We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service - mediocre otherwise”
Review of Newpark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Newpark Hotel
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Georgia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Poor service - mediocre otherwise”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We arrived at 2:45 pm; check in was 3:00 pm. Our room was not ready and the check in person informed us that check in was at 3:00 -- we were all of 15 minutes early!! Forty-five minutes later the room was still not ready; during this time, although we were seated in front of the reception desk, no one came to apologize for the wait. We finally approached the desk again and were finally put into a room several doors down that was "ready." The room was adequate and clean. The TV went out the next morning and we requested help; service was prompt the first time. The next day, the TV went out again. We again requested help and I requested washrags (not standard in Ireland). An hour went by -- no one came. I finally unplugged the power cord from the back of the TV and plugged it in again - that worked. Finally, my "face cloths" were delivered and the woman expressed relief that we had fixed the TV ourselves. SInce we arrived on Sunday, the breakfast menu was good; on Monday, it was not so good. Really would not stay in this place again just because of the poor service and attitude.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betsy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Newpark Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Dear BetsyB,

Thank you for your review.

I have reviewed your comments with the team here at the hotel and while I appreciate receiving your constructive observations, I can assure you that your experience is in no way indicative of our usual level of service delivered to guests here at The Newpark.

I would welcome an opportunity to discuss your stay with us in person and I have listed my contact details below for your reference.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards

Mark Dunne
General Manager
The Newpark Hotel
Tel: 056 776 0500
Mailto:mark.dunne@newparkhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,860 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,053
    539
    155
    73
    40
See reviews for
711
569
20
129
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antrim
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Very comfortable, clean spacious rooms and excellent, friendly & helpful staff. We spent 2 nights here at the begining of May. We ate in the hotel on the first night and the food was first class. But on both nights our sleep was disturbed by other noisy guests. There had been a wedding in the hotel and on the first night we were woken at 2am, 3am and 3:45am by noisy guests in the corridor..... and I mean NOISY - shouting and raucous laughter. The second night our sleep was again disturbed on 2 occasions 1:30am & 2:45am.
Breakfast was self-service and as usual with that, if you prefer a cooked breakfast, your food will be lukewarm at best.
Overall this is a lovely hotel with great staff. I think they should look at the self-service breakfast as they do seem to have enough staff on to provide it at table. There's not a lot can be done about inconsideration from other guests. Perhaps we were just unlucky.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenMoreAntrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Newpark Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Dear Benmoreantrim

Thank you for sharing your Newpark Hotel experience.

The entire team here at The Newpark are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay and I can assure you your constructive observations in relation to the sleep and breakfast experiences have been noted and shall be resolved.

Please don’t hesitate in contacting me personally before your next visit to the Newpark Hotel as I would be delighted to personally extend some of the Newpark's renowned hospitality.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards,

Mark Dunne
General Manager
The Newpark Hotel
Tel: 056 776 0500
Mailto:mark.dunne@newparkhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ourtown
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We had an overnight flight from NYC to Dublin. Upon arrival, we drove to Kilkenny. We arrived at the Newpark Hotel and we were quite impressed. Very friendly and helpful staff. The breakfast every morning was delicious. The fitness center is well equipped with Cybex equipment. Our room was very comfortable and spacious. We had a full size/double bed and 2 twin beds in our room. We enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend the Newpark Hotel to travelers staying in Kilkenny.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueSunshine2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

After flying overnight from New York, then our first harrowing drive from Dublin to Kilkenny, we were exhausted when we arrived at Newpark Hotel. We were there prior to check-in but they were gracious enough to find us a room. The rooms are beautiful, amazing heated floors in the bathroom, great breakfast, accommodating staff. Loved every minute of our stay here! There's also a mini animal farm out back!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knollorama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed here last weekend for 2 nights. Overall it was a very enjoyable experience. Reception staff in particular we're very friendly, bar was good, had dinner here on both nights, presentation was excellent, food was good. Leisure centre was perfect for our needs, vitality pool was a real plus. Bedrooms were nice, double bed was great, single was very uncomfortable, beautiful bathroom. Only issue with the room other than that was a very obvious layer of dust over the bed! In saying that, I'd have no problem recommending or returning. Well done!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Roo_Dawg_Rooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013 via mobile

It really is a great hotel. Such friendly staff. We were there for a wedding. The service was great and the food was beautiful!
The rooms were very spacious and the bathroom was amazing! We took photos of the bathroom as its exactly how we'd like our bathroom at home! Really great hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KristinWatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
110 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

If you're American and have heard that the food in Ireland isn't very good, don't believe it. We had superb full Irish breakfasts at the Newpark Hotel, and a very comfortable stay in this lovely little modern hotel. It's near the very old city of Kilkenny, and we were able to walk to the old city every day. We never moved our car at all during our two-day stay, and to be honest, I wish we'd more time in Kilkenny. Be sure to see the castle and ramble about the city.

The hotel has a little animal park out back, which was a delightful surprise. It's not a grand zoo or anything like that, but rather just something you wouldn't see every day. We had a pleasant few moments looking at the animals. One thing about Irish hotels: take conditioner with you if you're accustomed to using it, since you won't find it in the bathrooms. You'll certainly find shampoo, soap, and everything else one would typically find in a hotel bathroom, but not conditioner.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,894 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
1.0 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,646 reviews
0.8 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newpark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newpark Hotel

Property: Newpark Hotel
Address: Castlecomer Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#1 Spa Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Newpark Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amind 20 acres of parkland yet only a short stroll from the the historic city with its rambling streets and beautiful castle. State of the art conference and event facilities with wonderful gardens and natural day light. Scrumptious dining in Gullivers restaurant and delicious bar food in the popular Scotts Bar. Step inside our Escape Health club and spa which is sanctuary of pure indulgence, where time is left at the door of the Aveda health club and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Newpark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newpark Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing