We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value. Comfortable stay.”
Review of Newpark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Newpark Hotel
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This hotel is great for a family stay. It has a good restaurant, comfortable rooms and a very friendly staff (and of course a huge, yummy breakfast). The kids LOVED the animals in the little park behind the hotel. It was great to have an area to let them run around outside.

It isn't really walking distance to downtown Kilkenny if you are traveling with small children, but parking was easy to find downtown and it is just a short drive.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,960)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,129 - 1,135 of 1,960 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

I stayed here with a wedding party recently. The accommodation deserves its top 4 star quality; the hotel was very comfortable, beautifully decorated, well maintained, very clean and modern. The bedrooms and bathrooms are tastefully designed, spotlessly clean and supplied with lovely toiletries. The beds and pillows are good quality and very comfortable and condusive to a good night's sleep. The staff were consistently very professional, helpful, friendly and kind especially to guests with children and the elderly. The check in and out was relatively speedy and the leisure facilities and pool were fabulous, although full of quite noisy children early on Saturday morning. The standard of food and choice was excellent and very well presented. The only genuine complaint noted by several of our party was that the chef used the same carving knife to cut different types of meat at the carvery area. This was rather shocking due to the possibly of cross contamination but also from a religious viewpoint, since one of the meats on offer was pork. Overall a very pleasant stay and would highly recommend this hotel in nearly every respect.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 38Mac38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed at the hotel for a wedding recently and it certainly has the wow factor,they could not do enough for you from the bar to the restaurant to the fantastic wedding breakfast it is definately the finest wedding venue in the region, bedrooms were first class,the spa and leisure centre were absolutey pristine, need we say more looking forward to our next outing there
Chris and peter

Room Tip: Pay for it !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peter o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We decided to have a weekend break away and we booked the Newpark Hotel. The room we were given was spacious clean and it looked like it had been recently renovated. We had TV and internet access and the room had tea/coffee facilities and a minibar.The bathroom and shower area was spacious and clean. The hotel has excellent leisure facilities including a gym, swimming pool and spa. We availed of those facilities and again it was all excellent. We ate in the hotels restaurant, Scott's. The menu there was varied to cater for all tastes and our meal was top class for a very reasonable price. Similarly the breakfast area in the hotel offered a self service buffet for breakfasters. And the menu for breakfast was varied for all tastes.
The real selling point for us about the Newpark Hotel is the hotel staff. Each member of staff who we talked to was pleasant, extremely courteous and very helpful. The staff at this hotel are the reason which will persuade us to stay at the Newpark Hotel in future. We cannot recommend this hotel highly enough!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShayMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The owners of this hotel should be proud of their staff. What sets this hotel apart from it's many competitors is the sincerely friendly staff. Well refurbished hotels with pools and family features are a commodity so it is difficult to distinguish one from another except where the staff seem to take a real pride in what they do. Well done! We had a great stay. The restaurant is super. The food is decent quality and thank you for not serving up chips and sausages in spades for the kids menu. An intelligent friendly and family focused hotel. We will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Surgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Just returned to the UK after a family wedding held at the Newpark Hotel on Saturday 26th April where a great time was had by all. The majority of the wedding party (100+) arrived on the Thursday prior to the wedding and from the time of checking in the hospitality and professionalism of the hotel staff was outstanding. It is very simple to say that all aspects of our 4 stay (Rooms/Staff/Food/Facilities/Location) were "top class" and cannot be faulted.- Excellent

Maura & Garry Owens

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Garry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed for four nights at the hotel for a wedding and they pulled out all the stops for the wedding guests. From the moment we arrived and were met by a lovely receptionist all the staff were welcoming and friendly. Food both in the bar or restaurant was excellent. The wedding breakfast was exceptional. The hotel spa is great with an outdoor pool.

Thank you to all the staff for a lovely stay. We will be back!

Room Tip: It's a good walk into the centre of town but worth it when you get there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank McNKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
2.3 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,013 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
1.0 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,730 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#8 of 19 in Kilkenny
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newpark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newpark Hotel

Address: Castlecomer Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kilkenny
#1 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range: £64 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Newpark Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amid 20 acres of parkland yet only a short stroll from the the historic city with its rambling streets and beautiful castle. State of the art conference and event facilities with wonderful gardens and natural day light. Scrumptious dining in Gullivers restaurant and delicious bar food in the popular Scotts Bar. Step inside our Escape Health club and spa which is sanctuary of pure indulgence, where time is left at the door of the Aveda health club and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Newpark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newpark Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing