We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newpark Hotel”
Review of Newpark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Newpark Hotel
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Spent 3 nights at the Newpark hotel and can't speak highly enough about it. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. All requests were dealt with quickly and efficiently. Lovely atmosphere and fantastic facilities for both adults and children. Food was great, from the broad selection on the buffet breakfast to the bar menu. Spacious and clean in all areas of the hotel. Well worth a visit and very child friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer1002014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,045)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,210 - 1,216 of 2,045 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2014

Stayed here for one night while in town to eat at a restaurant and for a bit of site seeing.
The hotel is situated in a nice quiet area, just slightly outside the city but still close enough for comfort.
The hotel itself is well finished, the lobby and bar are lovely and the beds are comfortable and bedrooms large.
The staff were very friendly and helpful also, overall a great value hotel.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank RobinVHN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I stayed here over the Easter holidays in April 2014. I could not give this hotel a higher recommendation. We got a fantastic deal which included b&b, dinner, spa treatments and afternoon tea. The staff were extremely friendly. One of the receptionists even gave us advice about which night to go out and where to go as she overheard us talking about it. The food was great, from breakfast to dinner and afternoon tea, delicious! We all got massages in the spa and they were brilliant, so relaxing. The leisure center was the highlight for me. The pool was a nice size, there was a sauna, steam room, jacuzzi and tropical shower but the best part was the large outdoor infinity pool. It was so nice to relax outside in the warm water and bubbles! The location of the hotel was good as it was only a ten minute stroll into the city. Taxis were only around €6 at night. I will definitely be returning for another stay!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmilyB811989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Nice hotel, a little out of town, a little hard to find. Glad I had GPS. My room was nice but far from the restaurant and front of the hotel. The breakfast was awesome. The hotel staff were nice. Good parking.

Room Tip: I would suggest a room closer to the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marlinda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This hotel is great for a family stay. It has a good restaurant, comfortable rooms and a very friendly staff (and of course a huge, yummy breakfast). The kids LOVED the animals in the little park behind the hotel. It was great to have an area to let them run around outside.

It isn't really walking distance to downtown Kilkenny if you are traveling with small children, but parking was easy to find downtown and it is just a short drive.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I stayed here with a wedding party recently. The accommodation deserves its top 4 star quality; the hotel was very comfortable, beautifully decorated, well maintained, very clean and modern. The bedrooms and bathrooms are tastefully designed, spotlessly clean and supplied with lovely toiletries. The beds and pillows are good quality and very comfortable and condusive to a good night's sleep. The staff were consistently very professional, helpful, friendly and kind especially to guests with children and the elderly. The check in and out was relatively speedy and the leisure facilities and pool were fabulous, although full of quite noisy children early on Saturday morning. The standard of food and choice was excellent and very well presented. The only genuine complaint noted by several of our party was that the chef used the same carving knife to cut different types of meat at the carvery area. This was rather shocking due to the possibly of cross contamination but also from a religious viewpoint, since one of the meats on offer was pork. Overall a very pleasant stay and would highly recommend this hotel in nearly every respect.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 38Mac38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed at the hotel for a wedding recently and it certainly has the wow factor,they could not do enough for you from the bar to the restaurant to the fantastic wedding breakfast it is definately the finest wedding venue in the region, bedrooms were first class,the spa and leisure centre were absolutey pristine, need we say more looking forward to our next outing there
Chris and peter

Room Tip: Pay for it !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peter o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
2.3 mi away
Lyrath Estate
Lyrath Estate
#6 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,550 reviews
1 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,843 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#5 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
9.7 mi away
Mount Juliet Estate
Mount Juliet Estate
#1 of 2 in Thomastown
1,065 reviews
1 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#9 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newpark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newpark Hotel

Address: Castlecomer Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#1 Spa Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range: £60 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Newpark Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only a short stroll from the historic city of Kilkenny with its rambling streets and beautiful castle. Our hotel boasts 129 luxuriously appointed guestrooms and suites, many rooms offer views over the luscious green gardens which extend onto the urban Fen walk, Newpark adventure trail, and wildlife farm all positioned within our 40 acres of peaceful parkland. Within each room category guests are provided with a multi-channel flat screen V, tea/coffee making facilities, bottled water and complimentary WI-FI access. Scrumptious dining facilities await you in our fine dining Gulliver’s restaurant or choose from our casual dining options in the popular Scott’s Bar & Brasserie or our newly opened Terrace bar & outdoor restaurant. Step inside our Escape Health club and Aveda spa to unwind, take time out in the hands of our therapists or recharge your batteries in our 17m swimming pool, outdoor infinity pool or our relaxation and thermal suites. A warm welcome awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Newpark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newpark Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing