We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delivered to a high standard”
Review of Hotel Kilkenny

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Kilkenny
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Stayed here recently for two nights with my other half and we had an excellent all round experience. From check in to check out and everything in between the staff were friendly and helpful. We ate in the restaurant on the first night and found the food to be punching above its weight for hotel fare. The room was spacious, modern and comfortable. The leisure centre was easily accessed and ticked all the boxes. Breakfast was also a pleasant experience. We were served quickly. Also liked the addition of a cheeky mexican wrap on the menu. Delicious. The bar was well run and had live music on both nights. Room service was prompt and friendly and over all can't find any negatives. Recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank menapian98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your great comments, its always great to hear such positive comments from our Guests and we are delighted to enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully we shall welcome you back to us again very soon.
Kind regards the Management and Staff of Hotel Kilkenny.
__________________________________________________________________________
Hotel Kilkenny employs a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,081)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,619 - 1,625 of 2,081 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2012

I was recently here with my boyfriend on a midweek break and had the most amazing time. Firstly the location - as we were without a car, it couldnt have been more convenient with it being less than a ten minute walk from everything Kilkenny City has to offer.
The staff were so lovely, from check-in to the chamber maids who always greeted us in a friendly manner, to the waiting staff; they all went above and beyond to make us feel welcome.
The bedroom was spacious, immaculately clean, with modern and tasteful decor. The bathroom was gorgeous with an excellent shower! Great breakfast, with more choices than your average hotel. Delicious. We ate in the restaurant one of the nights & again the service & food was terrific.
We used the leisure centre facilities, particularly enjoying the steam room, jacuzzi & pool. The gym looked very well equipped although sadly I didnt get to avail of this & I also noted there is a hairdressers onsite.
There was live music in the bar & the overall ambience of the place was great. Hotel Kilkenny also has a really cool outdoor area to eat lunch in (great bar food menu) which we did & it was nice to sit in the sun enjoying something to eat and drink. It's a really popular place so there's a great atmosphere, even during the week.
I noticed it was a child friendly hotel with a kids club & movie night for kids in the evening.
I love Kilkenny City & it's a great place to spend a few days, I will certainly be returning soon and I'll definitely stay in Hotel Kilkenny.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aoife D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2012

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your great comments and for taking the time to post your comments with regards to your recent stay with us. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to us again very soon.
Kind regards the Management and Staff of Hotel Kilkenny.
__________________________________________________________________________
Hotel Kilkenny employs a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

The hotel overall was v pleasant however it was further out from the centre than we expected based on google maps. The pool area was lovely as was the food in the bar - the childrens menu was also good value and good quality which is not always a given. Alittle disappointed with the room as we had booked a family room which claimed to be larger and wasnt particularly also no fridge which would have been helpful for storing baby supplies. The bathroom was only average with several cracked tiles - needed a bit of a makeover.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cacamilis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2012

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your comments, we are delighted to had an enjoyable stay with us and thank you for your comments with regards to how we can improve.... we have small fridges available which we place in Family Rooms on request. Thank you also for the comments with regards to our Kids Menu we take a lot of time to ensure that we deliver a healthy option for them whenever possible.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Kilkenny again very soon.

Kind regards the Management and Staff of Hotel Kilkenny.
__________________________________________________________________________
Hotel Kilkenny employs a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

A wedding reception was in progress the night we stayed at the hotel which was not a problem however we were given a room smack in the middle of the rooms wedding guests and to say that it was noisy would be and understatement. THe hallway was immediately adjacent to the front lobby and front desk so there was no way they could have been unaware of the noise. A tip, be thoughtful about where you put guests if you want them to return.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Star315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2012

Dear Guest,
We are very sorry that your nights sleep was disturbed by our other Guests, while we take every precaution to try and elevate this problem unfortunately we are unable to control every guest returning to their room. We have notices on each floor and we also have security checking each floor during our busy nights - should you have called the reception desk we would have sent someone to your area to investigate and eliminate the noise straight away.
Again our apologies for this.
Kind regards the Management and Staff of Hotel Kilkenny.
__________________________________________________________________________
Hotel Kilkenny employs a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

My self and my husband have just stayed here for two nights b+b, its a very clean and comfortable hotel, we paid a little extra for a deluxe room, which was very spacious with a balcony, it had all the mod-cons a person would need. The staff were very helpful and friendly and we could not fault them in any way. We ordered our breakfast from room service each morning which arrived on time each morning, it`s a brisk 10/15 min walk into the town which is fine when the sun is shining. Upon checking out somebody had charged bar food and drink to our room, the staff sorted it out without fuss. Over all a fine hotel and a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Book a deluxe room, it`s worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tillyIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and everyone at Hotel Kilkenny looks forward to welcoming you back to us again very soon.
Kind regards the Management and Staff of Hotel Kilkenny.
__________________________________________________________________________
Hotel Kilkenny employs a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

The hotel was lovely with a good location and very tasty food and a great gym. The staff were absolutely excellent. But the room was uncomfortably hot with no way of cooling it down. It was difficult to sleep with the heat and our problems were exacerbated on the second night when our toddler got tonsillitis and trying to manage his fever was just a nightmare. The staff were very obliging. We had a dinner as part of our package and when we couldn't go to the restaurant they brought our meal to our room. But the room was a big disappointment. It seemed dated compared to the very modern and beautiful furnishings in the rest of the hotel and as I said already the stifling heat was a real issue. I think it was in the 100's - 107 possibly?

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buttons007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2012

Dear Guest,
We are sorry to hear your child was not well but hopefully well on the way to recovery now. Fans are available from our accommodation team for our guests during this unusually humid weather. I'm not sure from your post if indeed you had one. We are delighted you were happy with the service you received and dinner while not in the restaurant was delivered to your room on one evening.
Again thank you for your comments.
Kind regards the Management and Staff of Hotel Kilkenny.
__________________________________________________________________________
Hotel Kilkenny employs a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Stayed at this hotel just this weekend gone, had a brillant time, receptionist can't remember his name was so good to us, he made sure we had our ice and water delivered looked after us for organising taxis and any other requests we had! Most hotels charge for drinks, Ice, food delivered to the room not the case here which was great and they were super fast too! We didn't eat here can't comment on food, rooms are lovely only thing is though it was very hot/stuffy and we couldn't find air con and window opens only a teeny bit! Rooms are furnished really nicely and very clean! We stayed in rooms on lower floor close 2 reception which was great and nobody can go down the rooms without key cards its very safe! Had a great night out in Kilkenny will defo be back here!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank checkmate87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2012

Dear Guest,
We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for the great comments and hopefully we shall welcome you back to us again very soon.

Kind regards the Management and Staff of Hotel Kilkenny.
__________________________________________________________________________
Hotel Kilkenny employs a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.6 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,858 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
1.6 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#4 of 19 in Kilkenny
884 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lyrath Estate
Lyrath Estate
#6 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,576 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#9 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kilkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kilkenny

Address: College Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#6 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#6 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range: £63 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kilkenny 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Hotel Kilkenny with 138 bedrooms is less than 10 min walk from the City Centre. Free ultrafast wireless broadband in public spaces. Facilities include: 20m swimming pool, superb gym, beauty lodge, onsite hair salon, in door golf swim analysis room and superb kids club. Live music three nights a week in Pure Bar. State of the art conference and wedding facilities. Free car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Kilkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Kilkenny
Kilkenny Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing