We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“relaxing romantic get away”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Kilkenny

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Kilkenny
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Enniscorthy, Ireland
1 review
“relaxing romantic get away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2011

stayed a saturday night in the hotel, staff on arrival friendly and helpful, rooms were lovely and clean and very modern. the website info was very accurate about the accommadation. we had dinner in the bar Pure, beautiful food and live music, good atmosphere. we did not avail of the leisure centre. great stay would go back again. close to city centre

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enniscorthygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotekilkenny, Group Operations Director at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, 14 March 2011
Dear Guest,
would like to thank you for posting your comments on TripAdvisor.
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, I will ensure that your kind comments are passed onto my Team here at Hotel Kilkenny.
I look forward to welcoming you back to us again very soon

Kind regards
Michael Griffin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,827 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    851
    563
    261
    101
    51
See reviews for
389
853
51
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2011

We very much enjoyed our stay at Hotel Kilkenny. Each member of staff was helpful, warm and courteous. The building itself is modern, well kept and very clean. The beds are like baskets of heaven..so luxurious and comfortable! The buffet breakfast was very tasty. The Hotel is off the main road, so very easy to get to, and yet it was very quiet and peaceful. We were really close to Kilkenny Castle and Kilkenny Design Centre, as well as some great shops and walks. The leisure centre is amazing. We had a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miss_Galway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2011

Stayed here with the girls at the weekend, had a great time, from the time we arrived to the time we left we were very impressed. The staff were friendly , the rooms clean and warm, the food was excellent which is unusual for a hotel, there was music in the bar on both nights so we didnt have to go down town. All in all we had a great stay and I would definitely recommend the Hotel Kilkenny .

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CSomers24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2011

We had a wonderful 2 night stay at this hotel with dinner one evening.We had complementary upgrade to a deluxe room ( which was lovely).Staff were all very pleasant from reception ,to bar to restaurant.We both agree that food was extremely good for both dinner and breakfast.I loved this hotel.We did find the pool cold however.We would definatly stay again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yodasmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2011

Not a four star. Staff very helpful and pleasant.Rooms need an update-old fashioned.Hotel bar expensive they even increased the prices after midnight.They sold glasses of wine from 75cl bottles at five euro a glass which was cheap plonk-the Celtic tiger is not dead yet.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tipperary123999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IRELAND
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2011

My husband and I and our 3 children aged 5 & 2 and 6 months stayed at this hotel for 2 nights which was very pleasant. Our bedroom was plenty big for the 5 of us, 1 double, 1 single and 2 cots. A mini fridge was also offered to us which was very useful for baby food etc especially as the room was very warm. The children loved the leisure centre and also the eldest attended the kids club for an hours am and pm on the Saturday which was a nice treat for him. The bar was ideal for dining, the head waitress/bartender 'Ola" was excellent, so efficient and friendly and very welcoming to the kids. There was also good music in the bar both nights which again was a nice treat for the kids, they loved the live entertainment. Breakfast was also lovely.

The only thing I could fault this hotel on is the Reception staff, found that they were not very knowledgeable about 'things to do' in Kilkenny etc. Luckily i had done my own research on this area. Other that that the Reception staff were very friendly and helpful.
The town is about 20mins walk with kids, not 8 minutes which I think it says on their webpage.

As regards things to do, the Reptile Zoo was a big hit with the kids and I think it is the only one in Ireland. We also went the castle and there is an excellent playground in the castle grounds. The restaurant in the Design Centre is spacious for kids but a bit on the pricey side!. We also went to the 'Discovery Park' in Castlecomer which was quite nice, nice forest trails,lakes, also playground and some pottery shops etc and a nice coffee shop.

Overall we had a wonderful weekend, kids were crying leaving..... I would recommend this hotel and I hope to return for a visit at some time in the future.

Anne (Cork)

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SabrinaIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2011

The hotel was no easy to find. It is not very well signposted. We usually stay in the Pembroke hotel in Kilkenny which is fabulous but decided we wanted a pool this time so opted for the hotel kilkenny. Parking was not adequte as we hate to wait quite some time to get a space. The reception area is very nice and well decorated. Check in was quick and easy. We opted for a standard room. Room was ok although I felt there was too much furniture in it. Bathroom was not half as attractively decorated as the bedroom. The bedroom decor was nice , although some finishing touches would have been nicer. I found the room service to be overpriced so we went to the bar. For two club sandwiches and two cokes it cost nearly thirty euro. I find this overpriced for what only can be described as average food. We ate in the city and returned to the bar for a drink. The bar was really nice and had a great atmosphere. A live band was playing and this really added to the atmosphere. The walls in our room were not thick enough and unfortunately we heard alot of party goes returning up till 5am. This did not help me get a good sleep. Average hotel. Would definitely choose the pembroke the next time.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cannonball2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
1.7 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,813 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,667 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#9 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,599 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kilkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kilkenny

Property: Hotel Kilkenny
Address: College Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#6 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#7 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kilkenny 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Hotel Kilkenny with 138 bedrooms is less than 10 min walk from the City Centre. Free ultrafast wireless broadband in public spaces. Facilities include: 20m swimming pool, superb gym, beauty lodge, onsite hair salon, in door golf swim analysis room and superb kids club. Live music three nights a week in Pure Bar. State of the art conference and wedding facilities. Free car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Kilkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Kilkenny
Kilkenny Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing