We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic night away in Kilkenny”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Kilkenny

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Kilkenny
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Romantic night away in Kilkenny”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Stayed here for one night over Valentine's weekend. Beautiful hotel on the edge of town (5 minutes in a taxi). Room was very spacious and had a comfortable big bed.We had a beautiful dinner and breakfast the next morning in the hotel. Pool is excellent and although I didn't use the gym it looked wee equipped. Found the staff very good and were on hand to deal with any requests.
Overall package was pricey but it was Valentine's weekend after all!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glenio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to spend your Valentines with us at Hotel Kilkenny. I am delighted you enjoyed the hotel and hopefully we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us again very soon.
Kind regards
Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,829 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    851
    565
    261
    101
    51
See reviews for
390
854
51
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

We spent two nights here. Staff were very nice and the room was well kept and comfortable.

Breakfast was a major disappointment, Huevos Rancheros or a Fry along with your usual cereals, pastry's etc. Very poor quality Fry and the Huevos Rancheros was not eatible.

Dinner in the restaurant was also poor, had to send my steak back.

Would probably try somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Guest ,
Thank you for your review, while I am disappointed to read your comments about the food I also see that overall you enjoyed your time break away. Currently we are reviewing our Breakfast menu options so I will ensure that your comments are passed to our Chef. Thanks again and kind regards
Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Me, one wife and two kids stayed one night mid week. The room had everything we needed. The kids did the kids club which included their meal. Dinner was included in the price and was very good. The breakfast was good too. We used the pool and there was a good gym attached to the hotel. Short walk into the city all good. Decor was a bit hit and miss but in good nick.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for taking the time to review our Hotel. I am delighted your family enjoyed your time with us. Again the Kids Club is a great bonus for all the kids to enjoy ... and the parents too !
Maybe we shall see you again soon.
Regards
Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

The hotel itself is great- excellent facilities, nice rooms etc, but I found the staff truly exceptional! Incredibly warm, friendly and helpful. On our journey to Kilkenny my daughter became ill and we needed a doctor- the receptionist on duty phoned her own doctor and asked them to remain open till we got there. She later rang us to see did we need a fridge and cold drinks/ yogurts brought to the room for my daughter. We received another courtesy call later again that evening to make sure there was nothing we needed. Thankfully, my daughter made a speedy recovery and was eventually able to enjoy the fantastic Kid's Club! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hotel Kilkenny and can't wait to go back again!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank needanicecuppa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Guest,
I am delighted to read your review and also to see that your daughter made a full recovery. The kids club is a great asset for us with no child wanting to go home once they get in there !!!
It will open up again for the Easter School Holidays so maybe we will see you then !
Thanks again and kind regards
Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

I have stayed in this hotel a few times for work and it will always be my first choice for Kilkenny. The only part I am unhappy about is the price of food and the loooong walk to the rooms. The rooms are beautiful , spacious and so comfortable.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Angie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments - we are always looking for feedback from our regular guests and so I will ensure that your comments about the food costings are noted and taken into account on our next review of the menus. Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back to us again very soon.
Regards
Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayo
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

Stayed here for valentines weekend. Restuarant staff very on the ball. all the extras for valentines were lovely.
Rooms are plain and basic but with everything you need.
Food is good not a typical country menu but nice to have something different.
Would definately stay again if i was in kilkenny.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments and great review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and I will ensure your comments are passed to the Kitchen Team. Hopefully we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us again soon.
Regards
Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundalk, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

Stay here regularly always get well looked after. The food is alright and don't want to speak to soon but has actually improved recently. Breakfast ok but could do with some more fresh fruits and stuff that is actually good for you(fyi I stay away alot so a good full irish doesn't always suit) Always get one of the superior rooms which are large but lack that homely/comfy feel (a little like the monart) and imagination. Staff fine some better than others! Leisure centre pretty good plenty of equipment in the gym good sized pool and sauna steam room all working well, it could do with a bit of a face lift but all in all clean and more than acceptable. Not a bad hotel at all!

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank grumpyrep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Guest,
Another repeat guest ! Customer feedback is very important to us and none more so that from our repeat Guests.... so thank you for your comments. We have just completed the upgrade on our standard rooms and the Club rooms which you mention are next !.... this hopefully will be done over the next few months. Hopefully on your next stay you will see the improvements. Thanks again for taking the time to post your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Regards
Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
1.7 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,818 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,672 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,601 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kilkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kilkenny

Property: Hotel Kilkenny
Address: College Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#6 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#7 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kilkenny 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Hotel Kilkenny with 138 bedrooms is less than 10 min walk from the City Centre. Free ultrafast wireless broadband in public spaces. Facilities include: 20m swimming pool, superb gym, beauty lodge, onsite hair salon, in door golf swim analysis room and superb kids club. Live music three nights a week in Pure Bar. State of the art conference and wedding facilities. Free car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Kilkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Kilkenny
Kilkenny Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing