We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs modernising”
Review of Hotel Kilkenny

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Kilkenny
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Hi, stayed here for two nights and it was ok. The hotel needs a facelift. Breakfast was average and had dinner one that again was ok. Although fruit served with pavlova was canned.
But the worst part was the hotel was too warm. We stayed on dec 30th and had the window open even though radiator was turned off! The while place was stifling making the stay very unpleasant. We complained but nothing was done and no one came to room as promised.
The spa was excellent and highly reccommend the herbal facial

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Eva S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor, I am sorry that your stay did not meet with your expectations. Please be assured that we do not use any type of canned fruit, all fruit is fresh and prepared in our own Kitchen, however all feedback greatly received and I will ensure that your comments are taken on board by all relevant departments.
Kind regards

Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,081)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,324 - 1,330 of 2,081 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2013

Recently stayed here with my fiance. Lovely hotel, rooms are nice, location is great and Management were excellent. Exceptional service from the bar staff in particular. popular spot for weddings which is always a good sign.

Room Tip: 3rd or 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachelshiels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your kind review, I will ensure the entire team receive a copy. Delighted you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to us again very soon.
Kind regards

Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Unfortunately the hotel did not match up. Our room was awful. Complained to Manager - hotel full.

Room very dark, depressing, constant smell of damp and dire. Bathroom very small. No form of heating in there and hate to think what the smell of damp must be like in winter!

Ticked the days off our calendar so we could return to our home comforts. Total disappointment and could not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Spoke to independent travellers who were also very disappointed. Room was not cleaned properly. Food was bad too.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeremy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Guest,
I am disappointed to read your review, while you mentioned that you would not like to visit us during the winter the note on the bottom of your review states "Stayed December 2013" so I am a little confused. However in saying that all feedback is valued and I would ask if you would please make contact with me directly to discuss your stay with us in person.
Kind regards

Alva Kenny - experience@hotelkilkenny.ie
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights over the Xmas. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone young or old. Staff are extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them.In a lovely area short walk into the town.Prices were also very good considering the time of year it was. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Airfemale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments, I am delighted you enjoyed this Festive time of year with us. Hopefully we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us again during the year.
Kind regards

Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I have to admit , we stayed here as we were finding it hard to get a hotel room in our favourite hotel and with all the party nights going on , this was the best we could do ! From the website the hotel looks very glossy and nice , pictures of the public areas shown are all very glam , so far so true . When I put the card in the holder and the lights came on , my heart sank slightly . the room was small and frankly very ...meh ! the furniture and bathroom was quite dated . Worst of all was the smell of stale smoke , this is a big no no , cant stand it ! told my husband not to touch anything , we were not staying . The girl on the front desk ( young brunette ) was very apologetic and immediately arranged house keeping to arrange another room for us . The second room was a lot better , am not sure if it was what they call their deluxe rooms but there was a lot more room . The bed was very comfortable and the pillows were not your usual droopy affair . We were not woken up of the party nighters or wedding crowd coming or going which was good , although now I think of it our neighbours were having a bit of ' sexy time ' in the earlt morning . Now I am no prude , I just wish the lady used her inside voice !! The bed was so comfy we skipped breakfast so I cannot comment on that .
Overall this hotel feels like a place where a lot of money was spent on the exterior and reception and they ran out of steam when it came to the bedrooms and lets face it you don't sleep in the reception . the front desk staff were a credit to their bosses and were on the ball , well done to them .

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the_pumkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, while your room had an issue originally I am delighted that the Team at Reception accommodated your room move quickly and I will ensure that your kind comments are passed onto the entire Team. Thank you and maybe we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us again in the future.

Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Recently stayed at this hotel for a weekend break with my partner. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Room was clean and nicely presented. My only complaint was the noise. We stayed on the fourth floor and were very close to the door that led out to the main foyer outside the function room. There was a wedding on the Friday night and the booming music started around 12 and was still going around 2am. When I finally got to sleep the guests from the wedding proceeded to have great fun in the corridor until around 4.30am. Not much fun. If the door and walls were better sound proofed it would solve this problem. I mentioned it the next morning to the girl on reception and she said apologised and said that the 4th floor was normally reserved for wedding guests. She said there was no function on the Sat night so we wouldn't have the same issue. She was wrong. It was a Christmas party night. Same as night before. Thankfully I had a few vinos myself so got off to sleep ok. Real shame as it put a bit of a downer on the stay overall. Also the room only had a weird contraption in the bathroom that was supposed to be a hairdryer. It looked like a vacuum cleaner on the wall that blew out tepid air. I rang down to reception and they were able to provide a proper hairdryer immediately. The breakfasts were great - run like clockwork. Great variety to choose from and the cooked breakfast was spot on. Hotel location is perfect. A good 10 min walk into the centre of town. Enjoyed our stay but would prob ask for a different room should I go back.

Room Tip: If you like a good night's sleep, avoid the 4th floor if you aren't a guest at a wedding or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catcorrigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear Guest,
I am very sorry to hear that your sleep was interrupted during your stay with us. While we take every precaution to ensure this does not happen unfortunately other guests are not so considering. I apologise and on your next stay with us please mention that you require a quiet room and we will ensure your bedroom location is away from the noise.
Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

The hotel was a nice place to stay. We stayed on a weekend, when there were many activities going on. We were lucky to get a room. There was a food festival in Kilkenny the weekend. When we asked to extend our stay for another night, they put us on a cancellation list. We did get another night and the front desk staff graciously called and cancelled our hotel in Dublin. The staff was great. The hotel and rooms roomy and clean. We would definitely stay at the Hotel again.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Vickie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear Guest,
Its great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us so much you extended your stay. Thank you for the kind comments and great review.
Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.6 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,858 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
1.6 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#4 of 19 in Kilkenny
884 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lyrath Estate
Lyrath Estate
#7 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,577 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#9 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kilkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kilkenny

Address: College Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#6 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#6 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range: £64 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kilkenny 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Hotel Kilkenny with 138 bedrooms is less than 10 min walk from the City Centre. Free ultrafast wireless broadband in public spaces. Facilities include: 20m swimming pool, superb gym, beauty lodge, onsite hair salon, in door golf swim analysis room and superb kids club. Live music three nights a week in Pure Bar. State of the art conference and wedding facilities. Free car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Kilkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Kilkenny
Kilkenny Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing