We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just back after great stay in Ormonde”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just back after great stay in Ormonde”
Reviewed 20 August 2009

I stayed in the Ormande last weekend and am stunned by the earlier reviews. We had stayed in 3 hotels over the course of a week, ending in Kilkenny and this hotel was the best out of the 3. We had a quiet room away from noise. I did request this as I am pregnant and have a 5 yr old so go to bed early. I am very fussy but had no issues at all with the hotel. I found the staff to be extremely nice and helpfull. The restaurant was run very efficently and the food was great. We had about a 5 min wait for breakfast one morning but that was it. We were on a Supervalu breakaway deal and found it be great value. The only quibble was the heat in the room. I was on the 3rd floor and no breeze came in. I requested a fan the next day and one was delivered to my room. Problem solved. Also one thing to note. If you want to book spa treatments in KO, do so a couple of weeks in advance. They were totally booked up for the weekend we were there. With regard to Internet, we were given a cable to pulg in laptop and the speed was good. I will definitely visit this hotel again!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dizer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,689 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    816
    513
    228
    90
    42
See reviews for
423
621
30
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
roscommon
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2009

this hotel definately did not stand upto a 4* hotel. we were woken in the early hours of the morning with noise outside and closing the windows didnt help as they were coming off the hinges, not very child proof when u have a 4 yr. old with you. the breakfast left nothing to be desired it seems the leftovers are brought forward to the following morning! the proof was in the sausages. we had dinner in the steak house restraunt as part of our supervalu break deal which was very poor. the fresh fruit dessert in which my husband ordered looked as if someone had been eating at it previously with teeth marks in the apple. overall the worst hotel break of my life. very dissapointed and we wonder why people opt to go abroad.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emilyRoscommon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
Reviewed 3 August 2009

Arrived at 1600, no rooms ready so had to wait for over half an hour for a room. When we were eventually given a room it had another person's belongings in it, when I brought this to the receptionist's attention she simply asked if the room was clean!!

We were then allocated a room and had the worst sleep ever because of the drunks in Kilkenny fighting outside our window at 4am. We were on the second floor but the sound proofing is non-existent due to the catches on the windows all being damaged.

We slept so badly that we decided to order breakfast to the room the following morning. The wrong breakfast arrived with a very hassled porter who then gruffly ordered me to hold the door open for him whilst he tried to locate our breakfast! He arrived about 5 minutes later with our breakfast, minus the cereal that we ordered!

We then went for dinner that night in the hotel and my wife actually found a long piece of metal in her dessert, we complained and the waiter only offered us a free drink, that was it.

We then proceeded to have another sleepless night whilst the drunks outside the window actually howled all night.

When you arrive for breakfast in the morning your told to wait out in the lobby until a place is ready, there's signs up saying you may have a 40min wait.

This hotel is meant to be a 4 star hotel but it's more reminiscent of Fawlty Towers.

We later found a complimentary bottle of wine in our room with a note saying 'Please EXCEPT this bottle of wine.....'...spelling obviously also not a strong point.

To top things off tourists during the day have to step over the traces of vomit on the street in Kilkenny from the night before.

The hotel also boasts WIFI but in reality the signal in the rooms is so weak that you have to use it in the lobby.

AVOID THIS HOTEL!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wtrodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ottawa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2009

This stay was part of a Globus tour .The hotel is located within walking minutes of the main attractions of Kilkenny . Its excellent location allows you to see all the sites without the need for public transpo or a car/taxi .

The hotel is modern in design yet blends in with the surrounding neighborhood

The lobby is large ,attractive ,well illuminated and functional .The bar has very large comfortable leather sofas, It is large ,bright ,airy and is competently staffed .A good selection of spirits are available .The front desk at check in time was staffed by very friendly and helpful ladies who were quite eager in directing us to the sites of the city .

The room was large .It had a flat screen TV with enough channels to satisfy
everyone .The bathroom had a shower /tub combo .Good water pressure .Good lighting .
The bed and pillows were very comfortable . The windows opened to the outside .
Lots of outlets to recharge cameras, laptops, etc,

The dinner at the hotel restaurant was served by very friendly young waiters who ensured that all of us were properly cared for with a smile .The restaurant was full to capacity so they were very busy but they kept their heads about them and everything went smoothly . The waiters well organized and kept their orders straight . The food was appetizing and expertly prepared .
No one had a complaint about the service .We all enjoyed the staff .
The breakfast was adequate and satisfying .It consisted of a good variety of the usual breakfast selections .I am sure that if something was missing that you wanted you would only need to ask to see if it was available .

The internet room rate was averaging 95USD per night at the time of our stay and this was within the parameters of expectancy for the services offered by this category of hotel .
Thus the value was consistent with the service .

The staff on duty during our stay were excellent .Any problems experienced by our group were immediately attended to I was told .The manager Mr Walsh runs an efficient hotel .If was to return to Ireland I would use this hotel again

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beavertails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2009

from entering the hotel we got a great respond from staff they were all friendly, especially john at reception , the rooms were very spacious and the beds were to die for :)
the food in the Restautrant was out of this world couldnt fault it . Night Porter was so friendly and so were housing keeping , i would recommend this hotel to any one ,its only a 5 min walk to all the pubs & castle .if your looking for a good hotel this is the one to book.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank murtydil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2009

Stayed here last weekend for The Carlsberg Cats laughs festival .Hotel is great .Decent size rooms , central location , lovely bar , great restaurant , and not expensive .Plus staff were really friendly and helpful .Would go again .

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fhl_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2009

We stayed two night in April 2009. The hotel has a good location in central Kilkenny within an easy walk of most anything you'd care to do in town. Note that Ormande street is easy to miss - especially at the south end - so study your map carefully. The hotel has good parking in the structure across the street.

The staff was friendly but a bit harried as the hotel was filling up for the Easter weekend. Breakfast is basic but good. The rooms were standard for a business hotel. There is a very nice fitness center with pool connected to the hotel.

This would be a good hotel for vacationing families.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danb208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.1 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,760 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#5 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,926 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#8 of 19 in Kilkenny
766 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Property: Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Address: Ormonde Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In heart of Kilkenny; stands proudly in the shadows of Kilkenny Castle; beautiful rooms designed/decorated to the highest standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing