We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely recommend this hotel to all.”
Review of Newpark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Newpark Hotel
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Dubin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Definitely recommend this hotel to all.”
Reviewed 14 September 2011

We are just back from a truely relaxing break in the newpark. This Hotel is a little out of the city which meant we had to drive into the city but we had two small babies with us and the weather was dreadful. However even the weather did spoil our holiday from the time we arrived we were made feel so welcome the porter helped us with our bags and nothing was ever a problem. This was our first time away with our two babies and didn't know what to expect but the rooms were great we had the ground floor executive rooms with interconnecting doors to our other room(granny came along too).
Cots were up and ready for us on arrival and both rooms were clean and cost with all the usual, tea/ coffee making facilities. We had breakfast to the room on the first day which was lovely but it meant we missed out on what can only be described as a feast they do a fabulous buffet breakfast and staff were amazing in always rushing to get us highchairs and pots of tea or coffee they never stopped being friendly to our children and oursleves, we are in the carvery and this was really tasty also I have to say you will not be disappointed in the food here as my other half is what we would call" fussy eater " and he devoured all
Meals handed to him with out a word said, truly a miracle! The swimming pool and gym are great however the children's pool temp is cold for small ones it could do with being one or two degrees higher. But the outdoor steam pool was an amazing treat And lovely to sit in even in the lashings of rain. The bar itself could do a bit music or something outside in the lobby as it can be a bit lacking in atmosphere in the evening but we we exhausted most nights but if we had been a couple on our own it would have been nice to have something to listen to rather then heading into the city at night. If your looking for somewhere that's clean , friendly and excellent value for money than I can not fault this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ingobear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adermody, Director of Sales at Newpark Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2011
Dear Ingobear,

Thank you for the review, I am delighted to hear that your stay was not marred by the dreadfull weather and that you were able to enjoy our out door infinity pool even in bad weather.

We look forward to your next visit which I am sure you will enjoy just as much.

Thanks again

Regards and best wishes,

Aileen Dermody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,866 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,055
    540
    158
    73
    40
See reviews for
713
571
21
129
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kilcock, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Stayed in hotel for 3 nites with my husband and 9mth old baby. Could not fault this hotel, Reception were v efficient and friendly, check in was hassle free and added bonus of free parking. The lobby was lovely with plenty seats, rooms were modern and spacious. The hotel is very child friendly, very welcoming of children. Only slight issue for me was no fridge in room to keep babies food chilled but staff were very helpful re heating bottles and storing baby food. Great pool. Ate in the hotel on two nites food was nice service was good and plenty choice. Hotel is only 10/12 minute walk from kilkenny.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adermody, Director of Sales at Newpark Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2011
Dear Dee 298,

Thanks for your kind words it was a pleasure to have you and your family stay at the Hotel.

I am also pleased to hear that you enjoyed our facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Regards and best wishes,

Aileen Dermody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 September 2011

I would like to thank all the staff at the Newpark Hotel for making my stay such an excellent one. The accomodation, food, facilities and friendliness of the staff were all excellent and i am sorry that i could not have stayed for longer. This is the first time i have left comment on trip advisor but thought the hotel deserved it. I will definitely look to stay at this hotel again when i am in the area.

Colin T

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adermody, Director of Sales at Newpark Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2011
Dear Colin T,

Thank you for your kind words it was a pleasure to have you stay at the Newpark Hotel.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our food and our facilities.

We look forward to having you and your family stay in the near future.

Regards and best wishes,

Aileen Dermody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

A great hotel, very child friendly. Great pool. Food excellent as we ate there both nights. Couldnt say a bad thing about the place.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frodo2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adermody, Director of Sales at Newpark Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2011
Dear frodo2323,

Thank you for your kind words it was pleasure to welcome you and your family to the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Regards and best wishes,

Aileen Dermody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Did'nt get to stay in the Hotel, but we had a family get together and everything was Superb. The food was great, the staff (all Irish ;) ) were courteous, friendly, and efficent. When we return to Kilkenny we will stay at the Newpark for sure. Well Done.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shivvyq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adermody, Director of Sales at Newpark Hotel, responded to this review, 15 September 2011
Dear Shiwyq,

Thank you for your kind words. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and you made use of the leisure facilites.

It was a pleasure to have you stay at the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards and best wishes,

Aileen Dermody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Recently stayed in the Newpark Hotel with my husband and 2 children we will most definitely be back. The hotel has a very friendly and warm atmosphere the bedrooms very clean and spacious. Food was nice but room for improvement overall very good value for money. The leisure center and spa is one of the best ive ever visited, kept to the very highest of standards staff couldn't do enough for us the Manager Daniel was very good with the children and another family visiting on the same weekend commented on how Daniel took their sick child to the doctor,nice to have staff that go that extra mile to look after their guests.Thank you Hotel Newpark for a lovely weekend we will be visiting again in the near future and recommending this hotel to friends and family.

Mrs Keating Co.Dublin

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adermody, Director of Sales at Newpark Hotel, responded to this review, 15 September 2011
Dear Mrs. Keating,

Thank you for your review, we really appreicate your kind words.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future it was a pleasure to have you as our guest.

Regards and best wishes,

Aileen Dermody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyrone
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Hotel was lovely and clean staff were friendly. Breakfast was brilliant plenty of variety! Would definately stay again!! :)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fitzy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adermody, Director of Sales at Newpark Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2011
Dear Fitzy 84,

Thank you very much for your kind words, it was a pleasure to have you and family in the Hotel.

I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your experience and we really appreiate you takeing the time to write a reveiw.

we look forward to seeing you all soon.

Regards and best wishes,

Aileen Dermody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,899 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
1.0 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,652 reviews
0.8 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newpark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newpark Hotel

Property: Newpark Hotel
Address: Castlecomer Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kilkenny
#1 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Newpark Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amind 20 acres of parkland yet only a short stroll from the the historic city with its rambling streets and beautiful castle. State of the art conference and event facilities with wonderful gardens and natural day light. Scrumptious dining in Gullivers restaurant and delicious bar food in the popular Scotts Bar. Step inside our Escape Health club and spa which is sanctuary of pure indulgence, where time is left at the door of the Aveda health club and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Newpark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newpark Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing