We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful modern hotel”
Review of Hotel Kilkenny

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Kilkenny
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Waterford
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Beautiful modern hotel”
Reviewed 25 June 2009

I recently stayed at Hotel Kilkenny for three nights with my boyfriend as we were attending a wedding there. I cannot say enough good things about this hotel from the moment we checked in the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The decor is very impressive very trendy and our room was gorgeous really bright and clean and there was even a box of Lilly O Brien choclates left for us!! The morning of the wedding I had my hair done and some beauty treatments in the beauty salon in the hotel again the staff were wonderful and there was a lovely atmosphere.The wedding was great the function room is huge and has a celling to floor lenght window at one end which looks out over the city the food was delicious as it was throughout our stay. We also spent alought of time in the bar which has an extensive drink list and more yummy food. The hotel is also in a great location near the city centre and lots of nice shops.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lozy_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,954 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    915
    599
    279
    107
    54
See reviews for
429
911
52
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athlone
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2009

i have to say that I do not normally put up reviews but Wow. From the moment the phone was answered by a lovely girl called Susan she was so good gave loads of tips on where to go and what to do, I decided to go for 2 nights bed and breakfast and dinner as well and it was really reasonable too. From the moment we arrived we very very happy loads of carparking and the sun was shinning so all good checked in no worries very helpful staff got offered help with our bags the lot they ask you on check in as well to make your dinner reservation so that was a good idea as the restuarant is busy in a good way as least you know it is popular with the locals !!
then the room again spotless clean couldn't fault anything huge bed and bathroom and you have fab views too.
we headed into town on the friday night again to a few pubs that the reservations girl had said. again the staff here will do everything for you we got a taxi straight away and he gave us a card so we could call him to pick us up when we wanted to come home.
breakfast is yummy and then followed by trip to the castle shopping and a dip in the pool. this really was a fab weekend it was just pure relaxing we had dinner which i can only say just wants me to go back it was divine.
Bascially this was a fantastic friendly supper hotel with the best staff ever.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryJaneEllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
we
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2009

I stayed in Kilkenny last weekend with my girlfriend and i must say this hotel is fantastic and right in the heart of Kilkenny. I honestly cant relate to any negative comments here. The food was delicious and enjoyed one of the best chicken currys in the bar. (miles ahead of "5 star Lyrath where i was served raw prawns in some kind of vomit batter that saturday, also the staff if you could call them that where disgraceful.) anyway i honestly cant say enough about Hotel Kilkenny you can see from the very first moment you arrive it is a unique hotel. A must Stay if your travelling to Kilkenny.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2009

We had decided to stay in Kilkenny for and extra night and being a Saturday we knew we would have to take what we could get. What we got was 240 euro per room worth of average. The rooms we average size for a motel and definatley nothing to write home about. Maybe we had been spoiled staying at Butler House the night before for half the price. There were 3 weddings on so the service was rather slow and they totally forgot about our breakfast orders so we waited almost and hour for those.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestAussieGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2009

Really quiet rooms, really good check in and food lovely. location good and lots of parking. Really good gym and swimming pool - look foward to going back

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy_IE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2009

Only stayed one night in this hotel but wish i stayed longer. The hotel was fab. The beds are the most comfortable beds and the room was lovely. Very modern Hotel. Pure bar was also a lively a very lively bar. The Gentleman (i didn't get his name) checking us in on 4/4/09 was very friendly. All in all had a wonderful stay. I would def recommend this hotel to any one

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisle, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2009

We just loved this hotel. We did a trip around Scotland and Ireland—staying only one night most places—Hotel Kilkenny included. As soon as we arrived to the hotel, we immediately regretted not booking 2 nights. Facilities were clean and in excellent condition. There was a bar area within the hotel and, for the price, the rooms were very nice—I would have expected to pay more, actually. The pool and fitness area was great and the location to town was a nice, maybe, 15 min walk. We traveled July of 2008; I do regret my delay in writing this review—hopefully better late than never! We still talk about this hotel and the town nearly a year later; it was just so nice.

Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HennyGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
1.6 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,920 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.6 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#9 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,687 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
#14 of 19 in Kilkenny
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kilkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kilkenny

Property: Hotel Kilkenny
Address: College Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#6 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#7 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kilkenny 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Hotel Kilkenny with 138 bedrooms is less than 10 min walk from the City Centre. Free ultrafast wireless broadband in public spaces. Facilities include: 20m swimming pool, superb gym, beauty lodge, onsite hair salon, in door golf swim analysis room and superb kids club. Live music three nights a week in Pure Bar. State of the art conference and wedding facilities. Free car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Kilkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Kilkenny
Kilkenny Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing