We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Kilkenny
Nearby Hotels
Zuni Hotel(Kilkenny)
US$208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$220
US$206
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Kilkenny Inn Hotel(Kilkenny)(Great Value!)
US$219
US$212
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Kilkenny River Court Hotel(Kilkenny)(Great Value!)
US$208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$328
US$295
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lyrath Estate(Kilkenny)
US$308
US$290
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Newpark Hotel(Kilkenny)
US$286
US$261
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$303
US$226
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kilford Arms Hotel(Kilkenny)(Great Value!)
US$162
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pembroke Kilkenny(Kilkenny)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,112)
Filter reviews
2,112 results
Traveller rating
993
647
300
112
60
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
993
647
300
112
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdeluxe roomleisure centrelovely hotelkids clubbar foodenjoyable staywould highly recommend this hotelshort breakwedding receptionsteam roomhotel barstaff were lovelyboth morningsboth nightsfull irishsaturday nighttown centre
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,352 - 1,357 of 2,112 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Hi, stayed here for two nights and it was ok. The hotel needs a facelift. Breakfast was average and had dinner one that again was ok. Although fruit served with pavlova was canned.
But the worst part was the hotel was too warm. We stayed on dec 30th and had the window open even though radiator was turned off! The while place was stifling making the stay very unpleasant. We complained but nothing was done and no one came to room as promised.
The spa was excellent and highly reccommend the herbal facial

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Eva S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor, I am sorry that your stay did not meet with your expectations. Please be assured that we do not use any type of canned fruit, all fruit is fresh and prepared in our own Kitchen, however all feedback greatly received and I will ensure that your comments are taken on board by all relevant departments.
Kind regards

Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Recently stayed here with my fiance. Lovely hotel, rooms are nice, location is great and Management were excellent. Exceptional service from the bar staff in particular. popular spot for weddings which is always a good sign.

Room Tip: 3rd or 4th floor
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachelshiels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your kind review, I will ensure the entire team receive a copy. Delighted you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to us again very soon.
Kind regards

Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Unfortunately the hotel did not match up. Our room was awful. Complained to Manager - hotel full.

Room very dark, depressing, constant smell of damp and dire. Bathroom very small. No form of heating in there and hate to think what the smell of damp must be like in winter!

Ticked the days off our calendar so we could return to our home comforts. Total disappointment and could not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Spoke to independent travellers who were also very disappointed. Room was not cleaned properly. Food was bad too.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeremy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Guest,
I am disappointed to read your review, while you mentioned that you would not like to visit us during the winter the note on the bottom of your review states "Stayed December 2013" so I am a little confused. However in saying that all feedback is valued and I would ask if you would please make contact with me directly to discuss your stay with us in person.
Kind regards

Alva Kenny - experience@hotelkilkenny.ie
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights over the Xmas. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone young or old. Staff are extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them.In a lovely area short walk into the town.Prices were also very good considering the time of year it was. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Airfemale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments, I am delighted you enjoyed this Festive time of year with us. Hopefully we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us again during the year.
Kind regards

Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I have to admit , we stayed here as we were finding it hard to get a hotel room in our favourite hotel and with all the party nights going on , this was the best we could do ! From the website the hotel looks very glossy and nice , pictures of the public areas shown are all very glam , so far so true . When I put the card in the holder and the lights came on , my heart sank slightly . the room was small and frankly very ...meh ! the furniture and bathroom was quite dated . Worst of all was the smell of stale smoke , this is a big no no , cant stand it ! told my husband not to touch anything , we were not staying . The girl on the front desk ( young brunette ) was very apologetic and immediately arranged house keeping to arrange another room for us . The second room was a lot better , am not sure if it was what they call their deluxe rooms but there was a lot more room . The bed was very comfortable and the pillows were not your usual droopy affair . We were not woken up of the party nighters or wedding crowd coming or going which was good , although now I think of it our neighbours were having a bit of ' sexy time ' in the earlt morning . Now I am no prude , I just wish the lady used her inside voice !! The bed was so comfy we skipped breakfast so I cannot comment on that .
Overall this hotel feels like a place where a lot of money was spent on the exterior and reception and they ran out of steam when it came to the bedrooms and lets face it you don't sleep in the reception . the front desk staff were a credit to their bosses and were on the ball , well done to them .

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the_pumkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, while your room had an issue originally I am delighted that the Team at Reception accommodated your room move quickly and I will ensure that your kind comments are passed onto the entire Team. Thank you and maybe we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us again in the future.

Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews