We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Kilkenny

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Kilkenny
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Athlone
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

Myself and my husband have just returned from a most relaxing weekend at hotel Kilkenny. The staff are excellent, very friendly, helpful and professional. Rooms are very comfortable and spotless. Breakfast is cooked to order with a good selection. Evening meal was good value and delicious. Leisure centre is very relaxing with towels for guests. In all a great escape for a weekend with a 10 minute walk to city centre.

Room Tip: Great music in the bar on Saturday nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your great comments, we are delighted you had an enjoyable weekend break away with us.
We are delighted that you enjoyed dinner and also our 5* Active Club and we look forward to welcoming you back to us again very soon.

Kind regards the Management and Staff of Hotel Kilkenny.
__________________________________________________________________________
Hotel Kilkenny employs a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,827 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    851
    563
    261
    101
    51
See reviews for
389
853
51
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. When we arrived receptionist was very friendly. We were on the first floor which meant our room was underneath reception which was unusual but room made up for this. Spacious room with nice bathroom. Only complaint I do have is walls are like paper, someone in the next room kept me awake all hours of the night snoring which was very frustrating!
We had drinks in the hotel bar on the two nights and staff were very nice and polite especially the night porter. We had breakfast ordered to the room on the first morning which was nice and fairly priced. We had dinner in hotel on one night it was very nice but will say the bacon was slightly over cooked but everything else was excellent! Overall this is a very nice hotel with friendly staff and good standard. I would recommend this hotel with no problem and will definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay with us at Hotel Kilkenny. Its great to hear the kind, positive comments and please be assured that your posting will be passed onto all the Team at Hotel Kilkenny. We look forward to welcoming you back to us again very soon.

Kind regards the Management and Staff of Hotel Kilkenny.
__________________________________________________________________________
Hotel Kilkenny employs a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tramore, Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

We booked this at last minute for 2 nights room only at 110 euro. We were sketchy at the start from mixed reviews and cheap price.

On arrival at the hotel we were blown away by the beautiful spacious lobby and the receptionist was really helpful no problem checking in.

our room was on the first floor which meant going down from the lobby but when we got into the room it was spacious , immaculately clean and well decorated. The bar food was exceptional and fairly priced, residents bar is available to 3.30am and the night porter michael could not have done more for us, made sandwiches and crisps and brought them to our room and was very friendly and extremely helpful!

Breakfast was fantastic ordered room service for 10.30 and it was dead on time which i was surprised but delighted.

Leisure center is free if you are a resident of the hotel and is spotless clean and really nice.

Will defiantly be back one of the best hotels iv ever stayed in and would have no problem recommending this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eoin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your great comments about your recent stay with us at Hotel Kilkenny.
We are delighted you had such an enjoyable stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to us again very soon.
Kind regards the Management and Staff of Hotel Kilkenny.
__________________________________________________________________________
Hotel Kilkenny employs a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

Stayed for 1 night just me and my wife the hotel was nice the staff were brilliant. The rooms were ok but were very empty. The location was ok would stay closer in the town the next time

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aconlon33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments with regards to your recent stay at Hotel Kilkenny. Unfortunately I am unaware of the reason you feel we are a little pricey however I am delighted with the kind comments about to the Team here at Hotel Kilkenny. All our great last minute deals and special offers are available on line and so this is the very best place to get the best deal possible for the dates you have in mind. Hopefully we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us again very soon.

Kind regards the Management and Staff of Hotel Kilkenny.
__________________________________________________________________________
Hotel Kilkenny employs a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbeyfeale, Limerick, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

We were staying as wedding guests. Service was excellent. Staff were very friendly, genuine and helpful. I found the interior a little dark and prefer hotels that are more bright and airy. But we were very satisfied with our stay. The staff here are exceptional.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Dear Guest,
Everyone at Hotel Kilkenny really appreciate your kind comments are we are all delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. As we have mentioned in the past customer care is something we constantly strive to improve on so we are delighted by your kind comments.
Again many thanks and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Kind regards the Management and Staff of Hotel Kilkenny.
__________________________________________________________________________
Hotel Kilkenny employs a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

My husband and I booked Hotel kilkenny last minute with little prior knowledge of the quality or location. When we arrived at the hotel we were absolutely blown away by the stunning interior. We were welcomed by a very friendly and efficient receptionist who announced that we had been given a free upgrade to celebrate my birthday. I am General Manager at a 4* boutique hotel in the heart of Scotland and have very high standards when it comes to service and accommodation. This owners and managers of this hotel should be proud of their staff and the hotel itself. I will definitely return and bring the kids next time. Thanks again for a wonderful stay!!
Jackie and Colin Fergus

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony...a must!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your great comments, as we all know the Team in any hotel are the very heart of it and this is something we are very proud of at Hotel Kilkenny. We constantly strive to deliver great customer service and we are so happy to see that on the occasion of your visit we didn't disappoint !
Again many thanks and we look forward to welcoming you back to us again very soon.

Kind regards the Management and Staff of Hotel Kilkenny.
__________________________________________________________________________
Hotel Kilkenny employs a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naas, Co Kildare
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

Myself and my husband stayed in Hotel Kilkenny for one night during the Cat festival. We booked the special rate of 130. for double room. We were very happy with everything, the hotel is spotless and i love the decor. Our bedroom was lovely and modern with bathrobe and slippers and water. Service was brilliant and was very impressed with table service breakfast as i am not a fan of buffet breakfasts. We ate in Pure Bar before going to comedian show, which was lovely but found the portion sizes small enough and they hadnt a good selection of starters which i always have but didnt this time. But overall def would stay in this hotel again. Definately one of the best 4 stars we have stayed in and we go away alot.

Room Tip: We got an end of corridor room so felt it was more spacious on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia-Elizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review Hotel Kilkenny on TripAdvisor, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, the Comedy Festival Weekend is always a great time to visit Kilkenny with lots to see and do every day. We look forward to welcoming you back to us again very soon.
Kind regards the Management and Staff of Hotel Kilkenny.
__________________________________________________________________________
Hotel Kilkenny employs a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
1.7 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,814 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,670 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,599 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kilkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kilkenny

Property: Hotel Kilkenny
Address: College Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#6 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#7 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kilkenny 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Hotel Kilkenny with 138 bedrooms is less than 10 min walk from the City Centre. Free ultrafast wireless broadband in public spaces. Facilities include: 20m swimming pool, superb gym, beauty lodge, onsite hair salon, in door golf swim analysis room and superb kids club. Live music three nights a week in Pure Bar. State of the art conference and wedding facilities. Free car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Kilkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Kilkenny
Kilkenny Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing