We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst breakfast ever”
Review of Hotel Kilkenny

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Kilkenny
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stayed here to attend a meeting in Kilkenny and decided to stay overnight to save the long drive back.
First impressions:
The hotel is well presented and clean, check in was fast.
Rooms:
The rooms are of a fair standard although not air conditioned which was a surprise
Food:
Stayed on B&B basis and was looking forward to breakfast in the morning and was delighted to see it was a waiting service breakfast, however after a long wait we had to seat ourselves and it was another long wait until we were asked for our order, this was followed by another long wait for the Drink and food, both of which would have been described as poor buffet quality, other members of our meeting who also stayed later commented that it was posible the worse breakfast they had ever had and I would concur!
Facilities:
Good facilities from meeting rooms to bars and resturants
Local area:
20 minute walk into main Kilkenny, would pick something more central if visiting the centre.
Staff and Service:
Receiption staff are very nice and efficient in performing their role, catering staff however showed little interest in customer service.

Will not stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Slowey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Slowey,

Thank you for your feedback. At Hotel Kilkenny we deliver immense training to all our staff to ensure each guest enjoys a first class experience. I want to personally apologies for the shortcomings you experienced in our Hotel. I would like to show you this during another possible stay. If you wish to email me directly, to check availability and consider staying at the Hotel again so we can try and display this. Thank you once again for your feedback as it is only through customer feedback that we can improve.

Kind Regards,
Ciara Lawlor
Front Office Manager
clawlor@hotelkilkenny.ie

We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,040)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,164 - 1,170 of 2,040 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed in 225 last week during hot spell, room itself was lovely but with no air con it was absolutely baking which left it a bit uncomfortable. Staff in restaurant very helpful and attentive with a special mention to Ross who brought my 5 year old daughter over to Buffett table for treats! Overall I would certainly stay again but would be checking the weather to ensure low temperatures.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chahill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Chahill,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Trip Advisor community. As the weather in Ireland has been fantastic unfortunately it does have its draw backs, as we are not used to this climate, there is not much demand for air conditioning in the rooms. I am delighted to read that your recent stay with us was enjoyable and that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful. Hopefully we will have the chance to welcome you back again soon and exceed your expectations.

With Kindest Regards,

Ciara Lawlor

Front Office Manager

We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My couple and I stayed here for a weekend and the hotel staff and atmosphere was excellent! We both had a treatment in the lovely spa and a great meal in the restaurant! Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone! Will be back soon!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Tara M,

I am delighted that you had such a wonderful stay at the hotel and that you took the time to share your experience with others. I will be sure to pass on your compliments to the Orchard Spa team and the entire team here!
Thank you once again for taking the time to review your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back soon,

Warm Regards,

Ciara Lawlor
Front Office Manager

_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

It's a modern business hotel and doesn't have a lot of charm. But it's well equipped and clean. Our room faced west and, with no air con, was extremely hot (even at 11pm). The reception staff provided a fan though so that helped. Breakfast service was slow. We were seated and then had to wait 10 mins to be asked if we wanted team or coffee, and for our cooked order to be taken. And that was only because I went and grabbed a waiter. There were plenty of staff on duty but they seemed adept at avoiding eye contact! Quality of breakfast was okay but I'm sure "fresh fruit" doesn't come from tins in syrup as theirs did

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Andy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotekilkenny, General Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Andy

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are currently experiencing exceptionally humid weather for Ireland and air con would not be common place in hotel bedrooms. I'm delighted the fan helped. I ave also discussed your comments with our breakfast team, and thank you for bringing these to my attention

i hope you will visit us again

Best regards

David Byrne
General Manager
dbyrne@hotelkilkenny.ie
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We were here for a business meeting and just hired a room for the morning. As usual we had ordered tea/coffee/biscuits at the start of the meeting and we were provided with plates of the most scrumptious home baked cookies, that simply melted in the mouth. All the attendees commented on the quality. Later, we had lunch in the bar and the bar food menu was excellent. Staff were most attentive and friendly and it was a pleasure doing business here. This hotel seems to have been renovated since we were last there and they've done a good job.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank skindiverDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotekilkenny, General Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your great review. Great to get feed back regarding our conference facilities and I'm delighted we could facilitate your meeting, and the attendees all had positive feed back. I hope we can provide our conference service for you again in the future.

Best regards

David Byrne
General Manager
dbyrne@hotelkilkenny.ie
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My husband and i stayed at the hotel for our wedding anniversary on the 18th of July. We got an upgrade to the second bridal suite which was not really a suite but a nicer room but it was still lovely. the furniture was white with a little 'distressed look' which was very classy and a nice change from the traditional brown. We had food in the bar which was lovely. The Receptionists were very friendly and efficient. Breakfast was a little slow in getting tea/coffee and toast. The buffet area was very small and had the cereals, juices etc. and you ordered your hot food from a menu. This is a good idea as it stops you from filling up your plate too much! Overall i loved this hotel and would definitely recommend it and go back. It was also nice to not be in the middle of the city and have a nice quiet surrounding.

Room Tip: ask if there is a wedding/large party so that you can get a room away from it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank shoeloverCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotekilkenny, General Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your great review. Its always great to be able to share positive feed back with the team. I hope you will visit again soon, and thanks again for taking the time to review your stay.

Best regards

David Byrne
General Manager
dbyrne@hotelkilkenny.ie
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Hotel and Staff second to none , best place I ever stayed with children, and with the kiddies club I got a little me time too to enjoy my dinner, defiantly going back again , staff very warm and couldn't do enough, leisure centre fantastic , well catered for children, even down to the cot in the changing rooms to allow me dress, can't wait for my next stay, only thing I would say is the lack if signage when trying to find it coming from Dublin, but that would be the only thing

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillianmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotekilkenny, General Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for the fantastic feed back. I'm delighted you and the kids had a great stay. We get great feed back regarding the kids club and leisure center. Great to hear you are coming back and we look forward to welcoming you all back!

Best regards

David Byrne
General Manager
dbyrne@hotelkilkenny.ie
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
1.6 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,031 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,831 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,751 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#5 of 19 in Kilkenny
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kilkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kilkenny

Address: College Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#6 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#6 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range: £59 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kilkenny 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Hotel Kilkenny with 138 bedrooms is less than 10 min walk from the City Centre. Free ultrafast wireless broadband in public spaces. Facilities include: 20m swimming pool, superb gym, beauty lodge, onsite hair salon, in door golf swim analysis room and superb kids club. Live music three nights a week in Pure Bar. State of the art conference and wedding facilities. Free car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Kilkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Kilkenny
Kilkenny Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing