We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A place to rest your head, but warm room”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Newpark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Newpark Hotel
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“A place to rest your head, but warm room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

We didn't spend to much time in the hotel as we were only stopping for one night. The room was clean and as we had a family room it had plenty of space.
Strange thing was that the room had a table, with one chair. Useless. The sofa was too low for the table so luckily we weren't having food in the room.
The TV picture was something from a different decade, un watchable.
Breakfast needs some work, the layout does not work, and the choice was very poor. Small selection of hot food, poor choice of cereal.
We stayed early February and the room was warm during the night, I wouldn't like to stay during the summer months.
Value for money for the stay was good as we booked on a good offer.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sprocket1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,815 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,019
    529
    155
    73
    39
See reviews for
693
552
20
127
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Without exception all the staff are very friendly and helpful. Food was amazing, service excellent as for the kids, well the Walk the Hawk was a big hit. Highly recommend the
Newpark, really enjoyed the stay....Dave...Naas

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davespoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundalk, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

We have just booked our 3rd holiday in this hotel. We go to a different county in Ireland every year and detour to the Newpark on the way home.

My 3 year old refers to the hotel as "Hotenny" as if there was no other Hotels in Kilkenny but for us there isn't. The staff from booking to departure go out of their way to be extra helpful and considerate. I mention last year how much the kids loved the room they had in 2012 and it was assigned to us again last year and reservations have done the same for this year. It is this level of attention to detail that makes the hotel stand out for us. This year we will detour by 150km on the way home to stay here and I know next year we will hopefully return again.

We are already looking forward to our stay living up to all our previous visits and my eldest son is already looking forward to his breakfast and meeting the hawks.

Well done to all the staff and we will see you in July.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clionabyrne73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Excellent facilities-go-karts,farm,playgrounds,pool,kids club.very friendly staff.very child friendly.I upgraded to a superior room as the classic room I was given was tired and the furthest you could get from reception.definately returning with my 3 yr old she had a blast!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sarahwhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed here two nights from Sunday, 13th March to 15 March. Very impressive reception when you walk in ... really beautiful colour scheme and plenty of large comfy sofas. Check in went smoothly we were booked into interconnecting rooms as we are a family of 6. Check in time is 3pm, one of our rooms were not ready but that was ok with us as we had one room for our bags. Did take a couple of phone calls to get the interconnecting room open though. Rooms are large and tastefully decorate, very comfortable beds and lovely white bedlinen. The only bad thing about the rooms (older rooms of the hotel and 80e to upgrade) was the pressure of the water in the shower (shower over bath) its the worst I have ever stood under. Take my advice and shower in the leisure centre as the showers were lovely there or upgrade to a newer rooms for a nice shower experience. Hotel has a fab farm at the back of the hotel containing, goats, a buffalo, hens, donkeys etc ... kids loved it. They also have a go-kart track which the kids also loved (pedal type). The only bad thing I would say about the kids club is to use the air hockey table you have to leave a deposit of 10 euro with reception surely your hotel room number should suffice. I really feel the kids club would work better if each morning they had a note on the way to breakfast of all activities for the day. Maybe its busier towards the end of the week or next week for Easter hols. Food in the bar is ok thought the kids menu was pricey at 7.95 and didn't include a drink or ice-cream. Think they should address this. Breakfast was super with lots of choice for the kids and adults with lots of cereals and waffles and maple syrup for the kids and hot chocolate. Chef definitely needs to address the egg shells in the scrambled eggs ... so many of them that it would turn you off the scrambled eggs but very small complaint. Kilkenny town itself is a 5 min drive away with plenty of parking and really nice restaurants, namely Paris Texas and a gorgeous Italian La Rivista which was so reasonably priced for the kids and adults and was busy on a Monday night which is always a good sign. Would highly recommend this hotel as a family hotel.

Room Tip: Pay extra for an upgrade to a new room if you can as they looked really nice and have wet rooms with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samjirwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We had a family function in Newpark recently. It was excellent from the time we arrived until we left. The staff were very friendly and could not do enough for us. Food was top class, and ambience was very relaxed and lovely.
We want to mention in particular Stephen Murphy, friendly,helpful , and did everything he could for us. A true professional and a great asset to the Newpark. Well done Stephen.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kilkenny60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights with the 3 nights B&B & 1 evening meal offer. We arrived on a Thursday night, hoping to have the dinner in the restaurant that night. We were told at reception that the restaurant was closed on Thursday night and we could eat in the bar. We were given a complimentary upgrade to a Superior Room which was much appreciated.
I had looked forward to the meal as I heard from others that the hotel is Coeliac friendly. The menu had notations for which items were GF. The menu stated that the chips were gluten free but when I went to order them the waitress (luckily) told me that they are fried with other foods. This would be unsuitable for any coeliac and if the hotel continues this practice I would suggest that they remove the GF from the chips on the menu. Overall the meal was nice.
We had a wedding in the hotel on the Friday and the food was very very good. A few people had commented how slow the bar service was on all the nights we were there.
The breakfast was ok, nothing special. The staff were very friendly at breakfast.
My only real complaint was the poor water pressure in the shower.
I would advise to not go near the petting farm if you have a weak stomach, very strong smell! Also price of drinks was very expensive.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,829 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,672 reviews
2.4 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
1.1 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#9 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,600 reviews
0.9 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newpark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newpark Hotel

Property: Newpark Hotel
Address: Castlecomer Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Spa Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Newpark Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amind 20 acres of parkland yet only a short stroll from the the historic city with its rambling streets and beautiful castle. State of the art conference and event facilities with wonderful gardens and natural day light. Scrumptious dining in Gullivers restaurant and delicious bar food in the popular Scotts Bar. Step inside our Escape Health club and spa which is sanctuary of pure indulgence, where time is left at the door of the Aveda health club and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Newpark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newpark Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing