We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will definately be back!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Will definately be back!!”
Reviewed 25 February 2011

Had a wonderful weekend staying here- staff were so friendly and helpful, food was gorgeous, the location of the hotel was perfect! Cant give enough praise. Looking forward to going again!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roxy2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2011
Dear roxy2011,

Thank you for posting your review of our Hotel on Tripadvisor.com

I'm glad that we ticked all the boxes for you and I look forward to your next visit to Kilkenny and the Ormonde Hotel.

Yours in Service,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,683 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    813
    511
    228
    89
    42
See reviews for
422
619
30
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
co wexford
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2011

Stayed here on a 1 night spa break recently , The hotel has a fantastic location only a few minutes walk from the main shopping streets. Had dinner which was absolutely gorgeous , staff were very friendly in the hotel and the spa .rooms are a bit old fashioned but are spotless .Have stayed here many times, and honestly would have no problem returning .

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margaretcowexford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2011
Dear margaretcowexford,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the Ormonde Hotel on Tripadvisor.com.

We really appreciate your comments and regular patronage. I look forward to welcoming you back in the not to distant future.

Yours in Service,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2011

Stayed here for a couple of nights with my partner and will definately be back. We got a great offer to include dinner on one evening, menus was a little limited but the food was really good. The big plus for this hotel is the friendly staff and it's excellent location.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HSmith777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2011
Dear HSmith777,

Thank you for your review of our Hotel. Our location, food and friendly Team are our strenghts and I'm delighted that you left with a positive memory of our wonderful City.

Keep spreading the good news and I hope to welcome you back to the Ormonde soon.

Yours in Service,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2011

I brought a group of 23 women to the hotel to break our journey between Kinsale and Dublin. As the coach approached the hotel entrance, we noticed they had rolled out the red carpet for us...err ummm uh... for a wedding! Although it was nice to walk the red carpet, the noise from the wedding reception in the hotel later that night kept some of the ladies awake (I heard nothing). The next morning we had breakfast, which was an average buffet, and left. In 24 hours, this hotel really didn't show us its personality: the lobby was gorgeous, the rooms perfectly serviceable, the staff polite. So hardly fair to say too much.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BridiesIrishFaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2011
Dear BridiesIrishFaire,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of the Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel on Tripadvisor.com.

I'm disappointed you didn't discover our personality during your short stay and the fact that any of your party was disturbed by some of our other guests. Please accept my sincere apologies for any upset that was caused.

On a more positive note, I apprecaite your kind comments about our facilites and friendly staff. I hope to welcome you back to Kilkenny and the Ormonde again and please contact me personally so that I can extend you every courtesy.

Yours in Service,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 6 February 2011

Stayed at the Ormonde on a Sat night in Jan- the hotel was extremly busy with a large function on, despite having no booking for dinner the extremly helpful staff fitted us in and the food was fantastic, lovely friedly staff all round from the welcome on arrival. Nice leisure facilites for a city centre hotel, with just over an hour drive back to dublin it was a great spot for a break,

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lemsip97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2011
Dear lemsip97,

Thank you for posting your review of our hotel. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay and our facilities.

Kilkenny is a wonderful place for a short break and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Ormonde soon.

Yours in Service,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 30 January 2011

Myself and my two friends stayed here for one night. The room was very nice and spacious. The leisure centre was also pleasant. My only complaints are the bedrooms being far too warm and when we checked out we were not asked if everything was ok during our stay. Having to pay for parking should also have been told to use when we were booking the room as you have to pay 5 euro per night to park in the car park next to the hotel. Besides these small complaints it is a fantastic location and if I was to return I would stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynnabell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2011
Dear Lynnabell,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our Hotel on Tripadvisor.

I'm delighted that you would return to us and I apologise sincerely if we did not exceed your expectations on this occasion. I assure you that we will on your return.

The car-parking opposite the hotel offers secure, city centre, unlimited 24 hour access to any guest of our hotel for €5, which I believe is great value. That said, you should have been made aware of this when booking the room. With regard to the warmth of the bedroom, the unprecidented weather we experienced in January did give us some challenges which, to a large extent, we managed.

Finally, I look forward to welcoming you back and please feel free to contact me personally so that I may extend you every courtesy.

Yours in Service,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 26 January 2011

A dissapointing trip . As this hotel was recommended to us we were looking forward to our stay. But unfortunately we were let down by it. Our room was filthy, there was hairs in the sink , cobwebs on the ceiling , dust on the pedestal of the table and there was ash on the window sill, left by an other guest. The room had obviously not been cleaned after the previous guest vacated. A 4 star hotel i think not. :(

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2011
Dear Patty145,

Thank you for posting your review our hotel on tripadvisor.

I am aware that your review relates to the experience of one of your colleagues and I appreciate the fact that this guest took my call recently. I would like take the opportunity to reitereate my sincere apologies to you and your friends.

I have passed your comments onto my accommodation team and rest assured that this was very much an isolated incident.

I hope that you could see fit to visit us again so that I may have the opportunity to restore your confidence in us and extend you every courtesy.

Kind Regards,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.1 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,755 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#5 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,914 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#8 of 19 in Kilkenny
761 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Property: Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Address: Ormonde Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In heart of Kilkenny; stands proudly in the shadows of Kilkenny Castle; beautiful rooms designed/decorated to the highest standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing