We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”
Review of Hotel Kilkenny

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Kilkenny
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

The hotel was a nice place to stay. We stayed on a weekend, when there were many activities going on. We were lucky to get a room. There was a food festival in Kilkenny the weekend. When we asked to extend our stay for another night, they put us on a cancellation list. We did get another night and the front desk staff graciously called and cancelled our hotel in Dublin. The staff was great. The hotel and rooms roomy and clean. We would definitely stay at the Hotel again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vickie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Guest,
Its great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us so much you extended your stay. Thank you for the kind comments and great review.
Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,925 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    897
    593
    276
    107
    52
See reviews for
421
896
51
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I stayed here for a wedding in April. The room was lovely and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was good too and clean. The only thing I did not like was that my room was a long long walk from the lifts.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not too far from the lifts!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BreathnachI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Guest,
Unfortunately with 138 Guest bedrooms we cant have all of them close to the lefts !!
My apologies for the long walk, however on your next visit please mention this when making your reservation and we would be delighted to block a room for you closer to the lift.
Thank you for your kind review.
Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perpignan, France
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

This was the fifth hotel we stayed at on a week long tour of West Ireland.By now we should have been used to the idea that the people in Ireland are extremely friendly,but in truth this does not extend to some of the largest hotels as the staff often feel that they are not really here to serve you.However this is a relatively large hotel and the staff,from the reception onwards were extremely friendly and attentive.Our room was large and warm and the meal in the bar was very pleasant ,while the breakfast the following morning was particularly memorable because of the food and the service There is a full leisure facility at the hotel which looked very impressive although we did not use it The hotelis conveniently situated on the Kilkenny ring road.We would like to return at some time

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vincelegrau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your great review, I am delighted you felt welcome and our Customer Service was something you remember fondly !
Thank you and hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future.
Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

First time at this hotel and it wont be the last, its easily located has great facilities e.g. swimming pool gym etc. Staff were very friendly and helpful with any requests we had. Food in the hotel was very well presented and tasty too. Only Fault id have it the 4pm check in time nothing more great hotel, I look forward to coming back again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Austy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Feedback is something that we are always delighted to hear, even more so when its a positive as yours !
Thank you for the great review and I look forward to welcoming you back to us again very soon.
Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed for two nights and we had a great time. It was our second visit. The hotel is very clean and the food in both the Pure Bar and Taste restaurant was lovely. This hotel is only 10 mins walk away from the town and the Kilkenny castle.It has wifi throughout the hotel and there is a spa, pool ect. The staff are excellent ,very helpful and courteous especially Philip in theTaste restaurant.Hopefully we can come back again

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mar47mar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Delighted to read your review, many thanks for your great comments, I will ensure that Philip also gets a copy.
Hopefully we shall see you again very soon !
Many thanks
Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

We are not familiar with Kilkenny so when we arrived in the town we had some difficulty in locating the hotel. It is not very well sign posted and even at the roundabout where the hotel is situated the signage is not clear. We got into our room which was a non smoking room and unfortunately some previous guest had smoked in the bedroom. We pointed this out to reception and we were located to another room immediately. The hotel was very busy . We had to queue outside dining room for breakfast and I must say what was a lovely touch there was a table in the waiting area with teas, coffees and juices.... The staff were friendly but under pressure. The hotel is a bit of a distance from town centre but if you are into walking its a nice walk.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maurshealy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review, I appreciate your comments, indeed we are busy at the weekends however the level of Customer Service should remain the same. Breakfast as you can imagine is a particularly busy time and I am delighted to hear the feedback with regards to the table in the lobby. Hopefully this makes the wait a little more acceptable.
Thanks again and hopefully we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Kilkenny in the near future.
Many thanks
Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Was at a conference in this hotel and im very sorry to say that the food was awful. The staff forgot about me and I was eventually served what looked like a meal that was reheated under a grill. I had a sick stomach as a result of this. would never eat their food again, it was horrible.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irish_travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Guest,
I am very sorry to read your review and the service that you received. Should you like to discuss this in further detail please do not hesitate in making contact with me over the next few days.
experience@hotelkilkenny.ie
Many thanks
Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
1.6 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,881 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,735 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,672 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#8 of 18 in Kilkenny
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kilkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kilkenny

Property: Hotel Kilkenny
Address: College Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#6 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#7 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kilkenny 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Hotel Kilkenny with 138 bedrooms is less than 10 min walk from the City Centre. Free ultrafast wireless broadband in public spaces. Facilities include: 20m swimming pool, superb gym, beauty lodge, onsite hair salon, in door golf swim analysis room and superb kids club. Live music three nights a week in Pure Bar. State of the art conference and wedding facilities. Free car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Kilkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Kilkenny
Kilkenny Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing