We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A top hotel in an interesting town.”
Review of Newpark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Newpark Hotel
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The hotel has an aura of quality about it that makes for a very pleasant stay. The public areas are huge and the bedrooms quite spacious and well decorated. Staff were very helpful and polite. The location is about 15 minutes' walk from the city centre, which is OK as long as it's not raining. Bar meals were varied, well presented and reasonably priced. Breakfast was good value but the queue at the toaster needs attention. Well worth a repeat visit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darwin_AustraliaJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,981)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,138 - 1,144 of 1,981 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed at the Newpark Hotel last weekend and had a difficult time leaving... In fact, we extended our stay! Our room had a gorgeous view of the Olympic slopes, which we enjoyed from the comfort of our private hot-tub. The decor was tasteful, and gave the impression that each room was individually decorated with high-end artwork. The furniture, especially the bed, was extremely comfortable and I have added several elements of the bathroom design to my "dream home" bathroom design: heated floors are a must have! Additionally, we found the staff to be especially helpful and friendly. Although we had a full kitchen in our room, the area that the Newpark is located in has so many great dining options, we hardly ever ate in. There is also good shopping (both grocery and retail) within walking distance. Overall, I would say this is one of my favorite hotels I've stayed at... ranking it amongst Four Seasons and Ritz-Carltons all over the world.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EatSleepDive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Had a great stay here on Friday night last, my partner myself and our two children stayed here. Room was lovely. we had dinner in the bar which was beautiful, and very efficient service. Only issue we had was the service at breakfast the following morning, we put it down to unexperienced staff. The food again was lovely. Great pool facilities and overall the hotel has a great feel to it. There was a wedding on in the hotel that night and we would nt even have noticed apart from the dressed up guests. Would highly recommend the Newpark Hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank corkca21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We visited the Newpark on saturday 10th May for a nite out. We opted to dine in the bart and were well impressed with their menu and the food on offer. Often enough hotel bar menu's tend to be a bit of a disappointment but theirs was top notch. The steaks are to die for! Will be back soon...thanks to everyone for a great night...

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thewizardDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Just back from a fabulous two night stay here. Everything was just brilliant start to finish. The staff in every aspect, especially the ladies who checked us in and out (Sunday approx 5pm and Tuesday 3pm) The room was lovely, especially complimentary robes and slippers! Food throughout was lovely.

Our whole stay was so relaxing. Staff never usually get enough compliments but all the staff we dealt with were very friendly. Will definately be back!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank sarah g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

stayed here last weekend for a wedding. absolutely fabulous hotel. i cannot say on bad thing about this hotel, from the decor to the staff everything was top notch and everyone eat the wedding had a ball!!!!! highly recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmyHannahG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We had our wedding at the Newpark Hotel 26th April and cannot thank the Hotel management, wedding planner Yvonne, kitchen staff, reception staff, bar staff enough...you were all truly amazing from start to finish, and all played such an important part in making what was a truly superb and unforgettable few days for us and all of our wedding party.

Bit of background on our stay: the vast majority of our wedding party travelled from the UK and decided to stay at the Newpark Hotel for 3 - 4 days. Our guests therefore got to fully enjoy all of the hotel facilities such as a great bar, great selection of restaurants providing superb food, relaxing spa facilities, activates for the children such as a farm and play areas, clean and spacious rooms. Not forgetting its great location the City of Kilkenny. So all in all a must stay!

The wedding Day: Reception drinks were held in the main reception where our guests enjoyed amazing finger food and the odd glass of fizz, along with a good sing song to get them started for the main wedding breakfast. The main ball room looked sensational and the food and service is still being spoken about by our friends and family. The room is superb for live music and we all danced till the early hours.

So once again a big thank you to everyone at the Newpark Hotel! A great Hotel and also a great wedding venue!

Many Happy memories!

David & Lauren Owens

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank D_Owens2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
2.3 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,826 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
1.0 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,745 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#7 of 19 in Kilkenny
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newpark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newpark Hotel

Address: Castlecomer Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kilkenny
#1 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range: £66 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Newpark Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amid 20 acres of parkland yet only a short stroll from the the historic city with its rambling streets and beautiful castle. State of the art conference and event facilities with wonderful gardens and natural day light. Scrumptious dining in Gullivers restaurant and delicious bar food in the popular Scotts Bar. Step inside our Escape Health club and spa which is sanctuary of pure indulgence, where time is left at the door of the Aveda health club and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Newpark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newpark Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing