We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, Comfortable, Quiet Hotel”
Review of Newpark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Newpark Hotel
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice, Comfortable, Quiet Hotel”
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night while in town to eat at a restaurant and for a bit of site seeing.
The hotel is situated in a nice quiet area, just slightly outside the city but still close enough for comfort.
The hotel itself is well finished, the lobby and bar are lovely and the beds are comfortable and bedrooms large.
The staff were very friendly and helpful also, overall a great value hotel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RobinVHN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,860 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,053
    539
    155
    73
    40
See reviews for
711
569
20
129
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trim, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I stayed here over the Easter holidays in April 2014. I could not give this hotel a higher recommendation. We got a fantastic deal which included b&b, dinner, spa treatments and afternoon tea. The staff were extremely friendly. One of the receptionists even gave us advice about which night to go out and where to go as she overheard us talking about it. The food was great, from breakfast to dinner and afternoon tea, delicious! We all got massages in the spa and they were brilliant, so relaxing. The leisure center was the highlight for me. The pool was a nice size, there was a sauna, steam room, jacuzzi and tropical shower but the best part was the large outdoor infinity pool. It was so nice to relax outside in the warm water and bubbles! The location of the hotel was good as it was only a ten minute stroll into the city. Taxis were only around €6 at night. I will definitely be returning for another stay!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilyB811989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indio, California, United States
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Nice hotel, a little out of town, a little hard to find. Glad I had GPS. My room was nice but far from the restaurant and front of the hotel. The breakfast was awesome. The hotel staff were nice. Good parking.

Room Tip: I would suggest a room closer to the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlinda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This hotel is great for a family stay. It has a good restaurant, comfortable rooms and a very friendly staff (and of course a huge, yummy breakfast). The kids LOVED the animals in the little park behind the hotel. It was great to have an area to let them run around outside.

It isn't really walking distance to downtown Kilkenny if you are traveling with small children, but parking was easy to find downtown and it is just a short drive.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I stayed here with a wedding party recently. The accommodation deserves its top 4 star quality; the hotel was very comfortable, beautifully decorated, well maintained, very clean and modern. The bedrooms and bathrooms are tastefully designed, spotlessly clean and supplied with lovely toiletries. The beds and pillows are good quality and very comfortable and condusive to a good night's sleep. The staff were consistently very professional, helpful, friendly and kind especially to guests with children and the elderly. The check in and out was relatively speedy and the leisure facilities and pool were fabulous, although full of quite noisy children early on Saturday morning. The standard of food and choice was excellent and very well presented. The only genuine complaint noted by several of our party was that the chef used the same carving knife to cut different types of meat at the carvery area. This was rather shocking due to the possibly of cross contamination but also from a religious viewpoint, since one of the meats on offer was pork. Overall a very pleasant stay and would highly recommend this hotel in nearly every respect.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 38Mac38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed at the hotel for a wedding recently and it certainly has the wow factor,they could not do enough for you from the bar to the restaurant to the fantastic wedding breakfast it is definately the finest wedding venue in the region, bedrooms were first class,the spa and leisure centre were absolutey pristine, need we say more looking forward to our next outing there
Chris and peter

Room Tip: Pay for it !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peter o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We decided to have a weekend break away and we booked the Newpark Hotel. The room we were given was spacious clean and it looked like it had been recently renovated. We had TV and internet access and the room had tea/coffee facilities and a minibar.The bathroom and shower area was spacious and clean. The hotel has excellent leisure facilities including a gym, swimming pool and spa. We availed of those facilities and again it was all excellent. We ate in the hotels restaurant, Scott's. The menu there was varied to cater for all tastes and our meal was top class for a very reasonable price. Similarly the breakfast area in the hotel offered a self service buffet for breakfasters. And the menu for breakfast was varied for all tastes.
The real selling point for us about the Newpark Hotel is the hotel staff. Each member of staff who we talked to was pleasant, extremely courteous and very helpful. The staff at this hotel are the reason which will persuade us to stay at the Newpark Hotel in future. We cannot recommend this hotel highly enough!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShayMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,894 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
1.0 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,646 reviews
0.8 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newpark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newpark Hotel

Property: Newpark Hotel
Address: Castlecomer Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#1 Spa Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Newpark Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amind 20 acres of parkland yet only a short stroll from the the historic city with its rambling streets and beautiful castle. State of the art conference and event facilities with wonderful gardens and natural day light. Scrumptious dining in Gullivers restaurant and delicious bar food in the popular Scotts Bar. Step inside our Escape Health club and spa which is sanctuary of pure indulgence, where time is left at the door of the Aveda health club and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Newpark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newpark Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing