We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with excellent facilities”
Review of Hotel Kilkenny

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Kilkenny
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2011

My wife and I have stayed in this hotel 4/5 times now when we visit friends in Kilkenny, we are from Newcastle, England. It is just a 5 min walk to their house so very convenient. The hotel has all the facilities you would ever need including spa and leisure complex with pool. The rooms are a good standard and the deluxe rooms fantastic. The food is of a good standard and the bar meals a welcome option to the dining room. Staff are always friendly and helpful in our experience. There are lots of options for sitting around in the bar, the terrace, the reception area etc. This stay we had free live entertainment in the bar in the evenings. Can thoroughly recommend the Hotel Kilkenny.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AzzyBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,033)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,741 - 1,747 of 2,033 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2011

Lovely hotel with clean, nicely decorated rooms. Leisure centre is a real plus. However the restraunt was awful! Had an evening meal as it was included in the package but if we had been expected to pay for it I simply would'nt have. Menu was impessive but set the food itself for a great fall. Seemed like alot the food was cooked from frozen. Staff didn't seem to have any training. Breakfast did'nt fare much better.

As I said the leisure facilities were excellent, but some of the grounds were a little shabby.

Also rooms were very warm with no air conditioning so somethinng to bear in mind during the summer.

So a nice hotel and a good base to explore the city- only a 10 min walk thats quite safe, but eat elsewhere!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misssunshine96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

I cannot recommend this hotel enough. It was spotless, the leisure fasilities was fab, and nice and quiet in the morning time, the staff were very helpful. Breakfast was lovely. Def do not pass this hotel and I got a very good coperate rate so it worked out excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Smokers-patio door opening to garden on floor 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank obdue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2011

Dear Guest,
Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments on our TripAdvisor site.
Its great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you feel we offer great value for money without compromising on our standards.
We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon
The Team at Hotel Kilkenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

We only stayed for one night in the hotel was pleasantly surprised upon arrival the lobby is gorgeous really well decorated looked like a 4 star hotel. We stayed in the executive double which was 100 euro a night for the both of us. I thought this was great since I've stayed in dearer hotels for a lot more basic rooms. We arrived to fresh fruit, water and bathrobes. The bathroom was a good size nice bath and a great shower not the crap ones that you find in some hotels.

We also had a balcony which was nice view looked onto a building site unfortunately but still was nice to have. Milk was sour in the room when we went to make tea but reception send up fresh milk within minutes. Had lunch in the bar the next day, very nice and had room service for breakfast which was spot on time and even got a phone call to let us know it was on it way.

2 minute drive into the city. Definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pigeonpop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2011

Dear Guests,
Many thanks for your great comments and we are very happy your enjoyed your stay with us. My apologies with regards to the sour milk and I will ensure that the Accommodation Team are made aware of your comments.
We look forward to welcoming you back to us again very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

Located a short walk from Kilkenny town where there's lots of small shops, pubs & restaurants. A good base for a longer stay & touring the area. Music in the bar most evenings. Only a few people eating in the bar when we were there, others in the main restaurant but this was a little pricey.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hildenley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2011

Dear Guest,
I would to thank you for taking the time to post your comments, the live Music is on 5 nights every week and its something that everyone seems to enjoy. With regards to the cost for dinner, we do have a choice of 2 courses from our Restaurant Menu which only costs €25 per person. I am very sorry if someone didn't make you aware of this.
Should you be returning to Kilkenny in the future - please ensure you give us a call as we would love to welcoming you back again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

My sisters and I arrived for 2 nights on the June bank holiday weekend for a relaxing break before a hen night. We were really looking forward to it but it was disappointing from start to finish. While it wasn't overly expensive and the hotel itself was clean, the hotel was clearly understaffed on what would be one of Kilkenny's busiest weekends.

On arrival we went to the bar for a drink as it was a gorgeous sunny day and the bar staff were clearing up from a pre-dinner wedding party. We stood and waited to be served and after a couple of minutes the barman snapped and told us to wait outside until they were finished cleaning up. Not a good start and it definitely set the tone for the rest of the weekend.

Breakfast the following morning was ok but not a buffet which I would have preferred and the portions for the Full Irish were a bit stingy - only 1 sausage and 1 rasher!! Also very slow service and staff that didn't seem to know what was on the menu (an American couple beside us ordered the Huevos Rancheros and the girl serving had to check the menu as she didn't know what he was talking about).

Dinner that night was beyond bad. We waited about 45 mins for our starter which was weird to say the least and it was another 50 mins before our mains arrived and by that point we could hardly eat it. They all tasted like they had been heated in a microwave. I had the cod/hake combo which I was really looking forward to but it was rubbery and tasteless. The desserts then were not as described and the Creme Brulee tasted like scrambled egg. While I appreciate that it was a busy weekend there is never an excuse for anything as poor as we were served that night. The staff were doing their best but kept having to apologise for delays and using the excuse that they were "very busy" - again, not an acceptable excuse.

Also there was no air conditioning in our room which was like a sauna as it was the hottest weekend of the year so none of us had a great sleep. The final straw came the follwing morning with a 45 minute wait to be seated for breakfast - probably because their policy is to stop serving breakfast at 10 so naturally everyone comes down at the same time!! We got no apology for the delay. At that point we just wanted to get out so we checked out early - for which there was no queue - hooray! One of the managers checked me out and she didn't even ask if I enjoyed my stay and once again I was left dumbfounded.
I'm sure this doesn't happen all the time but if the same sort of thing happens on all of their busy weekends then I would say avoid like the plague. We love Kilkenny though its a great place and if you are looking for somewhere good to eat in Kilkenny try Sol Bistro on William Street. We ate there on the Friday night and it was fantastic.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EssyN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2011

Dear Guest,
We are very disappointed to hear that you didn't enjoy your break with us at Hotel Kilkenny over a month ago which was the June Bank Holiday Weekend.
The Cat Laughs Festival is one that everyone including ourselves looks forward to each year however we do try when possible to ensure that all guests that book into the Hotel are aware of the Festival and how loud, busy and exciting the weekend can be.
As we host high profile shows over that weekend we do tend to get very busy in both our bars and restaurants however this should not hamper the standard of our food and your comments re dinner will certainly be passed onto our Head Chef.
We do also mention to everyone that breakfast can get very busy and we do place notices in our lifts to make our guests aware of this.
We appreciate your comments however I would suggest that should you have passed your comments onto any of the Duty Managers during your stay we would have been able to rectify your concerns and maybe you would have enjoyed your weekend away a little more.
Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

We were passing through, thought we would stay one night. We extended to two nights, and if we had the time we would have stayed longer. The room and bathroom were clean, and large. The staff were great and the service was excellent. The bed was very comfortable. The food was also excellent. Easy walking distance into town centre. The atmosphere made us want to stay very much longer, but due to travel comitments we had to move on. Have been travelling UK and Ireland for 6 weeks and this is the best hotel we have stayed in..Also had free WI-FI.and parking.

Room Tip: Mostly it pure luck, complain if you are not happ.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank novavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
1.6 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,977 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.6 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,742 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
#13 of 19 in Kilkenny
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kilkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kilkenny

Address: College Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#6 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#7 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range: £58 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kilkenny 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Hotel Kilkenny with 138 bedrooms is less than 10 min walk from the City Centre. Free ultrafast wireless broadband in public spaces. Facilities include: 20m swimming pool, superb gym, beauty lodge, onsite hair salon, in door golf swim analysis room and superb kids club. Live music three nights a week in Pure Bar. State of the art conference and wedding facilities. Free car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Kilkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Kilkenny
Kilkenny Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing