We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!!”
Review of Newpark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Newpark Hotel
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Just back from 2 night break with a friend. Loved it. We had a lovley spacious room with a big balcony. Breakfast was fantastic. The staff were warm and helpful. There is a fab leisure centre/spa. Fab hotel for a lovley break!! Will be back

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank declanIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Newpark Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Good afternoon Declan Ireland,

Greetings from the medieval city of Kilkenny.

Thank you for choosing our hotel and for taking the time to share your wonderful experience of your stay with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon and extending some of the Newpark’s renowned hospitality personally during your next visit.

Warm Regards

Mark Dunne
General Manager
Mailto:mark.dunne@newparkhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,044)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,250 - 1,256 of 2,044 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2014

Lovely hotel. Rooms were just fabulous, really clean and very comfy beds. really quite at the night even though there was a wedding there the night i stayed. Staff were very friendly. Was a lovely stay overall. Food was amazing too!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geraldine2219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Newpark Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Good afternoon Geraldine 2219,

Thank you for your wonderful review regarding your recent stay with us.

Myself and my team are extremely proud to have made your stay such a memorable one!

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm Regards,

Mark Dunne
General manager
Mailto:mark.dunne@newparkhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

this was our first stop in Ireland and it was part of a package. The breakfast was very good and so was the room. The lobby is very nice with a large fireplace. We walk to town which was not too far. I only stayed one night but would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carkrisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Just back from a fantastic long weekend in Newpark Hotel. We availed of their 3 nights B&B and 1 evening meal package which offers excellent value for money when compared to other 4* hotels in Ireland.
We had our 4 year old son with us and he absolutely loved the hotel. They cater exceptionally well for families - the pet farm on the grounds, the children's pool and also the kids club meant he was entertained throughout our stay.
We ate in the bar and the restaurant. They offer very generous portions. The only area for improvement is the desserts - they were bland but the starters and main were very good.
The hotel was very busy with weddings and families but a credit to all their staff they were never phased and acted in a very professional and friendly manner at all times. I think the true test is at breakfast time when guests with hangovers from the wedding the night before and hungry kids are demanding to be fed all at the same time. We didn't see anyone cave under pressure!
A lovely surprise for us was the kids club at night time. My husband and I got to spend some unexpected time together as you can leave your child in the kids club from 7-10 in the evening. Very few hotels that we have stayed in in Ireland offer this free facility so it's something the hotel should advertise when pitching themselves as a family friendly hotel. My son keeps asking when are we going back and we've said we don't know exactly when but that we WILL BE BACK!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OIago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We just celebrated our parents 40th wedding anniversary at the Newpark Hotel. It was amazing from start to finish! We had 7 kids between us & its the most family-friendly hotel I've ever stayed in. The staff couldn't have done enough for us, every single one of them went above and beyond to make our weekend special. The rooms are very comfortable and spacious, particularly loved the under-floor heating in the bathroom! The facilities in the hotel are great, kids were constantly entertained with the swimming pool, pet-farm and playground. The kids club was great fun and very well run. Food was lovely. Couldn't recommend this place enough. We will definitely be back!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Lolomccaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I have stayed in this hotel 3 times and each time i go there i don't want to leave It is the most relaxing hotel i ever stayed in, The staff cant do enough for you . Rooms are beautiful and very warm and the bathroom is to die for, wet room' and bath The decor is fab and it's spotless .very well laid out . Both the restaurant and the bar food are of the best quality they have changed the seating in the bar and it is much nicer and more private and the menu is of great choice again the food is good and served piping hot The breakfast is self service but there is a good variety of different breads fruit etc.
The reception lobby area is also very cosy if you just want to sit by the fire and chill But my favourite is the outdoor jacuzzi soooo romantic and relaxing just makes me want to book again

Room Tip: love the ground floor but that would my choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank saphaireblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This was our first stop in Ireland, and truly had the most comfortable beds! The hotel was cozy and well kept. The rooms were spacious and accommodating. There are 3 beds in a room- a queen in the center, and 2 twins beside it. If you are like me and need conditioner for your hair, pack it! Hair dryer and other toiletries are provided. The lobby was comfortable with tea served in the afternoon. There is a fireplace and lots of comfy spots to sit and relax. We ate in the lobby restaurant for dinner and the food was quite good. I would recommend this hotel. It is a 10-15 minute walk to the downtown area, but taxis are available as well. There is a playground on the grounds. Breakfast was included, and it was a buffet. Typical Irish breakfast (eggs, bacon, potatoes, tomatoes, tea/coffee, porridge, juice, etc.).

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
2.3 mi away
Lyrath Estate
Lyrath Estate
#6 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,552 reviews
1 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,844 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#5 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
9.7 mi away
Mount Juliet Estate
Mount Juliet Estate
#1 of 2 in Thomastown
1,065 reviews
1 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#9 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newpark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newpark Hotel

Address: Castlecomer Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#1 Spa Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range: £60 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Newpark Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only a short stroll from the historic city of Kilkenny with its rambling streets and beautiful castle. Our hotel boasts 129 luxuriously appointed guestrooms and suites, many rooms offer views over the luscious green gardens which extend onto the urban Fen walk, Newpark adventure trail, and wildlife farm all positioned within our 40 acres of peaceful parkland. Within each room category guests are provided with a multi-channel flat screen V, tea/coffee making facilities, bottled water and complimentary WI-FI access. Scrumptious dining facilities await you in our fine dining Gulliver’s restaurant or choose from our casual dining options in the popular Scott’s Bar & Brasserie or our newly opened Terrace bar & outdoor restaurant. Step inside our Escape Health club and Aveda spa to unwind, take time out in the hands of our therapists or recharge your batteries in our 17m swimming pool, outdoor infinity pool or our relaxation and thermal suites. A warm welcome awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Newpark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newpark Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing