We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 10 March 2010

My husband and i had a 2 night break at the hotel Ormonde in Feb 2010. We cannot fault anything about our stay, The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel was in a good location. The food was excellent in the hotel. We hope to go back and stay again next year.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sumpta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2010
Dear Sumpta,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review of our hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay here and thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff and food.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Yours in Service,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    795
    503
    224
    87
    42
See reviews for
412
606
30
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wexford
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2010

Recently stayed in the Ormonde Hotel In Kilkenny for a short break.

Hotel was very nice, very well furnished overall. Everything was kept in prime condition - hotel has been well maintained.

Food - We had some bad experiences with our breakfast on 1st morning when we were given a freezing cold pot of tea and burnt toast. However, once we pointed it out waitress made sure to refill and made sure on every subsequent morning tha everything was to our satisfaction. Dinner in dining room was very good quality and I really enjoyed it but more variation each night would be better. Menu was the same standard every night in general. Still, food was good quality and service exceptional. Staff were very nice and helpful.

Room- Very nice and internet facility very useful.

Leisure Facilities - Great gym and swimming pool, top class.
Great SPA - my family member tried this out and really enjoyed it. Some of the treatments were good value as well.

Overall
Good - Great Location (2 mins away from castle), food quality, staff, cleanliness

Bad - Lack of Variety on Menu in Dining Room, No working fridge in room

Conclusion- Great Hotel in general.

Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank jck2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2010
Dear jck2003,

Thank you for posting your review of our hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am always delighted to receive feedback as it is the best way for us to improve the service we offer.

I have passed your comments regarding the menu variety to the kitchen team and i hope that it did not take to much away from the other positive aspects of your stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aussie in Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2010

On arriving at the hotel the receptionist could not find our booking which was booked through the internet. She stopped looking and attended to other people who arrived for check in. She eventually found it (out the back office). Only one receptionist working for a busy hotel. The room was at the end of the corridor on the first floor and was nice and clean and the facilities lovely. We were woken during the night (twice) with loud crashing that we think came from the side of the hotel where the service area is. On both occasions we rang the reception to notify them and they did a "walk" around and said they could hear nothing! The third time we were disturbed at 4am was when the "Hens" girls went to their room yelling and laughing! This would have to have been the worst hotel ever i have "slept" in. Not a hotel to go to if you actually want to get what you pay for - a good nights sleep!!. Our car in the car park across the road i am sure was disturbed less (it was included in the price of the hotel) At check out our bill was deducted by 50 euros by management without asking for it. Never again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Liked — Central
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieinIrelandAlfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2010
Dear AussieinIrelandAlfa,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

I was very disappointed to hear of your experience and although Kilkenny is a very lively city at the weekends, in particular, the least you can expect is a good nights sleep. May i take this opportunity to apologise to you for the poor level of service you encountered.

If you are in Kilkenny in the future I would be delighted if you would contact me personally so that I may have the opportunity to show you every courtesy and the real Ormonde experience.

Kind regards,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2010

We had a pleasant stay at this Hotel, the rooms were nice, the food in the restaurant was poor. The only thing that spoiled our experience was the rude receptionist who should not be in any position where she has to deal with customers.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Galmoy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2010
Dear Raylynch81,

I acknowledge your recent stay at the Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel on our very popular Girlie Package and thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your review on TripAdvisor.

Customer care is of paramount importance to me and this is simply unacceptable. I cannot offer any excuses to you if we failed at what I believe we do best. May I apologise profusely to you for the behaviour of that particular staff member and assure you that i have spoken in lenght with them.

Finally, Raylynch81, I regret that you have formed a poor impression of our Hotel, although I am glad you found the rooms comfortable. I am confident, however, that your this experinece of our staff is not the norm. I would be delighted that if you are returning to Kilkenny that you could see fit to stay in the Ormonde Hotel again so that I may have the opportunity to restore your confidence in us. Please contact me personally so that I can extend you every courtesy.

Yours in Service,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gleoite
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2010

My fiance and I have just spent a great weekend in Kilkenny, based at the Ormonde hotel and all the better for that. We really enjoyed the food and were especially pleased with the sparkling, comfortable rooms. Staff were extremely friendly and the spa treatments and leisure centre were very impressive. We will be back.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gleoite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2010
Dear Gleoite,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review of our hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay here over valentines weekend, in particular the food and the leisure facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2010

I had previously stayed in this hotel in Oct 09 & found it wonderful. All staff so friendly & food fabulous & our spa treatments heavenly. So I booked myself & 2 friends for the girlie breakaway for one night at 115 euro each which was b&b, tester massage, glass of champagne & dinner. However I was so disappointed with this stay, we felt very rushed having our massages in the spa, the restaurant was fully booked so we ate in the steak house, we were given the wrong menu's so we had to reorder. We never received our free champagne upon arrival nor was it offered at any other stage of our stay. We had to wait over 20mins to check out that morning only one receptionist on, she did however apologise for the delay. The hotel was very busy that weekend (30th Jan) but it was also just as busy when i stayed during the October Bank Holiday weekend where I had no faults. Came away a little disappointed as I'd given the hotel such a good review to my friends.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrishLassIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2010
Dear IrishLassIreland,

I acknowledge your recent stay at the Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel on our very popular Girlie Package and thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your review on TripAdvisor.

Customer care is of paramount importance to me and I cannot offer any excuses to you if we failed at what I believe we do best. May I apologise profusely to you and your friends as it is simply unnacceptable for you not to receive your bubbly and I assure you that have spoken about your comments to the team in the KO Spa and on the front desk.

Finally, IrishLassIreland, I regret that you have formed a poor impression of our Hotel. I am confident, however, that your first experience of this hotel is the norm. I would be delighted that if you are returning to Kilkenny that you could see fit to stay in the Ormonde Hotel again so that I may have the opportunity to restore your confidence in us. Please contact me personally so that I can extend you every courtesy.

Yours in Service,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pixie1411
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 February 2010

I stayed at this hotel with 2 girlfriends last weekend and am surprised by glowing reviews as we had several complaints with this hotel. Firstly we booked the getaway package, €149 pps for 2 nights with one meal included. Not the cheapest in this climate so we expected alot and unfortunately were disappointed. Firstly we weretold we didnt need to book the inclusive meal. When we got to the hotel we enquired again and the restaurant is closed on Sunday nights which we werent told and it was booked out on Saturday night. We had to settle for the steakhouse. The package menu was very poor, no choice and wasnt the meal we had wanted. My friends salad for starter had brown wilted lettuce and some cheese on op and was clased a Caesar salad. My other friends sirloin steak was very poor and she couldnt eat it. We were overall very unhappy as we felt short changed for the meal and the fact they didnt tell us the restaurant was closed compounded this. The leisure centre wasnt great either. The spa was closed when we got there on the Saturday, was only open to appointments on Sunday, so we couldnt book in there either or use their leisure facilities. Rooms look alot nicer in pictures then in person. They were clean but the beds were really uncomfortable, I couldnt sleep either night we were there. On the plus side the bar staff were absoloutely lovely, very courteous and accomodating. The location was very central too.

We were really disappointed with this hotel. I feel we paid them alot of money between us and didnt get value for it. There are plenty of hotels in Kilkenny offering similar packages and I would really encourage people to shop around before going with this one.

On a separate note if your going to Kilkenny, Matt the Millers is a great spot, nice food, great staff and atmosphere, they have a live band and are open until 2am on Monday nights if your doing a midweek break. Morrisseys is a good spot for Sunday nights, its between the Hibernian hotel and the Ormonde hotel. The Left Bank is a good spot too.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pixie1411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2010
Dear pixie1411,

I acknowledge your recent stay at the Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel and thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your review on TripAdvisor.

To say I was disappointed to read your comments is an understatement. Customer care is of paramount importance to me and I cannot offer any excuses to you if we failed at what I believe we do best. May I apologise profusely to you and your party and assure you that I have addressed all the issues you have raised.

On a more positive note, i appreciate your kind and balanced comments regarding our bar staff and location which is second to none in Kilkenny.

Finally, pixie1411, I regret that you have formed a poor impression of our Hotel. I am confident, however, that your experiences are isolated. I would be delighted that, if you are returning to Kilkenny, you could see fit to stay in the Ormonde Hotel again so that I may have the opportunity to restore your confidence in us. Please contact me personally so that I can extend you every courtesy.

Yours in Service,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.1 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,718 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#5 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,866 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#8 of 18 in Kilkenny
742 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Property: Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Address: Ormonde Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In heart of Kilkenny; stands proudly in the shadows of Kilkenny Castle; beautiful rooms designed/decorated to the highest standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing