We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Break”
Review of Newpark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Newpark Hotel
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 November 2013

This from my 10 year old son Eoin: "Most hotels focus on being posh, but unlike them this hotel focuses on the children and fun. I would recommend it on mid term Halloween because they do creepy cottage @ 2 o clock, don't be fooled by it's name it's great fun. Also they have a mini wildlife farm and a nature walk. I like this hotel because it's unique and great fun for kids of all ages".

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Newpark Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Dear Brian M,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us recently and also for taking the time to review Newpark Hotel on Tripadvisor.

I would like to thank you and your son Eoin, for your kind words. I was truly delighted to read that you had a most enjoyable stay.
The creepy cottage was a great hit with our little friends during mid-term. Its features like this we love providing to make a stay more memorial.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to Newpark Hotel to offer our renowned hospitality.


Kind Regards,
Mark Dunne
General Manager
The Newpark Hotel
Tel: 056 776 0500
Mailto:mark.dunne@newparkhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,031)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,311 - 1,317 of 2,031 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2013

stayed for 3 nts, bedroom and halls though clean are in need of updating. only used the swimingpool once as it was dirty. breakfast was less than average. on the plus side staff were friendly, and the bar and lobby area was well kept.

Thank 91alant
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mark D, General Manager at Newpark Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thank you for your review.

I would be delighted to discuss your recent stay with us in more detail.
Please contact me on details below.

Kind Regards,

Mark Dunne
General Manager
Mailto:mark.dunne@newparkhotel.com
Tel: 056 7760500

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Myself and my husband and 3 little ladies just returned from the most wonderful 4 days in the Newpark... From check in to departure it was all we could have hoped for and more... Room was comfortable (when returning I will book superior).. Breakfast and dinner excellent... Our girls had the most amazing time at the kids club... Arts & crafts, puppet shows , movies and also as it was Halloween they had a creepy cottage where the children got to make chocolate apples and got a little bag of treats... Pool spotless and lifeguard on duty at all times... Outdoor playground small but great and the animal farm was very good... I have to say the staff here are very special... They couldn't do enough for you... Will be returning sooner than I had planned :)

Room Tip: If possible try book a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MON928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Newpark Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Dear MON928,

Thank you so much for your kind and thoughtful review following your recent stay with us which I was delighted to read.

I am absolutely thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you very much for your wonderful comments about our hotel, especially our kids facilities.

Please don’t hesitate in contacting me personally before your next visit to the Newpark Hotel as I would be delighted to personally extend some of the Newpark's renowned hospitality.

Kind Regards,

Mark Dunne
General Manager
Mailto:mark.dunne@newparkhotel.com
Tel: 056 7760500

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed four nights with two adults and two children. Room was spacious and comfortable. Leisure centre was lovely and the infinity pool was so relaxing. Meals were lovely and ok for value. Cannot fault anything. We went during mid-term and the kids club was great. The kids loved the wildlife farm and marsh walk and playgrounds, shows and films and the falconary experience is one they will always remember. There is so much to do that you need never leave the hotel. The staff cannot do enough and nothing is any trouble. Housekeeping have the place spotless, and not one member of staff walked by without a smile. Kids club staff are lovely and gentle and great with the kids and there is a good ratio of staff to kids. The hotel was full but you would never have guessed as staff had everything under control and rooms are really quiet. Cant wait to go back.

Room Tip: We were given a room on the third floor with a king size bed and two singles. Lovely and spacious an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Newpark Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Dear E B,

Thank you very much indeed for choosing to stay at Newpark Hotel, and for taking the time to write your wonderful review.

I would like to thank you very much for your praise of our staff; I can assure you they will be very proud.

Its trilling to know you and your kids had a great experience with us.

I very much hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Newark Hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Mark Dunne
General Manager
Mailto:mark.dunne@newparkhotel.com
Tel: 056 7760500

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Just back from a 3 night mid term stay with our 2 little girls in the beautiful Newpark.The Hotel was spotlessly clean in every area. The hotel has a brilliant set-up for the children who really had a brilliant time - from swimming in the decent sized pool, to all the arts & crafts in the kids club, plus magician show, puppet show, and treasure trails, playground, farm etc. The rooms where very comfortable with plenty of room for a family of 4. The staff were all very friendly and again where all very good with the children. My only negative comment was that as the hotel was so very popular on a bank holiday weekend service was sometimes a little slow but when mentioned to staff they couldn't have been nicer or more apologetic about it. Would definitely make a return visit with our children.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Newpark Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Dear Deborah T,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Newpark Hotel, and indeed for choosing to stay with us recently.

It was an absolute delight to read through your review. I am delighted that you were so pleased with the children's facilities.

I very much hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back, hopefully in the not too distant future

Kind Regards,

Mark Dunne

General Manager
The Newpark Hotel
Tel: 056 776 0500
Mailto:mark.dunne@newparkhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We being going back to the Newpark for three years now and it gets better with each stay. Its a great family hotel that has everthing.My Children just love it.Kids club,pool,animal farm do I need to go on? I must also say that the staff are A1 really they could not do enough for you to make your stay all the more relaxing, I would highly recommend the Newpark for a family break. We are even planning the next visit jalrerady and we've just left.

Room Tip: Superior family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gavin q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Newpark Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Dear gavin q,

Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review on your recent stay with Newpark Hotel, Kilkenny.

I’m delighted that you had such an enjoyable visit.
The whole team are trilled that you enjoyed all the facilities on offer.

Please don’t hesitate in contacting me personally before your next visit to Newpark Hotel.


Kind Regards,

Mark Dunne

General Manager
Mailto:mark.dunne@newparkhotel.com
Tel: 056 7760500

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Just back from a second family break in Newpark, brilliant facilities and a great family break again. For the price and the activities on site, it has to be the best family friendly friendly hotel in Ireland. Our little one didn't want to leave after a three day break and the staff were brilliant with her.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DublinIrishdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Newpark Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Dear DublinIrishdave,

I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to write your review, and indeed for choosing to stay with us on a family break once again.

It was a pleasure to read your review, and I am thrilled that you enjoyed your visit. I am very glad to hear that your child didn't want to leave. This is the environment we aim to offer for all guests.

We would be delighted to welcome you back in the future and please don't hesitate in contacting me directly.

Kind Regards,

Mark Dunne
General Manager
Mailto:mark.dunne@newparkhotel.com
Tel: 056 7760500

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
2.3 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
1 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,831 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
1 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,751 reviews
9.7 mi away
Mount Juliet Estate
Mount Juliet Estate
#1 of 2 in Thomastown
1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newpark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newpark Hotel

Address: Castlecomer Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kilkenny
#1 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range: £60 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Newpark Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only a short stroll from the historic city of Kilkenny with its rambling streets and beautiful castle. Our hotel boasts 129 luxuriously appointed guestrooms and suites, many rooms offer views over the luscious green gardens which extend onto the urban Fen walk, Newpark adventure trail, and wildlife farm all positioned within our 40 acres of peaceful parkland. Within each room category guests are provided with a multi-channel flat screen V, tea/coffee making facilities, bottled water and complimentary WI-FI access. Scrumptious dining facilities await you in our fine dining Gulliver’s restaurant or choose from our casual dining options in the popular Scott’s Bar & Brasserie or our newly opened Terrace bar & outdoor restaurant. Step inside our Escape Health club and Aveda spa to unwind, take time out in the hands of our therapists or recharge your batteries in our 17m swimming pool, outdoor infinity pool or our relaxation and thermal suites. A warm welcome awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Newpark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newpark Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing