We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice time but wouldn't rush back...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Nice time but wouldn't rush back...”
Reviewed 6 December 2008

We had a mid week break here in November with our baby.

Great location within walking distance of everthing. Nice breakfast, plenty of choice and nice helpful staff.
Our room was a good size and clean
KO Spa is very nice and up to date,

We went on a deal which included one evening meal. The meal could only be taken before 7pm and we could only choose from a very limited menu :-(

Our room was really very hot, we turned off the rad and opened the window but we were still melting.

So a nice time but wouldn't rush back.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TAJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    785
    495
    216
    84
    42
See reviews for
405
595
29
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2008

I stayed in the Ormonde for one night with my sister in late October. Firstly, they had no record of our booking, even though my sister had made the booking over the phone and had an email confirming the booking. Then, after having been left waiting in the lobby for 15 minutes, we returned to the reception to remind the woman there that wew were still waiting and she had forgotten all about us. We were told the only room they had available was a smoking room so we had no choice but to take it. We were not given any directions to our room and the woman had gone on to the next customer and we didn't want to interrupt so we found it ourselves.

The room did have a pretty strong smell of smoke when we walked in at first although it wasn't as bad after a while. The facilities in the room are fine, although the bathrooms are fairly small for a 4* hotel. The decor is fine if a bit bland.

The next morning we had to wait about 20 minutes to be allowed into the breakfast room as it was so busy. I didn't mind waiting a few minutes but 20 was a bit much. The breakfast was nice but I have had nicer in many other 4* hotels.

Also, we went to the KO Spa which is part of the hotel- it was nice but the main problem was that the girls there rushed us a lot to get changed and go from one room to another, which wasn't exactly relaxing and defeats the purpose of a spa break. Treatments were good though.

All in all, the Ormonde majorly has to brush up on its customer service. I have heard from local Kilkenny people that it is possibly seeking 5* status, but there is no way it could achieve that as it is currently.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Customer service- awful!!
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Ollchailin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2008

It has been my pleasure to stay at the Ormonde Hotel Kilkenny on three seperate visits, I have found the Hotel to be excellent with very friendly and helpfull staff; excellent food and the rooms clean and spacious. I wish that I could say the same about UK hotels, those of which I have stayed in offer overpriced accomodation and food along with unhelpfull staff. Keep up the good work Ormonde

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank brutontraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
Reviewed 7 October 2008

We stayed in the Ormonde for 2 nights recently on the 03&04 October 2008. The hotel is in a good location for town and most of the attractions in the area. The reception staff where friendly and helpful however there were a few issues that made the stay less pleasant than it should have been. Our room was dark with a view of the car park. There was no drinking water in the room other than that in the mimi bar and no mini bar price list available. There was pealing paint flaking off above our shower. We both felt cold in the room and when calling reception where told that the heating was not on, this was October in Ireland after all. The restaurant staff were very friendly but the food was dissapointing, watch out for extra charges that accompany some items on the menu. We ordered a room serivce breakfast which arrived with someone elses food choices and room number crossed out with ours written over, you pay an additional €6.35 per person for the breakfast in bed. The health club was clean and functional and staff friendly I have to say. Overall this stay did not offer any of the luxury that you would associate with a modern 4 star hotel, is was functional at best and the attention to detail was clearly lacking.

  • Liked — Friendly Staff
  • Disliked — Lack of attention to detail
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Beam_me_up_Sc0tty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick
1 review
Reviewed 22 September 2008

Perhaps my best experience in a hotel in Ireland; I have unfortunately not encoutered better service and friendliness in a 4star hotel in this country. Of particular mention would be waiter Steven and Emma at reception. Steven organized halal food to be delivered to the hotel after their restaurant was closed, while Emma arranged for breakfast to be delivered to the room at 5am as we were fasting. It was only marred by our second day in the hotel when a communication error between staff resulted in breakfast not being delivered for our morning meal in time. That could've been a big problem if we did not have leftovers from the day before. The staff incharge of room service apologized though for the mix-up.

  • Liked — Service and friendliness of staff
  • Disliked — The view from our room
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank docm3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2008

We stayed at this hotel for a weekend break.
The hotel is perfectly located in the centre of the city within walking distance to everything. We ate in the hotel on Friday night as it was part of the package. They have two restaurants - a steakhouse and Savour which is a bit more formal. We opted for Savour and the meal was very nice. The only thing I would say is the restaurant was very and lacked atmosphere. The staff were very friendly.
The breakfast was good with lots of variety.
We were on the 4th floor which it says are the executive rooms - nice rooms but I would have been a bit disappointed if I had paid extra for an executive room! The bar was quite lively both nights and the foyer seemed to be very comfortable for people with children to sit in at night when it was too late for the bar.
My husband and I both had massages in the KO Spa in the hotel which were very nice. One little tip for the girls in the spa - dont call people so loudly from the relaxation room. The pool is large and the jacuzzi, sauna & steamroom all very good.
All in all, I would stay here again if in Kilkenny.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Only one lift goes to the 4th floor
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen-Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin, ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2008

Stayed there for two nights in June. Rooms spacious, staff friendly. Swimming pool, sauna, steam room and gym available in the hotel. Spa also available though we did not avail of this. Located in the heat of kilkenny near the castle in walking distance of just about everything. We ate in the hotel steak house in the hotel one of the nights, the service here was poo and the food was below average. The second night we ate in a nearby famous restaurant Rinnochini's which I highly recommend.

  • Liked — Location and rooms
  • Disliked — food in the hotels steakhouse
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irelandsown88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,864 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,698 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,838 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#9 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Property: Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Address: Ormonde Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In heart of Kilkenny; stands proudly in the shadows of Kilkenny Castle; beautiful rooms designed/decorated to the highest standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing