We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3 Star Stay - Avoid the cooked breakfast” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Kilkenny

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Kilkenny
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“3 Star Stay - Avoid the cooked breakfast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed with husband & two small children. Have to say that unfortunstely the standard of this hotel falls short of 4 star.

Food was very average in both the bar & restaurant and the breakfast is pretty bad. The buffet with fresh fruit etc. is lovely although we got there early & by the time we were leaving everything was on low supply. The cooked breakfast is awful, not freshly cooked at all & luke warm. Unfortunately the breakfast staff aren't really morning people either.

The swimming pool was super & the staff were really nice & friendly. I also found the cleaning staff really polite and helpful. The bar staff are very slow at processing orders. We sat for 25 mins the first evening waiting for a drink and when it finally arrived it was 9pm and we had to leave the bar with the children. Similarity the second night we ate our tea in the bar & had ordered a second drink which never appeared and still hadn't by the time we were leaving again @ 9pm.

Room was comfortable but very small double bed. Weren't able to purchase a film on the tv which would have been good as the Kids Club is only for children aged 4+ and babysitters mind the child in your room.

In saying that the drop in centre is a fabulous idea & my two loved going in to play for an hour or so. The staff are really professional & they have obviously put money into ensuring they have decent toys & activities for children. It was a shame that they didn't offer a drop in service for maybe two hours in the evening so parents could have a meal in peace.

We had booked to stay longer but actually checked out early & went to stay in a different hotel nearby.
Overall think hotel is grand but not up to 4 stars and certainly not somewhere to relax as has a functionality feel to it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SW1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for your feedback which has both positive and negative comments. Indeed out Kids Club is a place we receive great feedback from - from both our Adults and Smaller guests.
Breakfast and bar service I can see is where we didn't meet your expectations and so I am very sorry for that. I have today given this review to both teams and please be assured that all points will be actioned straight away.
Kind regards
Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,805 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    831
    561
    261
    102
    50
See reviews for
386
839
51
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athy, Kildare.
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel for a wedding, while I found the reception staff to be lovely the same cannot be said about two members of the function staff. Being rated as a 4star hotel I would have expected the staff to be polite and courteous to the customer and not to have had a dinner plate threw onto our table during service, rude bar staff aswell serving behind the bar. Wether this is a 2star or 4star hotel staff should be trained properly on how to deal with customers in a polite manner.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorr-33-doyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your review, I would like to apologies for the way you were treated. Please be assured that we have passed this review to our Human Resources Manager and she will be taking action straight away.
Again my apologies as this type of behaviour is not acceptable or something we condoon from any of our Team Members.
Kind regards
Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Hotel was clean and receptionist polite, and helpful.
Very good location easy access to motorway, and city center.
Breakfast a complete and utter disgrace,on the first morning of our stay, I ordered the full breakfast.
When the breakfast arrived, the plate was hot but the food was cold, I called the waitress, and she took it away, only to return it, after putting it in the microwave.
the breakfast was uneatable.
my wife and I then left without eating it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ken_carter08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Dear Guest,
I am very sorry that your breakfast was not up to the correct standard. However please be assured that it was not placed in a microwave as this is not permitted in the Kitchen. Should you have breought this to the attention of the Manager on Duty in the Breakfast room they would have ensured you received a freshly cooked breakfast straight away. Again please accept my apologies and thank you for your feedback.
Kind regards
Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bielefeld
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Stayed here for a single night on business. From the point of checkin to check out the service was first class. Staff couldn't do enough to help especially as I needed some last minute printing and binding done, nothing was too much trouble. The room was well proportioned, clean and modern. Whilst it lacked air conditioning this I guess is not too much of a problem in Ireland! The only thing to let the hotel down is the breakfast setup, part self service part ordered, otherwise a fantastic stay and highly recommended hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Dear Guest,
I am very pleased to read your comments, overall I see you had an enjoyable time with us. I will make sure your comments with regards to the setup of our buffet for breakfast is brought to the General Managers attention and we will review this straight away. Thank you again for your valuable feedback.
Kind regards
Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Just stayed for 3 nights the staff from reception to security were absolutely fantastic not one negative comment to make just a brilliant hotel with modern facilities with traditional Irish hospitality
Would not hesitate to stay again

Thank you to all at hotel Kilkenny

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Dear Guest,
I am delighted to read your review, overall I do believe the Team here are our very best asset and I am delighted that you agree. We spend a lot of time ensuring all out guests are as happy as possible and so its great to read our guests notice !!!
Thanks again and we will defiantly see you again soon.
Kind regards
Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

I stayed at this hotel for two nights. The hotel is lovely especially the pool and i found the reception staff very friendly and helpful however i can not say the same for the breakfast staff, we had an extremely rude and pushy waiter serve us the second day and the food was awful. on the first morning we ordered a full breakfast, it was so dried out and the egg was rock hard, id say it had been cooked with hours (it was not edible). On the second morning i decided to order soft boiled eggs thinking this would be a better option, it was awful, the eggs were extremely over cooked and looked like they were put in the oven. Before i had been down for breakfast i would have said i would stay in this hotel again but after seeing how very bad the breakfast was i would not return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank j-and-m_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Dear Guest,
Firstly thank you for posting your comments, I am very sorry to read that while you enjoyed your stay with us breakfast let us down as you can see from our other reviews this is not normally the case and so I am very surprised on this occasion you were not happy. Thank you for the feedback and I will ensure that our Chef is notified.
Kind regards
Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clonakilty, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my 15 year old for two nights during the Arts Festival. The hotel is in a great location as you can walk to the city in about 5 mins and leave your car in the free car park. The staff looked after us very well and were friendly. The food was excellent. Huge choice for breakfast, fruit juices, all types of fresh fruit, yogurts, different cereals, homemade breads, muffins, croissants, sausages, any type of egg you wanted, rashers, sausages, pudding and to my delight "huevos rancheros" which I love and it was delicious. From the menu it was obvious that they catered for all types of diets, vegetarian and coeliac We had a meal one night in the hotel restaurant and it was delicious. The second night we had the bar food. The food was excellent and amazing value for money. I would certainly recommend the bar food for even people who are passing through Kilkenny.

The bedrooms were spotless, properly aired and ventilated not like some hotels where you nearly suffocate with the stuffiness. Really comfortable beds, spotless bed linen, we had a great nights sleep.

We were delighted with our stay and will definitely return to this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mgt147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments, I am delighted to read you had an enjoyable time with us. Kilkenny has lots to do for all ages, so its great to get your feedback. Thank you and maybe we shall see you again soon.
Kind regards
Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
1.6 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,781 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#7 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kilkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kilkenny

Property: Hotel Kilkenny
Address: College Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#6 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#7 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kilkenny 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Hotel Kilkenny with 138 bedrooms is less than 10 min walk from the City Centre. Free ultrafast wireless broadband in public spaces. Facilities include: 20m swimming pool, superb gym, beauty lodge, onsite hair salon, in door golf swim analysis room and superb kids club. Live music three nights a week in Pure Bar. State of the art conference and wedding facilities. Free car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Hotel Kilkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Kilkenny
Kilkenny Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing