We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below Standard for a 4 STAR Hotel”
Review of Hotel Kilkenny

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Kilkenny
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I stayed at the Hotel Kilkenny last night 02/08 - Having stayed there, I am to say the least surprised to hear that this hotel has a 4 STAR rating. I paid extra to upgrade to a Deluxe Room - B sure to check that your room has Air conditioning. Our room did not have air conditioning and it crested a terrible warm and stuffy environment.We had to sleep with the balcony doors open to allow for a limited amount of air!. That brings me to to balcony or ledge/double window which would be a better description. My final piece pf feedback comes from breakfast - not the food it was acceptable (could be better for a 4-STAR) but rather the rude action of one of the staff members who was attempting to herd us through the breakfast room no better than cattle. - I could also go on about our attempt to book a taxi which left us late for a dinner reservation. On the positive side - The Fitness center was great.

Room Tip: Ask if the room has Air Conditioning (AC) - if it does not have AC - Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank WorldT2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear WorldT2000,

Your experience with breakfast has been noted and it is with constructive criticism we can continue to improve our service and product.
We were delighted to note your appreciation of our club bar personnel and their excellent level of service of which such comments we receive on an ongoing basis.

Thank you once again for your feedback,

Ciara Lawlor
Front Office Manager

We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,040)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,153 - 1,159 of 2,041 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for a wedding over the bank holiday weekend, I was blown away by the attention to detail that was evident throughout the hotel. The meal was a truly top class dining expierence and was the talking point among the guests. We arrived to a very busy reception area to check in. The staff were very friendly and efficient. After check in we dropped our bags up the the room and again were very surprised with the room decor. It was modern and clean with all the facilities. Went to the bar and was welcomed by all the staff we met and made feel right at home. Once the bell had rang to call the guests into the function room this is when the real efficiency kicked in. The staff were fantastic from start to finish of the meal and for the rest of the night ensuring everything ran smoothly. The following day we had a BBQ for the remaining wedding guests and again couldn't be faulted. Staff were great and the food was fantastic. Hotel Kilkenny is an ideal venue for weddings and I'm sure for many other functions too. Will defiantly be back again and hopefully get to use the leisure facilities that look great !! Well done hotel Kilkenny the guests were very happy indeed.

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank 9,174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

excellent hotel , beautiful surroundings, leisure club and pool facilities brilliant. rooms spotless and our room was cleaned even though we only stayed 2 nights. staff were extremely helpful and pleasant.the reason i give this 4 stars and not 5 is....some items at breakfast were not available as we went down at 9.30 even though breakfast is served til 10 and the cocktails were a bit pricey for what we got.

Room Tip: free wifi but it was dreadful...kids complained about it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank finola999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

It was the 1st stop on a 3 week vacation. Room was nice and clean and staff was very helpful. Close to town and easy to get around. Nice breakfast but be warned to not get there too late or the fresh fruit will be gone with the bus crowd. Music at night was really nice as well with Tomas Jackman, bought his CDs and have listened and sung along as we have cruised Ireland!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blondie090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Blondie090,

Thank you for you review from your recent stay with us.
I am glad to read you had a nice stay with us and the location of the hotel was convenient for you. I was also so happy to read you enjoyed our live music in the hotel's Pure bar, as it is a real extra treat!

Warm Regards,

Ciara Lawlor
Front Office Manger

We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here at a wedding a few weeks back and the decor was lovely but still didn't feel like a getaway. It's a average stay and noting to exciting to point out. Rooms need air con as it was summer and was extra stuffy. Food was nice but just nice, again noting to get excited about.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Finola999,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review from your recent stay with us.
As for your kind comments in relation to 'extremely helpful staff , our staff and management are extremely pleased to read these comments!

Kind Regards,

Ciara Lawlor
Front Office Manager

We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The Hotel Kilkenny is a wonderful place to stay! The staff was amazing, especially
Claire at the front desk and Ciaran in the pub (where the food and staff were all amazing)! We had a triple room and stayed 5 nights then later returned for a single night in July 2014. Parking was provided free; the location was wonderful--all our needs were met and then some! We felt like we were returning "home" when we returned for a single night's stay. I can't recommend this hotel enough!!

Room Tip: Probably not a bad room in the hotel! We had a large triple with 3 beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank ReaHappyCamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Reahappycamper,

Thank you so much for your lovely review,
It is lovely to read your comments and to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us.
I am so happy that nothing was too much trouble for the team and I have passed your comments on.
I really hope we have the pleasure to welcome you back again soon,

Warm Regards,

Ciara Lawlor
Front Office Manager

We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I read most reviews before booking this Hotel and 2 things struck me that needs changing which having stayed there I can agree with. The need for Air Con in rooms and the awful cheap pink chairs in the rooms. I heard the hotel staff explain to anyone who complained about the heat in rooms that this is just a freak Irish heatwave we are having but if you check on Tripadvisor this has been pointed out over last few years to the management of the hotel so its not a freak once off. The management should at least get the windows changed to allow them to fully open if the are not going to get air con. Second issue is the cheap dolls chairs in the rooms. Anyone over 10 stone will be nervous sitting in these chairs as the are so feeble they feel as if they will collapse under ones weight. If these issues are addressed this hotel could truly will get 5 star reviews as well as be the number one hotel in tripadvisor reviews of hotels in kilkenny.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rmrc43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Ray412529,

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay with us.
We always appreciate feedback from our guests. I will take these comments on board, regarding improving the hotel standards.
As it is only through customer feedback that we can improve.

Kind Regards,

Ciara Lawlor
Front Office Manager

We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
1.6 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,031 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,831 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,751 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#5 of 19 in Kilkenny
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kilkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kilkenny

Address: College Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#6 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#6 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range: £60 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kilkenny 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Hotel Kilkenny with 138 bedrooms is less than 10 min walk from the City Centre. Free ultrafast wireless broadband in public spaces. Facilities include: 20m swimming pool, superb gym, beauty lodge, onsite hair salon, in door golf swim analysis room and superb kids club. Live music three nights a week in Pure Bar. State of the art conference and wedding facilities. Free car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Kilkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Kilkenny
Kilkenny Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing