We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend in the Marble City”
Review of Newpark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Newpark Hotel
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 February 2014

My husband and I have stayed in the Newpark on several occasions in the past and always enjoy the hospitality offered. On this occasion we once again had a lovely weekend in this great hotel. From check in to check out we were treated royally. The level of customer care is second to none - staff on reception, in the leisure centre, bar, bistro and dining room were all very attentive and friendly. They did everything they could to make our stay a great one. On Friday evening we had dinner in the Bistro - it was an excellent meal. Dinner in the dining room on Saturday evening was also excellent. Great selection and quality to be had. Breakfast was also very good. Looking forward to our next stay in the Newpark.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mudgie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,960)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,185 - 1,191 of 1,960 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2014

Stayed here end of January for just one night. Reception area is very inviting, big fire etc. Checked in pretty quick and was given a room at the back. This has to be the most family accommodating hotel I have ever been in. Unfortunately the weather prevented a walk around the grounds. But things like a family room with kettles and fridges and sinks are just the nice touches that would bring me back. It was raining pretty heavily so we decided to stay in hotel for food rather than go into Kilkenny. Place was packed, so they squeezed us into a small room at the back. This suited as with the pram etc you don't want to be in the way. Bar food wasn't bad. My fish was lovely just not hot and her burger a bit dry. Staff did a lot of unnecessary running around, but very nice about it. Went to the bar after, which is a really nice spot. Diner like booths and a good atmosphere for a hotel bar. Back to the room, I think this is an old room, decor is pretty good and was big and quiet. Bathroom is very dated. The shower was useless. Towels had seen better days. Breakfast next day was a really good well stocked buffet. The restaurant it is in is very nice. We didn't get to use leisure centre. Overall a very good place. Close to Kilkenny, loads to keep you entertained, nice staff, child friendly. Downside Shower(hotels please get rid of baths and instal good showers), needs a bit of management in bar/restaurant, loads of staff not knowing where their customers are. But remember this place was packed at end of January. Well done Newpark.

Room Tip: Good at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Farrellysmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Stayed here from Thursday to Sunday in January 2014. Super hotel with comfortable rooms & beds containing all that a person required..ie coffee/tea facilities, iron and board, flat screen TV. Large entrance hall with many areas to sit and relax, have a coffee etc. Food was excellent and we also availed of the pool, sauna etc which again was very well maintained. Walk to town was more like 25mins than 10mins however, but taxis were available outside main door every night and cost €7/8 each way. We have stayed in many hotels in Kilkenny in the past and this was our first time staying in the Newpark and would def return. Plenty of live entertainment in the bars at night and overall a great place for a short break to shorten the winter months.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Owen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Staying at the Newpark was a wonderful experience! We flew into the Dublin airport and drove the 90 miles or so to the hotel. We had flown overnight and we were VERY tired by the time we got to the hotel. We arrived prior to check in, but they were able to get us a room right away. Front desk staff went over and above to make sure we were comfortable.

Our room was fantastic! The bathroom was beautiful! Really liked the no shower door experience! We had a balcony and it was wonderful to sit outside in the morning.

Overall we felt very pampered here. This was our favorite hotel during our entire trip to Ireland!

Room Tip: Try a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KrisMac19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

Just spent 2 nights at the Newpark Hotel and it was a fantastic experience. Efficient check in and out, spotless and comfortable room and friendly staff make for an amazing stay. Buffet breakfast well laid out and plentiful. Cosy bar facilities with reasonable prices. All in all a wonderful stay. I look forward to a return visit.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Mrscraigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

My wife and I stayed for just one night last week. We found the staff to be particularly friendly and efficient!! We ate in the Bistro and the food was very good, the service swift and the value was reasonable for what we got. The hotel was extremely busy as they have a very good offer available at present and there were certainly a lot of people taking advantage. Despite that there was no hold up either checking in or out, considering the large numbers being dealt with. We were particularly impressed with the breakfast where we noticed that the hot food in the buffet was monitored and kept fresh all the time - a lesson a lot of Irish hotels could learn from. The only complaint I have is that I requested blanket, as I cant stand Duvets, and I didnt get them. The bed itself was very comfortable. Overall it was a pleasant stay and certainly great value! I will stay again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geraldandmargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I stayed in the Newpark Hotel with 9 friends and cannot say enough about the wonderful time we had.The food was amazing,the staff so courteous and helpful,the accommodation was excellent .I would not hesitate to stay there again,well done and thank you to Mr John Flynn and staff,

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Jackie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
2.3 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,013 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
1.0 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,730 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#8 of 19 in Kilkenny
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newpark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newpark Hotel

Address: Castlecomer Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#1 Spa Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range: £64 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Newpark Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amid 20 acres of parkland yet only a short stroll from the the historic city with its rambling streets and beautiful castle. State of the art conference and event facilities with wonderful gardens and natural day light. Scrumptious dining in Gullivers restaurant and delicious bar food in the popular Scotts Bar. Step inside our Escape Health club and spa which is sanctuary of pure indulgence, where time is left at the door of the Aveda health club and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Newpark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newpark Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing