We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent wedding venue & stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Kilkenny

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Kilkenny
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent wedding venue & stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed here for a friend's wedding on New Year's Day 2014 & experienced the best service from start to finish. Despite it being a very busy time of year, the customer service was amazing. Every single member of staff was so friendly & welcoming and couldn't do enough to help, resulting in a happy wedding party with about 120 very happy guests!

There was a crazy amount of really tasty food at the wedding breakfast (about 7 courses, all lovely), impeccable service throughout and the facilities were great. The reception room was a great size with a big dance floor & lots of space for tables. The bride & groom chose to have their top table in the middle of the room which made it a really relaxed atmosphere. We didn't have to leave while dance floor was set up.

We had our hair done in the hotel's hairdressers & make up done in our rooms. The rooms were clean & comfy. Wish we'd had time to go for a swim, pool looked lovely!

From a guest's perspective, I couldn't rate this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BreeaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for your very kind comments, feedback is something we take very seriously and its also nice to read the positive comments. I will ensure everyone involved receives a copy of your review. Thank you again and kind regards

Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,804 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    830
    561
    261
    102
    50
See reviews for
386
838
51
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dundalk, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

We found hotel warm, clean and staff extremely friendly. 10 min walk into town and no problem getting a taxi if you did not fancy the walk. Really cannot fault it. Maybe they could offer skimmed milk at breakfast. All staff extremely helpful, warm and friendly 10/10 to all staff. Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 322 which over looks swimming pool and found it quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Freda1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for the great comments, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us again in the near future.
Kind regards

Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Tyneside
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel was very expensive for what is really a 3 star hotel. Bedroom was very small but think it had been newly decorated so at least it was clean. Arrival at the hotel was anything but friendly, every car was stopped at the car park entrance and I was greeted with 'what's your business here today' no smile or welcome, I said we were guests and he checked this out from his list before allowing us into the car park. I know the reason was to stop people parking here who were in town to see Bruce Springsteen but there could have been a nicer way to have been greeted. Reception staff on the other hand were very polite and helpful. Had a not so nice meal sitting outside but did have a few nice cocktails. Breakfast was fine, no negatives on that. Kilkenny itself is a lovely town and a good 15 walk from the hotel. Overall a disappointing and expensive stay in a 3 star hotel!! Would I stay again - no I wouldn't!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jules128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, I appreciate that your stay with us was a long time ago and so we have since your stay with us changed our Bar menu. With regards to your comments about the car-park as you rightly mentioned this was so we could ensure our guests had car parking available to them on arrival however as this was an external company I will ensure your comments with regards to their communication skills are passed on.
Kind regards

Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

Hi, stayed here for two nights and it was ok. The hotel needs a facelift. Breakfast was average and had dinner one that again was ok. Although fruit served with pavlova was canned.
But the worst part was the hotel was too warm. We stayed on dec 30th and had the window open even though radiator was turned off! The while place was stifling making the stay very unpleasant. We complained but nothing was done and no one came to room as promised.
The spa was excellent and highly reccommend the herbal facial

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Eva S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor, I am sorry that your stay did not meet with your expectations. Please be assured that we do not use any type of canned fruit, all fruit is fresh and prepared in our own Kitchen, however all feedback greatly received and I will ensure that your comments are taken on board by all relevant departments.
Kind regards

Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Recently stayed here with my fiance. Lovely hotel, rooms are nice, location is great and Management were excellent. Exceptional service from the bar staff in particular. popular spot for weddings which is always a good sign.

Room Tip: 3rd or 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachelshiels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your kind review, I will ensure the entire team receive a copy. Delighted you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to us again very soon.
Kind regards

Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

Unfortunately the hotel did not match up. Our room was awful. Complained to Manager - hotel full.

Room very dark, depressing, constant smell of damp and dire. Bathroom very small. No form of heating in there and hate to think what the smell of damp must be like in winter!

Ticked the days off our calendar so we could return to our home comforts. Total disappointment and could not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Spoke to independent travellers who were also very disappointed. Room was not cleaned properly. Food was bad too.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Guest,
I am disappointed to read your review, while you mentioned that you would not like to visit us during the winter the note on the bottom of your review states "Stayed December 2013" so I am a little confused. However in saying that all feedback is valued and I would ask if you would please make contact with me directly to discuss your stay with us in person.
Kind regards

Alva Kenny - experience@hotelkilkenny.ie
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights over the Xmas. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone young or old. Staff are extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them.In a lovely area short walk into the town.Prices were also very good considering the time of year it was. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Airfemale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments, I am delighted you enjoyed this Festive time of year with us. Hopefully we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us again during the year.
Kind regards

Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
1.6 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,778 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#7 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kilkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kilkenny

Property: Hotel Kilkenny
Address: College Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#6 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#7 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kilkenny 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Hotel Kilkenny with 138 bedrooms is less than 10 min walk from the City Centre. Free ultrafast wireless broadband in public spaces. Facilities include: 20m swimming pool, superb gym, beauty lodge, onsite hair salon, in door golf swim analysis room and superb kids club. Live music three nights a week in Pure Bar. State of the art conference and wedding facilities. Free car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Kilkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Kilkenny
Kilkenny Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing