room for a family of four.
All in all a great hotel to stay in and would recommend it for anyone visiting Kilkenny. There is loads to do in Kilkenny and this hotel is the perfect location. While you are on the doorstep of a very lively city, the location is lovely and quiet so you have no trouble sleeping. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Bobby W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Bobby W,

I'm delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay in our Hotel and also took advantage of our great location, to visit much of Kilkenny. Thank you for the recommendation and I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Yours in Service,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

very nice hotel, so near town, we stayed here last year and found the place and staff nice,very helpful, will call back sometime breakfast very good , and evening menue excellent.Recption staff allways kept abig smile .

Room Tip: all rooms are good maybe top floors for quiet time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 854,123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear 854123,

Thank you for returning to the Ormonde and your very kind recommendation. I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.1 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,858 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
1 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#6 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,081 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#4 of 19 in Kilkenny
885 reviews
2 mi away
Lyrath Estate
Lyrath Estate
#7 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Address: Ormonde Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Price Range: £68 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In heart of Kilkenny; stands proudly in the shadows of Kilkenny Castle; beautiful rooms designed/decorated to the highest standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing