We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!!!”
Review of Hotel Kilkenny

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Kilkenny
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Great!!!”
Reviewed 25 March 2011

Really enjoyed our stay here! Modern hotel, great rooms, and wonderful service. We ate twice in the restaurant and the food was excellent! About a 10 min walk to the castle and downtown area. I highly recommend this hotel. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newt26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,894 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    886
    584
    270
    102
    52
See reviews for
412
880
51
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2011

We booked a 2 night stay, b&b basis with 1 evening meal. As my husband wasn't joining us for 1 night, the price was reduced which was great. When we arrived I discovered that the children were entitled to go in and out of the kidsclub for the weekend at no extra cost and they could eat their dinner with the kidsclub in the hotel (a 3 course meal) for no charge which was fantastic! The room was fine, clean & bright. The hotel appeared newly refurbished, bland & modern but the grounds are lovely. It is perfectly situated in Kilkenny, the road is quiet but it is very close to the centre. Our dinner was very nice, 3 courses included, all of a high standard. I thought the leisure facilities could have been better. No children allowed in the pool before 9.30am even though it opens at 7am. The breakfast finishes at 10am so no chance for them to have a swim and work up an appetite for it. As children are early risers I felt this was unfair to deny families the opportunity to use the facility before they set off for the day. Also there was no lifeguard present at any time when we visited the pool & on each occasion I had to ask bigger children to stop running & jumping into the toddler pool as I was afraid my 2 small children would be injured. Apart from this I would recommend Hotel Kilkenny.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dinosaurmamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2011

Great Hotel .Hotel Staff were great .Good location. Breakfast excellent

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aspen13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 21 March 2011

We stayed in this hotel for a two night stay including dinner. From the moment we arrived the staff were so welcoming and friendly. They really could not do enough for us.
The rooms were spotless and the beds were super comfortable.
The lesiure facilities were execellent, with a large pool area, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi, as well as a full gym with all the latest excerise equiptment.
Breakfeast in the restaurant was extremely well presented with a wide selection of fruits, cereals, juices, breads etc. it was great to have your food cooked to order as it arrives hot, as opposed to other hotels I have stayed where the food is left in hot trays, that are never actually hot!!
I can highly recommend the restaurant, the food was wonderful and the menu offered a varied selection to suit all tastes.
The location of the hotel is very good, it is about a ten minute stroll along college road to the centre of town, where there are so many shops and bars to choose from. Brilliant because you dont have to experience all the noise and traffic a city centre hotel would bring!!!
I will most definitely be returning to this hotel again on my next visit to kilkenny!!
A very special thank you to Niamh & Alan in reception for all their help!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank savvytraveller186600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bray, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2011

My wife and I stayed here on a Saturday night. Our rooms was nice and airy. The staff were pleasant. It's about a 10 minute stroll from the city centre. Our room was located next to the ring road so the noise coming from the traffic was an issue. Also, due the design of the hotel, the 3rd floor is a long uninterrupted line of doors. The doors make a lot of noise when the bang shut. So in all found it a bit hard to sleep. Check in at 4pm - c'mon hire some staff. Good price though.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thebigfella2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mullingar
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 March 2011

Hotel Kilkenny was a wonderful place to stay with our two children, age 4 and 7. They were in the kids club in the morning time, having a great time (while we were sightseeing and shopping) and again in the evening, letting us have a lovely meal in the restaurant (the food was delicious). Staff were all super-friendly. Very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MullingarAva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enniscorthy, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 9 March 2011

stayed a saturday night in the hotel, staff on arrival friendly and helpful, rooms were lovely and clean and very modern. the website info was very accurate about the accommadation. we had dinner in the bar Pure, beautiful food and live music, good atmosphere. we did not avail of the leisure centre. great stay would go back again. close to city centre

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enniscorthygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotekilkenny, Group Operations Director at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, 14 March 2011
Dear Guest,
would like to thank you for posting your comments on TripAdvisor.
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, I will ensure that your kind comments are passed onto my Team here at Hotel Kilkenny.
I look forward to welcoming you back to us again very soon

Kind regards
Michael Griffin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
1.6 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,861 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,716 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,646 reviews
0.9 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kilkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kilkenny

Property: Hotel Kilkenny
Address: College Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#6 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#7 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kilkenny 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Hotel Kilkenny with 138 bedrooms is less than 10 min walk from the City Centre. Free ultrafast wireless broadband in public spaces. Facilities include: 20m swimming pool, superb gym, beauty lodge, onsite hair salon, in door golf swim analysis room and superb kids club. Live music three nights a week in Pure Bar. State of the art conference and wedding facilities. Free car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Kilkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Kilkenny
Kilkenny Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing