We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful hotel”
Review of Hotel Kilkenny

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Kilkenny
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2014

we spent one night here on our tour of ireland and we were not disappointed , due to a mix up on my part (i booked a day later than i should have) the staff were very helpful and found a room for us , the room was immaculate and beautiful , only bad point was we were on ground floor and due to there being no restricter on window we had to keep it closed during the night but everything else was fantastic

Room Tip: the room was very comfortable and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anne e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotekilkenny, Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review..... I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. I will ensure your great comments are passed on to the Team. Thanks again and kind regards
Richard Carty
Deputy General Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,058)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,263 - 1,269 of 2,058 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014

Booked last minute via the booking.com app and arrived minutes later. Loved the room, had everything that as required including tea/coffee making facilities and the bed was really comfy.

One of the staff members was able to help make another hole in my belt for me a steak knife was asked for to do it so thanks for that!

Only downside was that the shower wasn't as powerful as I would normally expect from a hotel.

The big chair in the reception area was great for a fab new Facebook profile picture!

Thanks for making my stay in Kilkenny so welcoming.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotekilkenny, Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear Guest,
I am delighted you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for your kind comments and I look forward to welcoming you back to us again very soon.
Kind regards
Richard Carty
Deputy General Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights , booked a triple room with three single beds which turned out to be a double room size with a small bathroom and one tiny shower gel given each day to share between three of us . upon checking in the receptionist was very sour and seemed eager to be paid up front . The decor of the hotel is jaded and the breakfast on the saturday was absolutely vile . The food in the bar was lovely and the bar staff vey accommodating. No swim hats were required for the pool. Jacuzzi was lovely . In all my 26 yrs of travelling this is the first time I have ever been to a hotel where the customer service was so bad . It's website is misleading and taxis are needed every time to go into the centre. There was a wait for a table on the sunday for breakfast and the waiter never returned with the newspaper he went off to get for us. I would not recommend this hotel at all .

Room Tip: Don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eileen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotekilkenny, Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hotel Kilkenny. I have met with our accommodation manager regarding your comments. We are always happy to provide extra supplies to rooms for our guests on request. Our front office team have also been briefed and we pride ourselves on having positive, friendly people working with us and your feedback has been addressed. We are a 10-12 min walk from the town centre and taxis are readily available for anyone who wishes to avail of them. I’m delighted you enjoyed the food and service in our bar.

Thanks again for your review.

Richard Carty
Deputy General Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Stayed over the St. Patricks weekend and six nations final, so town was busy with a great atmosphere. Hotel was busy as there was a wedding, not much noise from party though. The toilet hardly flushed and the shower was dated. I, like others have said would class this as only a 3 star bedroom but as for the food it was excellent. We arrived late on Friday evening and had a couple of drinks in the bar. It was the most soulless place I have ever been in. A short walk to the town. Staff we're very friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank a_muldoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Guest,
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us... thank you for the kind review. We look forward to welcoming you back to us again in the near future.
Kind regards
Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I availed of a very reasonably priced Midweek break of 3 B&B and 1 Dinner in Hotel Kilkenny last week. The hotel is conveniently located within a 15 minute walk of the major shopping areas and Kilkenny Castle. The room was spacious and clean. The Breakfast was excellent as was the dinner. The staff were extremely courteous. The gym in the Leisure Centre was very well equipped and the swimming pool was first rate.

Room Tip: The rooms ending in an uneven number (e.g. 201, 203 205, etc.) seem to have a better view!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Guest,
I am delighted you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for your kind comments and I look forward to welcoming you back to us again very soon.
Kind regards
Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Hotel kilkenny is situated at the southern end of the city. It's only 10-15 mins walk from the centre, so pretty accessible but quiet. I would say it's more like a good 3 star than a 4 star, but since the room rates are more 3 star than 4, that is fair enough as far as I'm concerned. Staff are all friendly and efficient. The room was very comfortable. Good firm bed, nice ensuite and no noise from neighbours - the 3 things that mean the most to me in a hotel room!

breakfast was fine but arrived too fast to have been cooked to order. There was nothing really wrong with it but for me cooking to order is one of the things that differentiates a 4 star from a 3 star. Bar was nice and comfortable with a good drinks selection and good service.

Gym is very well equipped. Pool also very good.

I would certainly recommend the hotel kilkenny. They're not getting very much wrong at all!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Rob1060660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to posted your comments on TripAdvisor. I am delighted you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Kind regards
Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Good food,good services. Comfortable clean spacious deluxe room . leisure facilities clean well equipped. Quarter bottles wine absent in bar. Found this unusual. Funky decor in lobby corridors. Enjoyable dinner good choice. Stayed as a couple on weekend package.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank telltaler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear Guest,
I am delighted you enjoyed your time with us. As we hold a large wine selection and offer a lot of wines by the glass we don't feel that demand would also be there for 1/4 bottles, however I have passed your comments onto the Bar Manager. Thanks again and hopefully we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us again soon.
Kind regards
Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
1.6 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,044 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,844 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Lyrath Estate
Lyrath Estate
#6 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,552 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#9 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,765 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#4 of 19 in Kilkenny
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kilkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kilkenny

Address: College Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#6 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#6 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range: £60 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kilkenny 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Hotel Kilkenny with 138 bedrooms is less than 10 min walk from the City Centre. Free ultrafast wireless broadband in public spaces. Facilities include: 20m swimming pool, superb gym, beauty lodge, onsite hair salon, in door golf swim analysis room and superb kids club. Live music three nights a week in Pure Bar. State of the art conference and wedding facilities. Free car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Kilkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Kilkenny
Kilkenny Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing