We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't be back”
Review of Newpark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Newpark Hotel
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2011

The hotel was way too hot and air circulation was at a minimum. Our room was average but the extractor fan in the bathroom was broken. I called reception on three occasions to report it and each time was like it was the first time they had heard the complaint and they did nothing about it for the duration of our stay. On our third day housekeeping asked if we wanted our room clean? This shouldn't be a question asked to guests. Surely this is a service that is provided without question. One morning at breakfast my father asked for kiwis. After about ten minutes a nice waiter came back saying he was really sorry but they had no more. About twenty minutes later when I was leaving there was a whole bowl of kiwis in the buffet. At dinner one night,the drinks consumed by my father and brother in law were split between our three rooms. I was to find this out later at check out. This is a disgrageful policy. Why not have the guest sign for drinks if the wait staff are unsure which room the drink buying guest is from. While most of the staff were pleasant (but not at all efficient) and the food was tasty (but way over priced) the hotel lacked atmosphere and was very impersonal. The kids club was not a hit either. Making kids watch a movie instead of playing games with them is a cop out. Nice touch with the newspaper in the morning but to not give it on the morning of check-out makes me wonder how much thought goes into your marketing? Me, my sister's family and my parents all left thinking cheap cheap cheap....... These little savings are not worth the impression you are leaving on the customer.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caitriona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adermody, Director of Sales at Newpark Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2011

Dear Caitriona,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it was a pleasure to have you and your family stay at the Newpark Hotel. However I am dissapoined to hear that you were not happy with your experience at the Newpark Hotel.
I have taken all of your observations on board and I have scheduled a meeting with all of the department heads where all the issues which you highlighted will discussed in order to rectify them and ensure there is no reoccurance of the same.

We would love to welcome you back with your family, if you decide to return please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Once again thank you for takeing the time to write this review as it is only by recieving constructive feedback that we can impove the service here at the Newpark Hotel.

Regards and best wishes,

Aileen Dermody

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,044)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,818 - 1,824 of 2,044 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2011

We met with family for afternoon lunch. The staff were friendly, food was tasty and well presented. However, my mother is a wheelchair user. On entering the hotel, the first door opened outwards and unfortunately the second inside door opened outwards also. This meant that we had to move the wheelchair back outside the first door to gain entry. It was impossible for me to hold two doors opened at once and therefore I had to ask another guest for assistance. This inconvenience was embarrassing for mother who suggested that she would not be interested in visiting this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellingcouple365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adermody, Director of Sales at Newpark Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2011

Dear Family0o6,

Thank you for takeing the time to write a review, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our food and service. However I am dissapointed to hear that you did not feel that our infrastructure was suitable for your needs. Customer satisfaction is one of the highest priorities here in Newpark Hotel and it is only by receiving constructive customer comments that we will ensure that our guests receive first class service and facilities at all times.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Regards and best wishes,

Aileen Dermody

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Very comfortable stay at Newpark Hotel. Quiet at night, good buzz in the bar. Food very tasty, well presented. Staff very friendly and helpfull. Loved the outdoor jacussi and relaxation room.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maryd62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adermody, Director of Sales at Newpark Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2011

Dear Maryd62,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review we appreiate your feedback.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience here at the Newpark Hotel.

I look forwared to welcoming you back.


Regards and best wishes,

Aileen Dermody

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

From arrival to departure the atmosphere, service and product were exceedingly good.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teddybozo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adermody, Director of Sales at Newpark Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2011

Dear Teddybozo,

Thank you for your review, I am delighted you enjoyed your event here at the Newpark Hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

We really appreiate you takeing the time to write a review as it is only by recieving feedback that we can improve on the Newpark Experience.

Regards and best wishes,

Aileen Dermody

Aileen Dermody

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We stayed for five nights in the Newpark Kilkenny in August 2011. We had the time of our lives, the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We were treated like we were the only guests and pampered from start to finish. The kids club allowed my husband and I a break and to spend some quality time together without the kids. Food was excellent and the accommodation superb.We will be returning if we can get a reservation!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mbren7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

From my first dealings with Marcella in the hotel i found her to be very help full in my booking, nothing was a problem for her. Even to taxi advise to dealing with me changing my room bookings on several occasions. We had a fab meal in a lovely room, the table was set like it would be at a wedding the waiting staff were excellent, the bar staff and reception staff nothing was a problem. We had a treatment in the spa so enjoyed the staff were lovely. There was 17 girls in total who stayed and all had a ball.. Thank you so much. Olive

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olive3519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adermody, Director of Sales at Newpark Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2011

Dear Olive3591,

Thank you for your kind words it was a pleasure having you stay at the hotel.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your weekend and we look forwad to having you all stay again.

Thanks again for taking the time to write a review.

Regards and best wishes,

Aileen Dermody

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We got a great deal through a third party website and stayed here on the second weekend in July.
We were quickly checked in by a lovely lady who told us everything we needed to know. Our rooms are right at the back of the hotel in the old part of the hotel, I noticed some bad reviews earlier for this part of the hotel but to be honest, we could not fault the room, it was clean and spacious and was very good for the price.
The bar was OK, we went for a few drinks on the Friday night and found there was no atmosphere in the bar, not even any music playing in the background.
We got breakfast to the room every morning for an extra 5 Euro Per Person, the food was good and also right on time.
All in all, we were very satisfied with this hotel and would definitely go back

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keegan_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adermody, Director of Sales at Newpark Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2011

Dear Keegan_80,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it was a pleasure to have you stay.

We really appreciate your honest feedback it is only by acting on this that we can improve guests experiences at the Newpark Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Thanks again for writing the review.

Regards and best wishes,

Aileen Dermody

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
2.3 mi away
Lyrath Estate
Lyrath Estate
#6 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,552 reviews
1 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,844 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#5 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
9.7 mi away
Mount Juliet Estate
Mount Juliet Estate
#1 of 2 in Thomastown
1,065 reviews
1 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#9 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newpark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newpark Hotel

Address: Castlecomer Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#1 Spa Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range: £60 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Newpark Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only a short stroll from the historic city of Kilkenny with its rambling streets and beautiful castle. Our hotel boasts 129 luxuriously appointed guestrooms and suites, many rooms offer views over the luscious green gardens which extend onto the urban Fen walk, Newpark adventure trail, and wildlife farm all positioned within our 40 acres of peaceful parkland. Within each room category guests are provided with a multi-channel flat screen V, tea/coffee making facilities, bottled water and complimentary WI-FI access. Scrumptious dining facilities await you in our fine dining Gulliver’s restaurant or choose from our casual dining options in the popular Scott’s Bar & Brasserie or our newly opened Terrace bar & outdoor restaurant. Step inside our Escape Health club and Aveda spa to unwind, take time out in the hands of our therapists or recharge your batteries in our 17m swimming pool, outdoor infinity pool or our relaxation and thermal suites. A warm welcome awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Newpark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newpark Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing