We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect experience from start to finish.”
Review of Newpark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Newpark Hotel
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A perfect experience from start to finish.”
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

We spent last weekend at the hotel to celebrate my husbands 50th birthday. It was a family celebration with 19 of us staying there. I don't think we could have had a better experience anywhere else. From the time we checked in on Friday afternoon until we left on Sunday we were treated with such care and attention. Nothing was too much trouble. And it was done in such a natural homely way (nothing forced and over the top like some places) and yet remaining so professional.
We were given an upgrade to a superior room which was really nice. The decor was very tasteful and the bed was extremely comfortable. There was also a bottle of wine waiting in the room for us which was much appreciated!
I really could not fault this hotel at all. The food was delicious on both evenings with a lovely relaxed atmosphere in the restaurant. Again the staff were amazing and very patient with some of the younger children in our group. They pulled out all the stops for the birthday dinner on the Saturday night and gave us a beautifully decorated private room. They were so attentive and friendly all night and never once hinted we needed to vacate the room.!
The facilities are excellent with part of the hotel being an original older house which Is where the dining area is, which I hadn't realised. The grounds are lovely to stroll around and have a small petting zoo which the children loved.
Will definitely be returning to the Newpark

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carliefinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Newpark Hotel, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Dear Carliefinn,

Many thanks for the wonderful review posted recently and for taking the time to tell us of your experience with us.

I am delighted you enjoyed your recent party with Newpark Hotel.

It is wonderful to know that you had a great service experience in the hotel and that your stay was enjoyable and relaxing for your family.

I look forward to personally extending some of the Newpark’s renowned hospitality on your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Mark Dunne
General Manager
Mailto:mark.dunne@newparkhotel.com
Tel: 056 7760500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,838 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,035
    536
    155
    73
    39
See reviews for
703
561
20
127
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Its very rare that I stop and think "wow, this is a really great experience". But that happened last weekend at this hotel, and so I made a promise to myself to give it the review it deserves on Trip Advisor. Very noticeably friendly staff, helpful and relaxed. Tasteful interior design. Incredible value with the autumn special offer package. Decent standard of food in the restaurant. One of the best all-round hotel experiences I've ever had.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Micheal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Newpark Hotel, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Dear Micheal B,

Thank you for the lovely review following your recent visit to Newpark Hotel.

I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your experience at Newpark Hotel.
The is the service we aim to deliver at all time.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future.

Kind Regards,

Mark Dunne
General Manager
Mailto:mark.dunne@newparkhotel.com
Tel: 056 7760500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We spend in Newpark hotel one night, 2 of us and baby. We booked package including breakfast a bottle of wine in room , a very good evening meal and huge afternoon tea with sandwiches and cakes :-) Our girl loved little farm on the back of the hotel, and play zone, we loved swimming pool and jacuzzi outside. Staff in reception and restaurant were very nice and professional. We really liked the size, cleanest of the room . We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maya1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Newpark Hotel, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Dear maya1972,

Many thanks for the wonderful review posted recently on Newpark Hotel and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

I have already shared your kind words with the entire team here and they all join me in thanking you.

I hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards,

Mark Dunne
General Manager
Mailto:mark.dunne@newparkhotel.com
Tel: 056 7760500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Just back from family wekend in the Newpark hotel in Kilkenny where we were totally spoiled. Loved the fact that there was a lovely big sofa in the room and an armchair where you could relax rather than sit on the bed.Staff in the bar and restaurant were extremely friendly.
Afternoon in the lounge is a must.
Staff at reception were excellent,Marita went went out of her way in trying to book us a restaurant for dinner on the Saturday night
Will definitely recommend the Newpark to anyone who is looking for a professionally run,warm and welcoming hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evvydublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Newpark Hotel, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Dear Evvydublin,


On behalf of the team at Newpark Hotel, I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and share your experience with others.

I am delighted to see that you had an enjoyable stay with us and enjoyed all aspects of the hotel. I have passed your kind comments on to the team here in the hotel, especially Marita.
The team is delighted that they helped make your stay a pleasant one.

I hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Newpark Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Mark Dunne
General Manager
Mailto:mark.dunne@newparkhotel.com
Tel: 056 7760500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Extended family (5 rooms) stayed last weekend to celebrate a birthday. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Food in bar and formal restaurant was lovely. Rooms were nice decorated and very clean. We enjoyed the mini farm on the hotel grounds and also adults had fun cider tasting. Leisure facilities in the hotel accommodated both adults and children. Thoroughly enjoyed the weekend and a big thanks to staff in Newpark!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neadybops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Newpark Hotel, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Dear Neadybops,

Thank you for posting your review of Newpark Hotel.

We are delighted to see that all your family enjoyed your recent stay with us and all the facilities at Newpark Hotel.

I look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back to Newpark Hotel again in the near future where you are sure of a warm welcome and please feel free to contact me if I can be of assistance to you.

Kind Regards,

Mark Dunne
General Manager
Mailto:mark.dunne@newparkhotel.com
Tel: 056 7760500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Returned to the Newpark in Sept with my husband and our 4 year old and received a genuinely warm welcome back from a very friendly receptionist who made a big fuss of my daughter. We were upgraded and had a lovely room, spotless and spacious as always. The one thing that makes us return is always the staff, who are friendly courteous and attentive and always go the extra mile. We had a meal in Campagne restaurant in Kilkenny city as part of the Connoiseur package, I would highly recommend this restaurant, fabulous food, ambience & excellent service. We spent a lot of time in the pool(which was a bit cold), and more time in the new playground beside the wonderful animal farm, fed the lamas and other animals. Plenty for little people to do here. Very handy for Kilkenny city and only one hour drive form Dublin. Would recommend to anyone to stay here as you will feel pampered and genuinely looked after. Would love to go back if finances allow. It's also excellent value for money..

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hollydub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Newpark Hotel, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Dear hollydub,

Thank you kindly for posting a fantastic review on Newpark Hotel.

I am delighted to see that you had an enjoyable stay with us and enjoyed the facilities and service standards. I have passed your kind comments on to the team here in the hotel who will be delighted that they helped make your stay a pleasant one.

I look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back to Newpark Hotel again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Mark Dunne
General Manager
Mailto:mark.dunne@newparkhotel.com
Tel: 056 7760500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We went in august and even though the hotel was full we were made to feel like the only ones in the hotel every time we go down it just keep getting better they now have a new playground and picnic area which is great to have a tea and watch the kids play then you go over to the farm and my little one got to feed the lama which she thought it was great and that is all without what is going on inside we are hoping to go down to see Santa I just can't tell people how good of a hotel it really is

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,864 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,697 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
1.0 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
0.8 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newpark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newpark Hotel

Property: Newpark Hotel
Address: Castlecomer Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Spa Hotel in Kilkenny
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Newpark Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amind 20 acres of parkland yet only a short stroll from the the historic city with its rambling streets and beautiful castle. State of the art conference and event facilities with wonderful gardens and natural day light. Scrumptious dining in Gullivers restaurant and delicious bar food in the popular Scotts Bar. Step inside our Escape Health club and spa which is sanctuary of pure indulgence, where time is left at the door of the Aveda health club and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Newpark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newpark Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing