We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice place”
Review of Hotel Kilkenny

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Kilkenny
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Really nice place”
Reviewed 14 July 2011

we really enjoyed our trip here. We went for a few days to relax and go shopping and really enjoyed it. The hotel is really funky and modern. Food was beautiful and tasty, ya we were waiting a bit to be served but we were in no hurry. Nice to relax and enjoy the meal.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cormacuaghwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, 20 July 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments - we are delighted you enjoyed your few days with us relaxing in the Medieval City of Kilkenny !
We hope to see you again very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,899 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    889
    586
    270
    102
    52
See reviews for
413
882
51
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sligo, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2011

The outside of the hotel is deceiving in that it's a very impressive looking hotel set in a nice "cul de sac" setting quite close to a busy roundabout. On entering the hotel however you find that there is limited comfortable seating area and would not be tempted to sit around relaxing for any length of time. The decor in the reception area and bar itself is very "drab" looking painted in dull grey colours. It has a very contempory look. The accommodation corridors appear very dark and these too are darkly decorated.

The room that I stayed in also had a contempory look but was brighter than the rest of the hotel. The room and bathroom was very clean apart from the window when opened out was very dirty in the grooves. The room itself was positioned opposite the leisure centre and I felt I had to keep the curtains drawn when in the room.

We felt that there was no atmosphere in the bar and it was very quiet. We went into the bar on a Tuesday evening following dinner in the restaurant hoping to relax and have a few drinks while listening to music as advertised but were told the music was from 8-10pm and we had just missed it. We asked to see the cocktail menu but discovered the majority of the drinks on offer had vodka as the main drink and there was no variety with other drinks.

On a positive note the dinner we had in the dining room was faultless and the menu was varied with around 8 mains even though we were staying on a package deal. We thoroughly enjoyed it! The breakfast was table service and the portions very meagre. Staff for breakfast were thin on the ground and overworked.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geri075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, 20 July 2011
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor.
I am very sorry that your overall experience with us at Hotel Kilkenny was not an enjoyable one. As you can imaging we try our utmost daily to ensure that all our Guests are happy and having an enjoyable experience.
We have live music in the bar 5 nights a week and in order to facilitate all out guests we try and vary the times for this - unfortunately on this one evening you missed the music. With regards to the Cocktail Menu while a majority of our cocktails have flavoured vodka we also have a number of cocktails that do not.
I am really delighted to hear that you enjoyed dinner, the menu is very extensive with a choice to 8 items on most courses as we try to ensure that all our guests will find something they can enjoy should they dine with us on a number of nights.
Many thanks again for your kind comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

Came to HK to celebrate a joint 50th/40th birthday party. Nothing fancy just small number of Family. We sat ourselves in the bar for most of the evening.
We all ordered good and didn't wait too long for our starters. Garlic Mushrooms. Not bad. Not GREAT. then came out 'Angus Sirloin' steaks. They came smothered in onions to, I expect, hide the utter tastelessness of the meat. It was fatty and chewy through and through. I complained and having eaten the chips alone I had had enough. When I complained, I was almost pestered into ordering something else. I ordered a chicken burger which itself was deep fried and tough to eat.
Also the HEAT of the bar!! The lack of air conditioning meant many of us had to leave the bar and sit in the foyer.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wakachaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, 20 July 2011
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your comments with regards to the standard of food you received while with us for your family birthday celebrations. I am very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy the food, I have checked with our Head Chef and he assures me that we only purchase the very best quality beef which is sourced locally.
Over the last number of weeks we have been fortunate to have had spells of great weather along with heavy showers and cooler nights and so its a little difficult to ensure that all our guests are happy with the temperatures of the public areas at all times - I apologise if Pure Bar became uncomfortable for you.
I look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Kilkenny again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

My wife and I have stayed in this hotel 4/5 times now when we visit friends in Kilkenny, we are from Newcastle, England. It is just a 5 min walk to their house so very convenient. The hotel has all the facilities you would ever need including spa and leisure complex with pool. The rooms are a good standard and the deluxe rooms fantastic. The food is of a good standard and the bar meals a welcome option to the dining room. Staff are always friendly and helpful in our experience. There are lots of options for sitting around in the bar, the terrace, the reception area etc. This stay we had free live entertainment in the bar in the evenings. Can thoroughly recommend the Hotel Kilkenny.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AzzyBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Lovely hotel with clean, nicely decorated rooms. Leisure centre is a real plus. However the restraunt was awful! Had an evening meal as it was included in the package but if we had been expected to pay for it I simply would'nt have. Menu was impessive but set the food itself for a great fall. Seemed like alot the food was cooked from frozen. Staff didn't seem to have any training. Breakfast did'nt fare much better.

As I said the leisure facilities were excellent, but some of the grounds were a little shabby.

Also rooms were very warm with no air conditioning so somethinng to bear in mind during the summer.

So a nice hotel and a good base to explore the city- only a 10 min walk thats quite safe, but eat elsewhere!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misssunshine96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

I cannot recommend this hotel enough. It was spotless, the leisure fasilities was fab, and nice and quiet in the morning time, the staff were very helpful. Breakfast was lovely. Def do not pass this hotel and I got a very good coperate rate so it worked out excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Smokers-patio door opening to garden on floor 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank obdue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, 29 June 2011
Dear Guest,
Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments on our TripAdvisor site.
Its great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you feel we offer great value for money without compromising on our standards.
We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon
The Team at Hotel Kilkenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2011

We only stayed for one night in the hotel was pleasantly surprised upon arrival the lobby is gorgeous really well decorated looked like a 4 star hotel. We stayed in the executive double which was 100 euro a night for the both of us. I thought this was great since I've stayed in dearer hotels for a lot more basic rooms. We arrived to fresh fruit, water and bathrobes. The bathroom was a good size nice bath and a great shower not the crap ones that you find in some hotels.

We also had a balcony which was nice view looked onto a building site unfortunately but still was nice to have. Milk was sour in the room when we went to make tea but reception send up fresh milk within minutes. Had lunch in the bar the next day, very nice and had room service for breakfast which was spot on time and even got a phone call to let us know it was on it way.

2 minute drive into the city. Definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pigeonpop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, 29 June 2011
Dear Guests,
Many thanks for your great comments and we are very happy your enjoyed your stay with us. My apologies with regards to the sour milk and I will ensure that the Accommodation Team are made aware of your comments.
We look forward to welcoming you back to us again very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
1.6 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,866 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,718 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,651 reviews
0.9 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kilkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kilkenny

Property: Hotel Kilkenny
Address: College Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#6 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#7 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kilkenny 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Hotel Kilkenny with 138 bedrooms is less than 10 min walk from the City Centre. Free ultrafast wireless broadband in public spaces. Facilities include: 20m swimming pool, superb gym, beauty lodge, onsite hair salon, in door golf swim analysis room and superb kids club. Live music three nights a week in Pure Bar. State of the art conference and wedding facilities. Free car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Kilkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Kilkenny
Kilkenny Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing